Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Country Coach Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-21-2022, 01:03 PM   #1

Country Coach Owners Club
Chassis Battery or Coach Battery

So,I'm still learning the ropes with my 2000 Intrigue and today decided to change the oil and filter on my Kubota 8.0 generator. Well.... when I tried starting the generator for warm it up, the battery didn't have enough juice to turn it over.
I started the coach (with no problem) then while the coach was running tried starting the generator. It started right up.
I then changed the oil and filter then tried starting it again and still the same issue. It wouldn't start unless the coaches engine was running.
My question is which battery bank starts the generator? I thought the engine batteries start the generator also. But the engine starts right up with no problem. Would it be the house batteries?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Born to roam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!