Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Country Coach Owners Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2022, 06:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Okay Penguin a/c Wizards...

So yesterday, in almost 100° heat, all roof air had been working perfectly. I was in the bedroom and a burst of smoke came out of the ceiling vents for a few seconds! I quickly determined that the the old start capacitor on my old 13.5 Penguin, zone 2, had blown up. I replaced the start capacitor. I also checked capacitance on the dual "run" capacitor which is supposed to be a 20/10 mf. The 10 is 10, but the 20 for the compressor is an 11, so it is partially bad and I ordered a new one. Simultaneously with the start capacitor puking, Zone 2 disappeared from the Comfort control Center, but as long as the breaker is on, that zone 2 bedroom air conditioner will run forever, ice cold, as long as the rj-11 phone wire is plugged in. Unusually, the CCC will not reset if the zone 2 rj11 cable is plugged in. I had a long talk with Dometic and they say it's either the board in zone 2 or the five button Comfort Control Center. Any idea which or what it is? This is pretty unusual and I'm stumped.
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-06-2022, 06:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 345
I changed out my 5 button ccc for a MicroAire win I had to change my front a/c. I don't remember if the ccc has more than 2 zones. If it does, I would try changing the dip switch on the control board to another zone to see if it shows on the tstat.

But my guess is, the board if probably fried. Btw, I am not sure, but there might be a fuse on the board that may have blown.
__________________
2004 Rexhall Roseair. 3955ET 370
bduemig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2022, 03:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Smitty77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Over the next hill, around the next curve...
Posts: 5,282
Have you done the reset (Which you mentioned, but wanted to make sure it was the same thing I recall!), of the actual 5 button thermostat itself? I thought it was an RJ-45 jack that came into the back of the thermostat, but maybe it's RJ-11! Unplugging ours for a minute or so in our 04 Allure, would reset the many things...

And as I recall, on an 04 Allure, Zone 1 was sort the master. And then that would feed out to Zone 2. We found that the RJ-45 (Or 11?) male plugs, and the female connectors they went into, up next to the AC units themselves - had over the years built up enough condensation to allow mode and crud to grow. We replace the female to female couplings with new ones, and sprayed the male jack plugs with electronic cleaner. Let it dry, and then use a dab of dielectric grease on the contact points with a Q-Tip, before plugging everything back together again. (This solved some random problems that would seem to come up, including cycling of the AC units.) We added a yearly inspect and clean as needed these connections. AC 1 and AC 2...

None of this may help, but heck - only took 60 seconds to read it!

Good luck,
Smitty
__________________
07 Country Coach Magna Rembrandt 45' ISX600
Roo II was our 04 Country Coach Allure 40'
OnDRoad for The JRNY! Enjoy life...
Smitty77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2022, 10:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Hey Smitty. The cables that run between the units and to the five button are rj11s. Like you said unit 1 or zone 1 kind of controls everything and feeds zone 2. I've discovered I only have 4.7 volts coming off the rj11 from zone 1 that feeds zone 2. Should be 12 volts, so something is wrong I go up top again to look inside zone 1 and see what's wrong. Maybe the rj11plugs are crudded up like you said. Either that, or, God forbid, for some reason I might have a bad board in zone 1. Why this would happen with a start capacitor blowing up in zone 2 is beyond me.
__________________
Rich
2002 Magna Resort 42
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2022, 04:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 345
I am not sure the rj11 feeds 12 volt (but it may). My. A/c's both have 12 volt wiring to them. I am assuming the control wiring (rj11) is low voltage.
__________________
2004 Rexhall Roseair. 3955ET 370
bduemig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2022, 11:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Updated report from the roof: I swapped boards between the two units. Zone 2 malfunctioned with the good board from zone 1 installed. Zone 1 malfunctioned with the board from zone 2 installed (it would only run on low fan). With its original board put back in, zone 1 functions perfectly. CCC will still not find or control zone 2, but with its original board zone 2 will operate at low fan speed constantly, as long as the breaker is on, but only if the rj-11 from zone 1 is connected to it, so there is definitely voltage going from zone 1 to zone 2 through the rj11. I'm not sure, since this is all very puzzling, but I'm beginning to suspect the CCC may be the problem, and maybe a partially bad zone 2 board. There are absolutely none of these boards available anywhere at this time. Dometic says 6 to 8 weeks. I'm thinking to start with replacing the CCC with the MicroAir Wi-Fi thermostat to see if that solves the problem. At least the front works perfectly and the bedroom works on low as long as the breaker is on so we're not baking.
__________________
Rich
2002 Magna Resort 42
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2022, 04:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 345
I was having issues with the furnace when I went to the micro air. Solved my issue. And it is great for checking it while away from the rv
__________________
2004 Rexhall Roseair. 3955ET 370
bduemig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2022, 10:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by bduemig View Post
I was having issues with the furnace when I went to the micro air. Solved my issue. And it is great for checking it while away from the rv
Thank you. I think I'll try that.
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2022, 11:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fredward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 394
Hey Rich,
Let us know how the MicroAir works for you. I've contemplated replacing our 5 button also. (but if it ain't broke don't mess with it is my motto)
Fred
__________________
2000 CC Magna #5734
C-10 Cat Allison 4060
MN
Fredward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2022, 04:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MarylandRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Laytonsville Maryland
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fredward View Post
Hey Rich,
Let us know how the MicroAir works for you. I've contemplated replacing our 5 button also. (but if it ain't broke don't mess with it is my motto)
Fred
I put in the micro-air, and since the 5 button wasn’t broke, it sits in a back cabinet as a back up if the micro-air ever goes down
__________________
"No matter where you go, There you are"
2002 Country Coach Affinity 42' #6063 CAT C12 505hp & Matching Featherlite Trailer or 2011 Subaru Outback Toad
MarylandRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2022, 07:32 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 28
X 2 on the Micro-Air

I replaced my front AC a year ago. Recently the relay on the bedroom AC went bad, running ice cold with no control. My 5 button thermostat and ACs were the old CCC for which no relays were avaiable. Replaced both controls in the ACs with Dometric 3312020.000 multi-zone ccc2 controls and installed the Micro-Air Easy Touch RV 350. Love the thermostat.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
rvnomads1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2022, 09:30 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Twomed's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,933
https://www.irv2.com/rvclassifieds/s...-rv-354&cat=23

New one here for a little savings...he sold the coach, I bought his TPMS, PayPal and had it in 3 days, as advertised.
__________________
Happy Trails,
06 Dynasty Countess III ISL//3060
07 Hummer H3
Twomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 12:43 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvnomads1974 View Post
I replaced my front AC a year ago. Recently the relay on the bedroom AC went bad, running ice cold with no control. My 5 button thermostat and ACs were the old CCC for which no relays were avaiable. Replaced both controls in the ACs with Dometric 3312020.000 multi-zone ccc2 controls and installed the Micro-Air Easy Touch RV 350. Love the thermostat.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Are you saying you had older Penguin 1's and you somehow Installed those 331220 Boards that come in those metal boxes design for the latest generation Penguin 2's in your old Penguins? That would be very interesting. How does that work? I didn't think they were compatible with the old Penguin 1's.
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 03:54 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 635
Rvnomads74 I am most interested in your reply.
__________________
Rich
2002 Magna Resort 42
birdhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace older Dometic Penguin Heat Pumps with Newest Penguin II Units. shaman52 Newmar Owner's Forum 25 07-21-2017 06:58 AM
Electrical Wizards Come Forth arby Monaco Owner's Forum 47 07-03-2014 05:17 AM
Okay....Okay, tired of reading! Flanz Full-Timers 10 05-17-2014 09:00 AM
OK, this is for you electrical wizards FIRE UP Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 24 12-28-2012 02:18 PM
A Challenge for Electronics Wizards JBroadaway Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 05-19-2011 08:03 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.