Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Jayco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2022, 04:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 10
See Level and Jayco Precept 31UL

Has anyone installed the SeeLevel Tank Monitor system in a Precept 31UL? I've crawled under my RV and here's what I've discovered:

- I can access the back of the fresh water tank from way underneath the RV. I have access to the existing level sensors, however very difficult. I think I can install a SeeLevel tank monitor strip on the side of the tank and use the existing wiring.

- I can access the grey water tank by removing the shield behind the passenger rear wheels. I think the current sensors are there and I can install the SeeLevel tank monitor there also.

- The black tank; however, seems to be a REAL problem. The current sensors are 2 on the side and 2 sandwiched between the tank and the outside wall of the RV. The reason for this is because the tank is not flat on the sides so they put 2 sensors on the 'L' shaped side and the higher sensors on the front because it's flat. However, they are now inaccessible. I cannot get at those sensors also making it almost impossible to install a SeeLevel monitor strip on the front (between the tank and the outside wall of the RV). I hate to think I have to cut an access hole in the outside wall just to get access to the top of the black tank.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Val.
pecostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-03-2022, 08:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,121
Not a direct answer to your issue - but I would waste my money on other things before installing the SeaLevel sensors. They’re expensive, and if you treat your properly (research “the Geo method” on YouTube), you will be miles ahead.

Oh, and the SeaLevel system will not read properly with oddly shaped tanks where the capacity volume changes with fluid level. SeaLevel sensors are linear devices in how they sense. The probes you currently have have been linearized by their locations in the tanks.

And BTW - it’s against site rules to double post in different sections. Since your issue is more about SeaLevel sensors than the coach you have, this issue is probably better discussed on the “General” thread.
You’ll probably get a note from one of the mods.
__________________
‘91 Ultrastar Champion‘02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
‘03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 12:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 1,350
Having installed Sea Level system on two different motor homes, I think they are as important as power system protection. Also, I I think that all manufacturers should install them.
mrboyer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 04:15 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 10
Thanks for the replies. I will try the Geo Method but I have tried cleaning the black tank and the grey tank and the sensor readings have not gotten any better.

If the sensors are corroded, I would either have to replace them; which I can't get at on the black tank, or install outside sensors like the See Level ones.

P.S. I did get dinged for the second post . Was just looking for more views and suggestions in the general section.
pecostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jayco, monitor, tank



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jayco :: 2016 Jayco Precept 31UL thenovaks iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-07-2021 04:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.