Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2022, 12:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 69
'05 Monaco Knight Inverter Question

We are replacing our Magnum ME2012 inverter/charger with a Victron MultiPlus-II.

Problem -- We have the expected 4-line 50amp cord going to the transfer switch, but the line in to the inverter from the transfer switch only has one leg. They installed a jumper in the inverter Line In from line 1 to line 2.

So, instead of 2 hot lines coming in, it is just one hot line jumped.

The output from the inverter is the expected 4-line to the breaker panel.

Question -- Is 3-wire in and jumping line 1 and line 2 at the inverter standard for Monaco?

Question -- Can I use the same line in jumper with the Victron inverter?

Thanks in advance,

Mike and Deb Fry
2005 Monaco Knight 38PDQ and 2015 Honda CRV
fry5family is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-22-2022, 12:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,214
Do you have a wiring diagram for you coach, it would show on that how it is wired.



I have a TRACE inverter, it is wired with two lines feeding from the main service panel and then two lines back to a subpanel. But all Monaco's are different.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2022, 12:51 PM   #3
src
Senior Member
 
src's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 243
I upgraded my inverter and was wondering the same thing
__________________
2006 Endeavor 40 PDQ 400 ISL
src is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 09:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 470
https://invertersrus.com/product/vic...SAAEgKMqvD_BwE

Is this your model of inverter ?

My coach is wired with a single inbound A/C connection from shore power, if I understand - you have 2 ?
__________________
2004 Safari Cheetah PDQ 330 Cat
2020 Ram EcoDiesel toad
USAF Special Operations
Iceclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 03:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 495
my 2008 Knight inverter is wired the same as yours

1 line from single 30A breaker to inverter and then jumper from input 1 to input 2
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2022, 03:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 5,750
All three of our Monaco coaches have had both hot legs plus neutral going to the inverter.

Our coaches are wired from the transfer switch to the main breaker panel. Then there are breakers (two 20 amp for a 2000 inverter, two 30 amp for a 3000) from the main breaker panel to the inverter. From the inverter there are two legs plus neutral to an inverter circuit breaker sub panel. The sub panel supplies both pass through as well as inverted power to several systems in the coach.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 08:39 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 69
Thanks Vito.A for your reply. It answers why the transfer switch has 4 wire out and the inverter/charger has 3 wire in. Where is the sub panel for the "inverter out" typically located on these coaches? The inverter is in the passenger rear bay under the breaker box in the bedroom. For now, I wired the AC in on the MultiPlus II with the 3 wire and a jumper from leg 1 to leg 2 the same as the Magnum.

Mike and Deb Fry
2005 Monaco Knight 38PDQ and 2015 Honda CRV
fry5family is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 08:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,214
Mine is the way Vito explained it.



The subpanel should be easy to find, mine is mounted next to the main panel in the bedroom. It's grey with the breakers accessible and labeled.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 09:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 495
The Knight model may not have a subpanel

Mine does not there are 2 ckts with breakers on the inverter that serve interior outlets including microwave ckt
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 03:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublechevy View Post
The Knight model may not have a subpanel

Mine does not there are 2 ckts with breakers on the inverter that serve interior outlets including microwave ckt

This is correct, I downloaded a copy of you manual, on page 285 it shows the general layout of the electrical system. There is no subpanel. Two circuits come out of the inverter, one for the micorwave, and one to the outlets.

https://www.monacocoach.com/resource...005_Knight.pdf
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Monaco Knight (Sold) :: 2021 Monaco Knight Kennybps iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-02-2021 09:52 AM
2005 Monaco Knight 37PBD :: 2005 Monaco Knight 37PBD surftalks iRV2 Owners Registry 1 05-10-2017 04:18 PM
Monaco Knight :: 2005 Monaco Knight cooldude iRV2 Owners Registry 0 02-15-2017 05:52 PM
Monaco Knight 40 PDQ :: 2012 Monaco Knight Good girl iRV2 Owners Registry 1 12-12-2016 09:20 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.