RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2019, 08:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 512
110 volt hot water relay

Had the rear air short out and fried the intellitec board. Replaced the board and everything, but the rear air is working except the hot water heater, have the proper voltage on the breaker and the intellitec board bot none at the 110 outlet. Plugged into another outlet and everything works. So there is a relay that is activated by the 12 volt switch to the 110 outlet. Anyone know where this relay might be? 08 Diplomat
__________________

__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-28-2019, 11:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12,217
Post the brand/model of water heater
__________________

__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 04:59 AM   #3
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,671
Bob-

I extracted this page from a 2004 HR Neptune wiring diagram set. It may bear no relation to what you have in your Diplomat. But, it does show an Omron relay in the Aqua-Hot water heater 120VAC loop. The diagram says it's behind the fuse panel. As we know, though, it can be a bit of a hunt to find where Monaco actually put things.

Anyway, maybe this can help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 2004 HR Neptune AC Diagram.pdf (54.3 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 05:53 AM   #4
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,530
If the note is not showing, mouse over the little yellow post it note.

Atwood on my 2008 Endeavor has the relay box on the back of the HWH. Read the description of how it works.

Your 12 volt control of that relay might not be working.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Hot water heater notes and ems explanation.pdf (1.67 MB, 6 views)
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 06:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 522
From your description I think the problem still has to be your Intellitec load shedding system. The relay at the water heater everyone is talking about is down stream from the outlet so thatís not it if you have no power at the outlet.
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 07:20 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,597
The relays behind the panel could be the problem, they do show up on the wiring diagram but hard to interpret since they are in a separate electrical box.

My Intellitec board when out. In the process of trouble shooting I did find the small 6X6" box that actually held 2 relays. One is for the engine heat and the other is for the water heater. These are 12 volt to 120 volt relays and work with the 12 volt switches. The relay closes the 120 volt circuit so the engine heat and water heater work. The engine heat switch is on the dash and my water heater switch is on the front of the lower kitchen cabinets. When I did pull the cover off the box I noticed that one of the relay wires appeared to have gotten hot so I clipped off the connector and put on a new one. I contacted Monaco about this and that's how I found what these were for, I did get a part number to order a new relay to have as a spare, they did not have any in stock so just gave me the part number.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 07:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
The relays behind the panel could be the problem, they do show up on the wiring diagram but hard to interpret since they are in a separate electrical box.

My Intellitec board when out. In the process of trouble shooting I did find the small 6X6" box that actually held 2 relays. One is for the engine heat and the other is for the water heater. These are 12 volt to 120 volt relays and work with the 12 volt switches. The relay closes the 120 volt circuit so the engine heat and water heater work. The engine heat switch is on the dash and my water heater switch is on the front of the lower kitchen cabinets. When I did pull the cover off the box I noticed that one of the relay wires appeared to have gotten hot so I clipped off the connector and put on a new one. I contacted Monaco about this and that's how I found what these were for, I did get a part number to order a new relay to have as a spare, they did not have any in stock so just gave me the part number.


Been thinking about this most of the night and came to the conclusion there has to be another sub panel down stream from the main panel as the romex doesnít leave the main panel just the 1 wires from the circuit breaker to the intellitec board and out of the box. The hunt goes on
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 10:50 AM   #8
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,530
This might help a bit.

You might need a signal tracer to actually follow the power wires out of the ems load shedding relay box.

Where did you purchase your replacement part? Mine went up in smoke months ago and I am running with it bypassed.

If the writing seems out of focus, hold the ctrl key and touch the 5 key. This will make it sharpen.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 120V Block Diagram.pdf (109.2 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 04:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
This might help a bit.

You might need a signal tracer to actually follow the power wires out of the ems load shedding relay box.

Where did you purchase your replacement part? Mine went up in smoke months ago and I am running with it bypassed.

If the writing seems out of focus, hold the ctrl key and touch the 5 key. This will make it sharpen.


Got mine from RV & Auto Parts.com Ramona CA $282.85
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 04:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 512
Ok problem solved it seems you need to hook the wires up the same way you took them out🤦*♂️ had two crossed. Hot water heater working now to check if that was causing my AC to pop the breaker. Thanks for the replies
__________________

__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two different voltage sources, one switch to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt wrq1103 RV Systems & Appliances 23 12-01-2016 05:42 PM
Bounder: 110 volt to 12 volt converter problems sandbums99 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 9 05-03-2016 06:20 PM
110 volt wiring on 2008 challenger Bruce W Damon 12 06-19-2008 03:33 PM
Lightning Rod 110-volt water heater kit bjbkkb Gear and Product Discussions 16 01-28-2008 03:28 PM
110 volt water heater switch Dave from MN Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 09-18-2006 05:47 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×