RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2012, 12:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 35
Why not go to a Cummins dealer and have him reprogram your engine to 350 hp instead of the 315 hp. sure was a lot less cost than the Banks system.
racer478r is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-22-2012, 03:21 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
mmraceca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gleason Tn
Posts: 16
If you have the same injector pump as mine, then cummins cannot reprogram. They only have 3 programs and the 315 hp is the largest. I could not swing the banks kit price and didn't want to install it either. So the other option i found is Diesel Performance Specialists under the agri-power section. They offer for this model. I learned the hard way a couple things i will share. The fuel sensor located on the pump is a 3 wire that has a flat or triangle plug. During this year that changed over and the triangle plug is the newer that is needed. I learned this after ordering next day air to leave and go to Las Vegas from Tennessee. After driving there, i had it shipped to the race track and i installed there. If yours has the correct sender this is a plug in between harness. It only takes 2 mins to connect. The other problem i learned was it has control knob to control the % of increase. They told me to turn all the way up and tie under the bed and roll on down the road. I started down the road on Sunday and BAM the Warning light starts coming on and you can feel the bus cut back on the throttle. So long ride home, cannot call anyone, i find out monday that i just needed to cut the % down a little because the fuel pressure was spiking above the cummins safety pressure. After learning all the mistakes i made, I would buy this again in a heartbeat!!!! It helped my mileage 1-2 and would be better if i didn't try to get there as fast as possible. It's not that i speed that much, just pull a trailer everywhere and have to stand on it to get over the hills at speed limit. I was able to buy this from one of there dealers cheaper than direct. www.thoroughbreddiesel.com was the best deal at the time i bought mine. Call and get price!!!! I have the install kit paper work i can email you if you do have to change the sender in the fuel to the new one, just email me mmraceca@yahoo.com Justin
mmraceca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 03:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,317
I purchased the "extended" cable so I can adjust from driver's seat. deSanford PS I run at 100% No bells or alarms. On my 340 ISB 6.7L diesel Cummins it makes a HUGE difference in performance etc.
__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:38 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Unhappy Getting somewhere, I think?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmraceca View Post
If you have the same injector pump as mine, then cummins cannot reprogram. They only have 3 programs and the 315 hp is the largest. I could not swing the banks kit price and didn't want to install it either. So the other option i found is Diesel Performance Specialists under the agri-power section. They offer for this model. I learned the hard way a couple things i will share. The fuel sensor located on the pump is a 3 wire that has a flat or triangle plug. During this year that changed over and the triangle plug is the newer that is needed. I learned this after ordering next day air to leave and go to Las Vegas from Tennessee. After driving there, i had it shipped to the race track and i installed there. If yours has the correct sender this is a plug in between harness. It only takes 2 mins to connect. The other problem i learned was it has control knob to control the % of increase. They told me to turn all the way up and tie under the bed and roll on down the road. I started down the road on Sunday and BAM the Warning light starts coming on and you can feel the bus cut back on the throttle. So long ride home, cannot call anyone, i find out monday that i just needed to cut the % down a little because the fuel pressure was spiking above the cummins safety pressure. After learning all the mistakes i made, I would buy this again in a heartbeat!!!! It helped my mileage 1-2 and would be better if i didn't try to get there as fast as possible. It's not that i speed that much, just pull a trailer everywhere and have to stand on it to get over the hills at speed limit. I was able to buy this from one of there dealers cheaper than direct. www.thoroughbreddiesel.com was the best deal at the time i bought mine. Call and get price!!!! I have the install kit paper work i can email you if you do have to change the sender in the fuel to the new one, just email me mmraceca@yahoo.com Justin

Thanks for the posts MM and DE and others
So I have bought the MP8 and found my pump connector plug is flat and wont plug into the MP8 triangle plug. I called TS and they will provide no support with an adapter or even a cut and splice diagram (geesh its only 3 wires). Are they saying it wont work just to avoid liability? I am a Drag racer/ Test tuner and think with a little injenuity this chip may work fine on the flat style plug. Its funny they say the application year is good for 2000. I wonder if my 2000 monaco diplomat actually has a few years older cummins ISC in it??? Is there anyone who has modified the MP8 to work on the flat plug style fuel sensor?

I also got a hold of a brass boost elbow which is supposed to fool the reference pressure with a a pinhole leak to increase a few PSI. Has any one tried this??

Thanks Again for the Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
by the way MM what do you race?
MonacoChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:00 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,966
Chris the ISC engines Before the late or mid 2000 has to have a jumper kit and I will try and attach a file with that info. FILE was to large it is Service Bulletin Number Date
4021294-01 27-JAN-2003

I called and talked to a tec and was told that the CAPS fuel injector sys fuel pump is a little weak and some will have to turn it down in some cases to half way, So I think I would think twice about adding this.
I think the boost fooler is a good idea and I am running one on our ISC 350 that I had calibrated to 30# boost also ran one on a ISB that was a 35# boost.
If you would like a copy of the service bullention E mail me at walt2137@yahoo.com
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
THanks Walt, I found the bulletin, this is great!,
the MP8is only good for 20% hp in the 330 ISC (ie 66 hp gains). If i am one of the unlucky one s that have to run it at half way to avoid engine codes then im only gonna get ~30hp...... so i guess the $400 chip plus the the $445 cummins parts kits to change the wiring harness and fuel press sensor makes this whole adventure not really worth the trouble. ($28 per hp is too pricey for me, almost as bad as race car parts haha)

I will try the boost elbow mod and see if i can climb the slopes a little easier.
MonacoChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:38 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,317
That is not too cool MonacoChris........I would return it and get your money back. deSanford
__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:17 PM   #22
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Lotsa gearheads on this thread, hehe...

Anyone got anything for a newer isc?
My 08 dpf motor is 360 hp, and pulls 36lbs of boost...

But more is always better, and kust losing the weight of that 55gl drum sized dpf muffler is probably wirth 1 mpg...

Local cummins service writer says he can reprogram to 415hp.... But i'm guessing he was blowing smoke, and certain he won't kill the dpf regen... He said to wait till the warrantee was up in july...
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:48 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimM68 View Post
Lotsa gearheads on this thread, hehe...

Anyone got anything for a newer isc?
My 08 dpf motor is 360 hp, and pulls 36lbs of boost...

But more is always better, and kust losing the weight of that 55gl drum sized dpf muffler is probably wirth 1 mpg...

Local cummins service writer says he can reprogram to 415hp.... But i'm guessing he was blowing smoke, and certain he won't kill the dpf regen... He said to wait till the warrantee was up in july...
Maybe not my grandson has a 8.3 same as the ISC except it not computer in his boat and it a 430 HP and of course in the marine application the cooling is unlimited my son has the same engine and its 350, also have a friend with a 94 Dynasty with a 8.3 that changed the fuel plate to one from TST and now ruining at about 430 HP with the #6 plate
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:31 PM   #24
Member
 
CoryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 82
Send the MP8 back. I had the same chip from Diablo Sport called the Blixcat 100 (I think). I had to have my plugs changed out also. If I put it up passed 50% it would make a warning light come on and then my cruise control would stop working till the key was cycled on and off. I was told it was from the computer seeing to much fuel pressure, and to turn it down a little. I couldn't feel any difference in any position.

I will send you mine to try if you want it!

I had the Banks put on and I can really feel it.

CP
__________________
2004 Dynasty
CoryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cummins



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.