Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-10-2018, 11:18 AM   #1

2003 Windsor Generator No Start

I'm trying to help a friend with this problem. I am an electrical engineer and a forum moderator on the Newell forum. I know my coach, but not this guys. So coming here for some help if anyone is willing. In the mean time I have contacted Monaco via email requesting wiring diagrams.
What I think I know so far:
DC volts to the generator ( as measured at the connection on the back of the generator ) fall off immediately upon an attempt to start. Voltage rises on the negative side indicating a problem with the grounded side.
Recording voltmeter indications seem to show the power should be provided by the house batteries - is that right?
The house batteries do not appear to make a good connection to ground. I installed a single jumper cable between the house and chassis batteries and the generator had enough voltage to turn over.
Where are the house batteries supposed to be connected to the chassis?
What do you know about the wiring to the generator? I did not find a cutoff switch labeled "generator". Thanks, Russ
RussWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!