Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2022, 12:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
2006 Dynasty exhaust brake switches

Hello,

I have a 2006 Dynasty with a ISL400 and Holset VGT turbo. The drivers side panel has two exhaust brake switches (identical), both are a on/off style position switch. Only one switch seems to activate braking. Both switches are wired with factory wires and connectors. Any idea of what the other switch is for? I have searched the net and can't find any info on double switches.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9579.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	393.0 KB
ID:	354032  
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-17-2022, 12:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
zmotorsports's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,647
Technically, your 2006 Dynasty with the ISL should have an engine compression brake and not an exhaust brake. On my 2003 model Dynasty, I only have one switch on the dash and it is to select between hi and low. Hi being all six cylinders and low being 3 cylinders. My Jake Brake switch to activate is on the floor by my left foot. I wonder if one of those is to turn on/off and the other is hi/low.
__________________
Mike & Chrystal/ FMCA # F315002
2003 Monaco Dynasty Baroness/2011 Jeep JKUR with 6.2 liter LS
Our 2003 Monaco Dynasty Mods/Repairs Thread
zmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 12:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
2-Nickels's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36Fan View Post
Hello,



I have a 2006 Dynasty with a ISL400 and Holset VGT turbo. The drivers side panel has two exhaust brake switches (identical), both are a on/off style position switch. Only one switch seems to activate braking. Both switches are wired with factory wires and connectors. Any idea of what the other switch is for? I have searched the net and can't find any info on double switches.


One of those switches is on/off for a your Jake brake and the other is high/low for the Jake when on.
__________________
Gwen & Curtis Nikel
2009 CC Affinity
2015 Dodge RAM Ecodiesel 1500 Toad
2-Nickels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 12:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
The switch on the right is the one that works. Im assuming it is the on/off switch and the other is the 3/6 cyl switch. Being that the left switch isn't doing anything while activated, it must be in the high or 6 cyl setting because it is working and works well.

I have read numerous posts on exhaust brakes in relation to VGT Turbos etc but the holset part number and visual didn't seem correct for my set up. My owners manual lists an engine brake and no exhaust brake, but the switches are labeled "exhaust" .

Would like to hear from any members that have the switch set up like mine.
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 12:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,168
Call Cummins with your engine serial number to verify what type of engine brake you have:


Engine compression brake/Jake brake
Exhaust brake
VGT brake


Are both switches just two position (on/off) or is one three position?
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 01:02 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Both switches are on/off 2 position.

Right switch has 10 terminals with wires connected to each. This switch will activate the brake.

Left switch has 4 terminals with wires connected to each. This switch doesn't do anything in either position.
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 01:41 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
I called Cummins and found that the engine has a Jacobs 490 brake. Im guessing the switch that works is the on/off switch and the lo/hi switch is the 4 terminal switch that is either stuck in lo or hi. Im assuming it is in the hi position due to its performance.

Thanks everyone for the help.
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 3,963
My coach is probably very similar to your 06 dynasty regarding the engine brake. It's a Jake. One switch turns it on/off. The other switch turns it HI or LOW.

When I turn on the Jake, it will turn the cruise control OFF.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 08:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36Fan View Post
I called Cummins and found that the engine has a Jacobs 490 brake. Im guessing the switch that works is the on/off switch and the lo/hi switch is the 4 terminal switch that is either stuck in lo or hi. Im assuming it is in the hi position due to its performance.

Thanks everyone for the help.
If I remember right when the switch is to the rear it is on 3 cylinders and forward on 6. You are probably not feeling the difference however the next time you are on a good downhill [6 or 7 %] try both settings and you should feel the difference. The hi/low switch should actually say that. Former owner may have replaced it with the wrong one. On 3 cylinders is still better than exhaust brake was on my old ISC Diplomat and the Imperial is a lot heavier. Good luck Don.
__________________
Diplomat Don and Debbie
2001 Diplomat sold, 2005 HR Imperial
2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser Turbo convertible
DiplomatDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 10:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
RescueRamsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 244
If your on relatively flat ground and not towing the difference between low and high will be barely noticeable if at all. When you are towing or going down a steep grade the difference will be obvious.
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler Imperial 38PKD
370 Cummins ISL
RescueRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:21 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Unless Monaco used exhaust labeled switches for the Jake, the previous owner has swapped them out. The left switch would be the 3/6 switch, guessing from the 4 connectors on the rear of the switch. I have tried both settings on steep down grades without noticing any change. Having a commercial license for the last 33 years and driving multiple trucks with 3 stage jakes Im somewhat familiar with them. From the performance its proving now, Im guessing its on 6 cyl setting even though the switch position does nothing.

If I had a wiring schematic I could chase down which wire go where. Until I find a schematic, I will pull one wire at a time at the cylinder head to see if one or both are working.

Anyone have any pictures of the factory switches Monaco used?
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 12:16 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 5,758
Your switches are Carling Technology Contura III except the Ex brake switches are a slightly newer Contura IV version. So yes it appears someone updated at least the covers.
You can purchase new custom switch covers at https://rockerswitchpros.com/
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 05:50 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
36Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 6
Again thank you everyone for the help.

I removed the switch and it is a Carlington V4D1 (5) terminal switch. It is wired as follows.

#8 Positive
#7 Common Ground
#1 Hi/Lo SW 3
#2 Hi/Lo 2
#3 Hi/Lo 1

After looking at the switch schematic, Im thinking terminals 1 and 2 need to be swapped? Is the wire labeled Hi/Lo SW 3 the input and the other 2 are outputs?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	V4D1-A60B-Wiring-Diagram.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	171.4 KB
ID:	354172  
36Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 02:04 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Rc Pilot 55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 20
To add to the discussion on my 2 stage brake the 2nd stage only works under 35mph. If you are say doing 55mph and let off the throttle it will only brake on 3 cylinders until you drop below 35mph and then the 2nd stage(all 6 cylinders) kicks in. I don't know if you tried it at slower speeds but hopefully this will be of help.
__________________
2009 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire IV
Rc Pilot 55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, exhaust, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2003 Dynasty Totaled; Replaced by 2006 Dynasty Pepperell Monaco Owner's Forum 7 03-25-2020 06:53 PM
Exhaust noise in cab when exhaust brake engaged mineralslee MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-03-2016 11:15 PM
Exhaust leak and Exhaust Brake Det57 Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 04-27-2016 06:30 AM
Exhaust Brake, Compression Brake, vs Turbo Brake dengraham Cummins Engines 15 09-28-2014 03:17 PM
Exhaust Brake or no Exhaust Brake mrock Class A Motorhome Discussions 64 02-22-2013 08:28 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.