Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2021, 09:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckeye AZ
Posts: 297
2007 Camelot Refer change....power supply

Hi folks. I just changed my refer to a residential unit, but I have no inverter power to the outlet. Has anyone dealt with this in a similar model coach ?
monacojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-28-2021, 10:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,956
I have heard of a couple of instances where Monaco did not install an inverted circuit, which was for the icemaker, but not many.

Depending on how your service panel is and access it would be easy to install a small inverter there and power that circuit.

I had a problem on my last trip, I thought it was the inverter but turned out to be one of the inverted circuits having a dead short. The inverter would work but I could charge the batteries with the generator. Long story short it was the circuit for the bath/bedroom, had to rewire to fix the problem. But I decided to add a second inverter/charger as a back up.


Since I had the main service panel completely out to fix my problem I took the wire originally powering the 120 volt outlet behind the fridge loose from the service panel. Ran a new wire to an outlet box I mounted in the TV box. Added a shelf and installed a shelf. I bought and installed this inverter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E3V66ZE...roduct_details along with a battery disconnect so I can shut it off.

Behind the service panel is a +/- lug with 2 awg cable coming from the passengers side rear electrical bay, I tapped off of these to power the inverter.

I then added a male pig tail plug to the wire going to the refrigerator outlet. I added a male plug pig tail to feed the inverter from the outlet and added a power strip to the inverter that I can plug the refrigerator into.

I can now run the refrigerator off the original inverted circuit or from the smaller inverter in the bedroom, or I can run it off of shore power by moving plugs around on the bedroom inverter. The inverter can also charge the batteries so in a pinch I can use this as a backup or augment the original charging. Lots of flexibility.


The other option would be to some how tap off an outlet that is from the inverter and put a different outlet behind the fridge.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 11:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 5,476
Do you have a double 120V outlet behind your refrigerator?
Did you have 120V power there before the swap?
Is your Magnum inverter turned on at the remote?
Have you checked the circuit breakers? There may also be a breaker on the side of the inverter.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 12:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 4,198
If you consider a second smaller inverter there are ones with an internal automatic transfer switch.
You should be able to move wiring around to put refrigerator on inverter.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 05:32 AM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
Do you have a double 120V outlet behind your refrigerator?
Did you have 120V power there before the swap?
Is your Magnum inverter turned on at the remote?
Have you checked the circuit breakers? There may also be a breaker on the side of the inverter.

Do you have any power on the outlet at this time? On shoreline or generator.

How many wires are going into the outlet? That is, for example if romex is used us there more than one?
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 05:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,725
On my '09 Monaco Diplomat 42SKQ, there were two outlets behind my Norcold refrigerator. One for the ice maker and one for the electric heating element. Although the collective wisdom suggested that the outlet for the ice maker 'should' be powered from the inverter, it wasn't.

The refrigerator was immediately adjacent to the microwave, which was on an inverted circuit. It was a simple matter to drill a hole through the wood panel separating the microwave from the refrigerator and run an extension ROMEX from the microwave outlet to one of the existing outlets behind the refrigerator.

Much easier than trying to run a new, dedicated line from the inverter or load panel.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers that can't be questioned."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 07:48 AM   #7
Member
 
2Yoopers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 69
I have a 2007 Beaver Contessa which is basically the same as your Camelot.
The previous owner installed a residential fridge and it is wired into the bathroom outlet circuit breaker in the inverter.
My guess would be they took the power from that outlet that is next to where the refrigerator is.
__________________
Doug & Shannan
2007 Beaver Contessa
2Yoopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2007, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monaco Camelot 42PDQ :: 2007 Monaco Camelot Quick68 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 11-13-2020 01:14 AM
Camelot :: 2005 Monaco Camelot ttroop iRV2 Owners Registry 0 09-04-2018 10:15 PM
Power supply on Res Refer bfam2008 RV Systems & Appliances 7 02-06-2017 05:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.