Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2021, 12:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 3
2007 Diplomat Black/Grey Tank Probes

I have looked all over the web to see exactly where the two tank sensor probes are located as I want to replace them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
frniners is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-07-2021, 12:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14,903
They may be mounted on the back of the tank passenger side but there may not be a traditional door there. Instead Monaco mounted a door with straps on the bottom. Loosen the straps and see if the door moves up.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 02:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
gsgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 988
Could be helpful to know which model you have. Those sensors are natoriously bad. I've rinsed and cleaned my tanks many times, but they don't read well for long. Good rinsing and detergent and borax are the best I can find to clean for a while.
__________________
04 Monaco DST 40'-Cum330ISC/Onan7.5K Gen/Silverleaf VMSpc/Garmin760MLT/WeBoost 4GX-OTR/EEZ Tire Mon/ReadyBrake->Rdmstr->'21 Jeep Glad Dsl/17KWh LFP/RO House Water/2400W solar roof/Victron MPPTs-Cerbo/Magnum 3000 Hybrid Inv-Chrg/Starlink ROAM
gsgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 03:10 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 3
Model

2007 It is a Diplomat 40SFT
frniners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 03:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
gsgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 988
May I ask what your reason for replacing is? They don't work at all or are not accurate and don't always read the right level? The web is full of people that have given up. Realize that soap residue or other particulates can stick the sensor and give a false reading. I cut a hole in the top of my black so I could REALLY spray it out well. My sensors in there have worked much better ever since. Now, my gray is not reading well, but last time I put a cup of Dawn dish soap and a bunch of Borax in the tank and filled it. A day later emptied it and the sensors were great. Now, a couple of months later, sensors are not accurate anymore. Show 3/4 full after emptied, but at least I see when it gets to the full. Will probably soap, lather, rinse and repeat.
__________________
04 Monaco DST 40'-Cum330ISC/Onan7.5K Gen/Silverleaf VMSpc/Garmin760MLT/WeBoost 4GX-OTR/EEZ Tire Mon/ReadyBrake->Rdmstr->'21 Jeep Glad Dsl/17KWh LFP/RO House Water/2400W solar roof/Victron MPPTs-Cerbo/Magnum 3000 Hybrid Inv-Chrg/Starlink ROAM
gsgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2021, 05:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsgriffin View Post
May I ask what your reason for replacing is? They don't work at all or are not accurate and don't always read the right level? The web is full of people that have given up. Realize that soap residue or other particulates can stick the sensor and give a false reading. I cut a hole in the top of my black so I could REALLY spray it out well. My sensors in there have worked much better ever since. Now, my gray is not reading well, but last time I put a cup of Dawn dish soap and a bunch of Borax in the tank and filled it. A day later emptied it and the sensors were great. Now, a couple of months later, sensors are not accurate anymore. Show 3/4 full after emptied, but at least I see when it gets to the full. Will probably soap, lather, rinse and repeat.
They both only show 3/4 full no matter when they are checked. I have tried everything they claim cleans those sensors so I am down to the final thing of replacing them now. I am hoping I don.t have to pull my tanks out to get to them
frniners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 05:20 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
gsgriffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 988
Someone that has your model will hopefully chime in, but on my DST the sensors are behind the white panels of the wet wall that sit in front of the tanks. I removed those panels when I was replumbing and adding an RO system. I also then added fresh water tank sensors so the RO would turn on when fresh water levels were low and turn off when full.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	342428  
__________________
04 Monaco DST 40'-Cum330ISC/Onan7.5K Gen/Silverleaf VMSpc/Garmin760MLT/WeBoost 4GX-OTR/EEZ Tire Mon/ReadyBrake->Rdmstr->'21 Jeep Glad Dsl/17KWh LFP/RO House Water/2400W solar roof/Victron MPPTs-Cerbo/Magnum 3000 Hybrid Inv-Chrg/Starlink ROAM
gsgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 07:20 AM   #8
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 11,527
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/blac...ml#post4059567

The pictures showing are with the white panel in the wet bay in the landfill. Getting to the sensor and other things behind the old panel was impossible.

The pictures shown are not current as many changes have been made since these were taken.

You may have two sets of tank level meters. One right on the wet bay wall and one in the rv. If both are comparing you could have bad wire/connector behind the panel.

Here is my suggestion because you will need to get to the stuff there more frequently than you would really like.

My hose reel (2008 Endeavor), had the hose coming down from the bottom of the reel. The hose was a real pain to extend. With the hose reel turned 180 degrees it now drops straight down and with a new switch setup to reverse the power to the reel it now powers in and out. Had to replace the hose at one time so another reason to make access easier.

Now for the black tank sensor. The tank rinse nozzle is probably on the far end of the tank. Another modification to make your life easier.

go to the opposite side of the rv and you will likely find what should be another door but it is screwed shut. It has a hinge but is screwed shut. Remove the screws carefully so you do not mar the paint along the edges. Once you get it open install a couple of very strong magnets with epoxy or your favorite glue. And then add a simple latch along the bottom out of sight.

Looking into the newly found storage and access area you should find the black tank sprayer. Probably plugged in any case. Remove it and clean and open the tiny holes a bit. Or better yet, move it to the wet bay area on top of the tank so it actually cleans the inside of the tank near the sensors.

I had two sprayers at one time but gave up and installed a nice deck plate in the newly found space and placed the old sprayer in the landfill.

The new deck plate is clear and allows a quick glance at the actual level of the tank. And you can take the plate off and pressure wash the inside of the tank or clean with any tools you find useful.

The gray tank does not have any sprayers and I recently installed a deck plate there as well. We full time so I expected a bit of a build up there but it was cleaner than I thought. I do not use any tank chemicals. Just do not need them when dumping so often.

Once you get that stubborn wet bay panel off you can access a lot of things shown in the pictures. The water pump relay for example, or the snap disc for the bay heater.

My macerator was mounted on the floor and covered in a box. Nice for sound reduction and all but was a real pain to service. It is now a portable macerator and is stored in that nice extra space I found on the other side.

The panel shown has been recovered because the material shown just refused to stay glued properly.

The panel is simple aluminum. Making my own panel allowed me to make many changes easily. And getting it off with just four simple bolts is easy.
__________________
Certified Senior Electronic Technician, Telecommunications Engineer, Telecommunications repair Service Center Owner, Original owner HR 2008

.
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 01:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 8,301
Mine are under hinged side panel that you remove two screws at bottom. Has two rows foil tape per 3 tanks with wire to each then to 3 small module. Some tape was falling off I brushed thinned contact adhesive back under. Used more foil tape strips to stop from falling off. Knock on wood they still work fairly accurate since 1995. 3/4 to full is so so. If I raise full adj. screws on main module loose lower end accuracy . I suspect they are radio frequency,as one interferes with rear radio if full or empty, cant remember. We have RF level probes all over the plant.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 09:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Stan&Jacquie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 971
Ive pretty much solved my inaccurate sensor reading with this simple procedure: after dumping tanks I add one (or two for first treatment) tabs of Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Detergent to the grey and black tanks along with about 2 gal. Water. Tanks get scrubbed as you drive. It may take two or three treatments until accurate readings return. My tanks have been reading fine ever since. Stay away from soaps that create alot of suds. Good luck!
__________________
Stan & Jacquie
2007 Monaco Knight DFT 40', 750 watts Solar
2012 Equinox w/Air Force I, Blue Ox Alpha & Base.
Stan&Jacquie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2007, diplomat, grey tank, tank



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making Access Panel to Replace Probes Black Stank Robert T Monaco Owner's Forum 2 06-09-2017 06:29 AM
Grey/Black Tank Probes Location Smitty77 Country Coach Owners Forum 6 11-06-2014 09:50 AM
Holding Tank Probes Chillbilly Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 08-20-2012 07:52 AM
Tank Probes oet2 MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 06-18-2012 08:22 PM
looking for tank level probes. help cannon man National RV Owner's Forum 0 10-03-2011 02:37 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.