RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2020, 09:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
CapnDean's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to CapnDean
2008 Camelot Rookie with questions

Greetings to all!

Have been an IRV2 member for awhile, but have owned a 2002 Fleetwood Discovery 37T - so I have been linked up with that group.

I just bought a 2008 Camelot 42PDQ. It has 40K miles on it and is SWEEEEET.

The PO zip tied the driver & passenger power shades in the UP position because they stopped working and he could not get them up. Pressing any of the buttons makes absolutely no change not even a bump. Its as if the fuse is blown on BOTH shades. Driver has control over driver and passenger, passenger only has control of passenger side - but NOTHING OCCURS when any switch is chosen. I have squinted over the build sheet and the fuse panel diagram and can find nothing that would resemble a fuse to check, anybody got any ideas where to look?

My unit has 3 roof mount AC's - Zone 1,2 & 3. Zone 2 ac will not operate solo. If I try to run zone 2, the fan will come on for maybe 15 seconds and then it will shut down. BUT: If I run Zone 1, get it blowin & goin, and then select zone 2 - it will kick in and run as it should.

I can use zone 3 and do the same thin SO LONG AS Zone 1 is OFF. If (for example I get zone 1 & 2 running and then cut on Zone 3 - - Zone 2 shuts off. [I am assuming this may be a load shed thing but I dunno]

ANY help/pointers greatly appreciated.
__________________
The US Navy has a perfect record in Aviation. Weve never left one up there.
CapnDean is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-21-2020, 09:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,802
What shorepower are you hooked up to, 30 amp or 50 amp?
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2020, 10:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 13,849
The front electrical panel, located roadside ahead of the front wheel, contains relays and mini-fuses.
Specific assignments are noted on a label on the inside of the bay door.

Check there for those Driver/Passenger Fuses/relays
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2020, 10:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr.Mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA and TN
Posts: 1,809
Also, check the dip switches on the units themselves (from the inside under the ceiling panel) and on the thermostat need to be set correctly. Mine were not set right on my 2008 Monaco Dynasty.

When my front unit went out under warranty, the tech found out that the dip switches were incorrect. The front unit and middle unit would come on at the same time. Honestly, I don't remember now what the correct settings are but all was good after the tech set them right.

I remember that the tech had to go in the cabinet behind the thermostat to access those dip switches.

I hope that this helps.

Safe travels,
Mark
__________________
2015 Prevost Liberty Coach, 45 ft, 4 slides, 1.5 baths, 500 hp Volvo with 1,750 lb. ft. of torque.
2017 Lincoln MKX, AWD, 2.7 V6 335 hp twin turbo
Mr.Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2020, 11:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,542
Welcome to Monaco owners!

The power shades have a fuse/breaker in the front run bay (outside below the drivers feet). It's on board 11, Fuse 4, 6 amps. (Ours is a small breaker but some are fuses). It powers both shades.

The relay is in the Intelletec system fuse board (usually in the rear closet). Should be Fuse 2, 5 amps.

More than likely they are Carefree of Colorado shades and the motors are bad. Try putting a voltmeter on the wires going to the shades.

The shades are installed with 2 screws, one on each end. Ours were square drive.

If you need new shades, I purchased ours from PPL as they had the best price and fast shipping.
https://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/.../shades-visors

Do you have two Dometic 5 button thermostats? If so, try reprogramming them. It's fairly easy. Slide the small black switch on the bottom forwards to off. Then hold down the top and bottom buttons while turning the switch on. You will see FF in the display.
Then release and try your A/C systems.
If this doesn't help, I think you are going to have to get into the load sharing relays and figure out if one or more is bad.
Do you also have a clothes dryer? Make sure it's off when trying the A/C systems.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2020, 10:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnDean View Post
Greetings to all!

Have been an IRV2 member for awhile, but have owned a 2002 Fleetwood Discovery 37T - so I have been linked up with that group.

I just bought a 2008 Camelot 42PDQ. It has 40K miles on it and is SWEEEEET.

The PO zip tied the driver & passenger power shades in the UP position because they stopped working and he could not get them up. Pressing any of the buttons makes absolutely no change not even a bump. Its as if the fuse is blown on BOTH shades. Driver has control over driver and passenger, passenger only has control of passenger side - but NOTHING OCCURS when any switch is chosen. I have squinted over the build sheet and the fuse panel diagram and can find nothing that would resemble a fuse to check, anybody got any ideas where to look?



Driver side/ front. Below the driver's window.


Try CHECKING FUSE # F9
That is the fuse that controls my front windshield shade's mine too blew and that was the fuse.




My unit has 3 roof mount AC's - Zone 1,2 & 3. Zone 2 ac will not operate solo. If I try to run zone 2, the fan will come on for maybe 15 seconds and then it will shut down. BUT: If I run Zone 1, get it blowin & goin, and then select zone 2 - it will kick in and run as it should.





LETS BE CAREFUL HERE.... Mine had the same issue...BUT let me ask you this.... Are you plugged into 50amps sore power or running the gen-set when you are trying to run all 3 a/c 's ?? 30amps is not enough amps to run all 3 A/C units.



Here is what happened to mine ...... UNIT #2 (Middle A/C) runs independently... Unit # 1 and 3 Front a/c and bedroom a/c are controlled from a (50amp EMS Control Module) located in your electrical panel in the master bedroom. Mine exploded and caught fire. Luckily I was in the RV when this happened. I had to replace the 50amp EMS Control Module. The cost was over $400.00 and I installed the Module myself. If you are having issues with your A/C's it could be linked to this 50amp EMS Control Module.

Also I would try cleaning the A/C units,( on the rooftop) a plugged up condenser will cause an A/C unit to run hot and shut down.
I hope this information helps you.

Frank.




I can use zone 3 and do the same thin SO LONG AS Zone 1 is OFF. If (for example I get zone 1 & 2 running and then cut on Zone 3 - - Zone 2 shuts off. [I am assuming this may be a load shed thing but I dunno]

ANY help/pointers greatly appreciated.



See answer's above.
Quick68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2008 Camelot vs 2007/2008 Dynasty Brianpr Monaco Owner's Forum 16 10-03-2020 08:20 AM
Camelot :: 2008 Monaco Camelot 36PDQ s@ndm@n iRV2 Owners Registry 0 02-12-2019 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.