RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2012, 08:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 375
2008 Monaco Knight a/c control

Does anyone else with similar coach notice that when you select from the off position to the first symbol to the right that the A/C is energized when it should not be, and when when you select from the off position to the first symbol to the left the A/C is not energized when it should be. I normally select the position to the right in the heat mode and could not get enough heat as the A/C was running at the same time I wanted heat only.

There is a possibility that the wrong switch configuration was used from the factory.
__________________

doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2012, 09:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Elk Grove Village, IL
Posts: 62
For what it's worth, my 2000 Diplomat is wired the same way. I had to scratch my head when I saw this too, but once you know this, you can work around it.

Now if I could just make the A/C 10 degrees cooler, I would be a happier camper.

HP
__________________

__________________
6/18 2011 Tiffin Red 36QSA, 340hp ISB, Our 3rd Class A, Me GL1800 & DW GL1800 Trike, 757 ret., 510 club
00MonDip is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 06:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DennisZ's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pipe Creek, TX
Posts: 586
On mine, the first position to the left is VENT, if that's the same as yours, the compressor should not run. If th first position to the right is DEFROST, the compressor should run to remove moisture from the air to blow on your windows.

Dennis
__________________
Dennis & Debbie Z (Retired) F415847
Pipe Creek, TX
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ / 2014 Grand Cherokee / 2015 RAM 1500 Toad
DennisZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
Mine's the same way. The ONLY positions it DOES NOT run at are at 11 and 3 o'clock. The only way I figured that out was with a test light. I've never seen anything else quite like it....

It is a comfort knowing others have figured it out as well though! I'm not the only one wondering what the heck is going on with that thing.
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 01:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 375
I have done a little checking on this and found out that the problem is the selector switch has the wrong configuration from the factory. It not a wiring issue, I have installed a pilot light to indicate when the the A/C is enabled. When I had the dealer look at it he said they were not sure what the problem is so they ordered a new control. The new control does the same as the existing unit so I did not change I may install a switch to control when the A/C is enabled that way i can use the Bi level in the Heat mode with out A/C working against the Heat coil.
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 01:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 375
We may not have the same control unit as the 1st position to the right is BI LEVEL the 2nd position to the right is FLOOR the 3rd and 4th position include defrost and the A/c is enabled. It should not be enabled in the BI LEVEL position but it is
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
Compressor pilot/indicator light would be pretty simple to rig. I think that's a great plan, have added it to the "to do" list. Thanks...
__________________

__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×