Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2016, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
ervinglobal's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada, Canada
Posts: 57
2013 Monaco Diplomat Maxxforce 10

I had a ECM flash done last year the software 2.0 I need help from other members what their new flash is? I lost the engine brake if i use it in the 3rd setting. Is there a new ECM flash or mine was just done wrong?
Thanks
ervinglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-13-2016, 11:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Traps90's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,427
I would say something went wrong on the update, mine still works as always.
__________________
Trap, Jan and the Pup
2013 Monaco Diplomat 43dft
2010 Black Jeep Liberty
Traps90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 07:40 AM   #3
Member
 
ervinglobal's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada, Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traps90 View Post
I would say something went wrong on the update, mine still works as always.
Thanks for the reply. Your engine is also Maxxforce 10? What is your software update, is it also 2.0? If I use it in the 3rd setting it will downshift drastically and ones I hit about 2500RPM it will just disengage and wont work in any other setting till I restart the engine.
Thanks, Again
ervinglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 11:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Traps90's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,427
Mine is up to date with the 2.0 and while I did notice a little more power especially in first and 2nd I haven't noticed any difference in the Engine brake and we just came down a 8% grade that was a mile or so long the other day.

I would definitely take it back and have them look at it.
__________________
Trap, Jan and the Pup
2013 Monaco Diplomat 43dft
2010 Black Jeep Liberty
Traps90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:47 AM   #5
Member
 
ervinglobal's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada, Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traps90 View Post
Mine is up to date with the 2.0 and while I did notice a little more power especially in first and 2nd I haven't noticed any difference in the Engine brake and we just came down a 8% grade that was a mile or so long the other day.

I would definitely take it back and have them look at it.
Thanks for the clarification. I will ask them again as the tech told me they could not do this wrong because the system comes back with a successful message on their screen.
ervinglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 07:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 160
There is a setting on the reflash that can turn on the engine brake or leave it off. When I had mine done they asked it was on before the reflash if not they were going to charge me to turn it on.. While in Goshen, Ind. the Maxxforce engineer reset mine to even work when exceeding 4 mph over the setting I had the cruise control on. You might want to contact Maxxforce to find out correct setting for your engine.
__________________
2013 Holiday Rambler 43 DFT-405 HP MaxxForce International-Dodge 1500 pickup w/US Gear Tow Brake
Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 08:19 AM   #7
Member
 
ervinglobal's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada, Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry View Post
There is a setting on the reflash that can turn on the engine brake or leave it off. When I had mine done they asked it was on before the reflash if not they were going to charge me to turn it on.. While in Goshen, Ind. the Maxxforce engineer reset mine to even work when exceeding 4 mph over the setting I had the cruise control on. You might want to contact Maxxforce to find out correct setting for your engine.
Thanks for your info. I don't know for sure what they done but mine works up to 2500RPM going downhill. As I press the air brake to slow down more the transmission automatically shifts in a lower gear that would cause the RPM to rise, at that point the engine brake just disengage and wont work till I stop the engine and re start it again. The shop I went to normally don't work on RV's I asked them nicely if they would. They contacted International and the tech guided the mechanic how to do the flash. It was done free of charge. The closest dealer is 108 miles from my resident and I did not want to drive that far. Maybe I should have.
ervinglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 10:23 AM   #8
Member
 
ervinglobal's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada, Canada
Posts: 57
Originally Posted by Harry
There is a setting on the reflash that can turn on the engine brake or leave it off. When I had mine done they asked it was on before the reflash if not they were going to charge me to turn it on.. While in Goshen, Ind. the Maxxforce engineer reset mine to even work when exceeding 4 mph over the setting I had the cruise control on. You might want to contact Maxxforce to find out correct setting for your engine.


Thanks for your info. I don't know for sure what they done but mine works up to 2500RPM going downhill. As I press the air brake to slow down more the transmission automatically shifts in a lower gear that would cause the RPM to rise, at that point the engine brake just disengage and wont work till I stop the engine and re start it again. The shop I went to normally don't work on RV's I asked them nicely if they would. They contacted International and the tech guided the mechanic how to do the flash. It was done free of charge. The closest dealer is 108 miles from my resident and I did not want to drive that far. Maybe I should have.

OK so yesterday I drove to the closest dealer 225 KM and they try to figure out why my engine brake cuts out in second and third setting. They created a case file while I was at the service. They replied from Maxxforce tech team in about two hours of waiting. The engine brake works only in the first setting after the new flash. I have received a new flash last year which was 2.0 software. So the the second and third setting will not work as before, I was told. If anybody has this problem that is the reply I got from Maxxforce tech I seen it whit my own eyes on their computer screen. I had to pay for this of course so my advice to people having issues don't waste your time and money. I was also told this setup may or may not work when you use your cruse control. I have got different feedback from many sources. Just very weird!
Thanks for all the replies and have safe trip to everyone. __________________
ervinglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 6,196
Wow,
that is not a resolution, is it...

I would pose the question on their facebook page(s) to get a more public response...
__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk(junk!), 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, Winn LeSharo, C's, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 Monaco Diplomat 43 DFT Tarheel Monaco Owner's Forum 8 09-19-2014 07:24 PM
Monaco/HR dropping Maxxforce? Netnherbert Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum 21 12-08-2013 07:42 AM
Price for 2013 HR/Monaco Endeavor/Diplomat bronk Monaco Owner's Forum 31 03-06-2013 08:24 PM
2011 Monaco Knight MaxxForce - fuel mileage check YellowZonker Monaco Owner's Forum 4 02-23-2012 08:28 PM
Test Drove the 2012 Diplomat with MAxxForce 10 Traps90 Monaco Owner's Forum 5 02-12-2012 08:54 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.