RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2011, 07:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 197
50 amp power down to 15 amp power

My coach requires a 50 amp service. I have seen adaptors to adapt the power down to a 30 amp service at a camp site. But I do not have a 30 amp service at my home, only a 15 amp service. If I plug into my home power what will run..if anything? Will my fridge work?? For all you guys out there who keep their coach at their homes do you have 30 amp power or????
__________________

__________________
Ted and Kathy Mckay
2005 Holiday Rambler Sceptre 38 PDQ.400 cummins..... Tag #...RLN-TRD
TEDDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,989
I have used a 50a to 30a adapter, then a 30a to 20/15a adapter many times. You can easily run the refrigerator, lights, etc. You CANNOT run an ac/heat pump. You may be able to run the microwave..
__________________

__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '17 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited toad
AFChap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jfran304's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 2,613
Be sure you use the shortest extension cord you can rated for 15 amps. If you don't you will melt cords and plugs and possibly start a fire.

Jon
__________________
Jon & Sue Francis (Retired U.S.A.F.)
Lil Girl-Rescued, Abby Rescued, Peaches Rescued
06 Allegro 35TSA Workhorse Chassis
2013 Chevy Spark Dinghy
jfran304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:46 PM   #4
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,721
Use an extension cord with 12 AWG or 10 AWG. Most extension cords for the yard are 14 AWG and are not really suitable for this type operation. The higher the number the smaller the overall wire diameter.

I run off of 110v all the time when in storage just to keep the converter running. I use a 110 to 30, and a 30 to 50 "dog bone" adapters. Before having 50 amp installed in the driveway I could operate the refrigerator and lights. When I had a 5th wheel with two roof air conditioners, I could run one air conditioner and refrigerator. Turning anything else on would blow my 20 amp circuit breaker in the house. With the basement air conditioner in the MH, before I had 50 amp, I could run the AC in the EMS 20 Amp mode but nothing else.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:11 PM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,914
TEDDE.....I do the same thing at home. I only have 20 amp service where I park the coach. It works well for keeping the batteries charged and running the refer before a trip. If we come home and its hot, we'll run the A/C while unloading. I've never had a need for more power while at home.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 5,545
A lot will depend on what else is on the circuit. For example, at my house I plugged into a 15 amp circuit in my garage, the breaker would trip a lot of times because there were others things plugged into the same circuit. I put a dedicated 15 amp circuit in and had no further problems. I finally put a 50 amp circuit in that I use strictly for the MH because we need to run the AC on really hot days.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis......
“I recently entered a competition to see who had gained the most weight and lost the most hair. Obviously, it wasn’t called that. It was advertised as a ‘Class Reunion.'”
UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,618
This extension cord will safely carry 15 AMPS to your RV.
http://www.amazon.com/Coleman-Cable-Extension-Cord-EC504930/dp/B000TRNMMM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1303701223&sr=8-1

I leave my coach plugged into a 15 AMP circuit all the time to keep the batteries charged. I can also use the lights and the TV/DVD if I want. It works fine for the Fridge the day before we leave for a trip. If I turn everything off I can test one AC unit at a time but I only do that in the spring to checkout after winter storage. And then just long enough to insure they cool.
__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:39 PM   #8
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP" & Lehigh Acres Fl
Posts: 20,744
I just installed a Progressive surge protector with line monitors while checking it in the shop yesterday with a big 15 amp extension cord through the various adapters, line one had no amperage while line two had 6 amps after first plugged in which was from the refrigerator and battery charger, when I check a few hours later after the charger and frig leveled off it showed a grand amperage total of 1 amp!
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L Workhorse W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD, 06 Lincoln Mark LT 4X4
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 197
My thanks to all who commented about 15 amp power. We did the same as you do at home when we had a 30 amp gasser. Now with the 50 amp pusher I was not quite sure. We always bring the coach home a few days in advance for cleaning and packing and stocking up the fridge. We live in Canada where we plug our cars in, in the winter so I already have a 15 amp extension cord to the front of he house. I will check to see the wire size though. My car block heaters won't take as much power as a motorhome.
I will now bring her home and start to get ready for the rv season, now that the snow has finally melted..LOL


Thx to all

Ted
__________________
Ted and Kathy Mckay
2005 Holiday Rambler Sceptre 38 PDQ.400 cummins..... Tag #...RLN-TRD
TEDDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 08:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
There are 15-50 amp adapters (Allow you to plug a 50 amp rig into a 15 amp outlet) however they can be hard to find.. There is also a 15-30 and no problem double adapting.

HOWEVER, do be aware that by code, any outdoor outlet has to be GFCI protected (Unless grandfathered that is) and many RV's do not get along well with GFCI's due to the presence of both 12 and 120 volt systems.

Just so you know, a lot depends on your converter, and if you have one your inverter. Also, beyond battery charging not much you can do.

MY rig, has a "plug in" converter, I can "Split" it off (unplug) and run JUST IT on a 15 amp line, and yes, I had to build an adapter to do even that.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:50 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jfran304's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 2,613
It might be better to just install a 50 Amp circuit to plug into. With some help from an electrician friend I installed one at my house for less than $200. That included the wiring (45'), circuit breaker and plug.

Jon
__________________
Jon & Sue Francis (Retired U.S.A.F.)
Lil Girl-Rescued, Abby Rescued, Peaches Rescued
06 Allegro 35TSA Workhorse Chassis
2013 Chevy Spark Dinghy
jfran304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 11:00 PM   #12
Member
 
Las Vegas Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 46
Converting down from what the Motorhome is built for is risky business.

If you do use a down converter adapter, review first what you "must" run
and ensure that the current draw will be at least 15% under that which
the adapter is for.

I have seen 30 amp converter connectors burnt due to the motorhome
attempting to draw more than it could supply. Some will say that the
fuse or breaker on the circuit will trip first - not true in all circumstances and the risk of fire is well worth pre-planning.

I have even seen 30 amp to 50 amp converter connectors available in
the market place.........so you can plug your 30 amp motorhome into
a 50 amp connector...yeah right.

Safety above all else.
Las Vegas Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 06:34 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 197
Thanks for all the info..I only want to be able to run the fridge and a few interior lights to see what we are doing/packing. Posssibly a TV to keep the kids occupied. We will not run the ac or the microwave. Running a 50 amp service is not a good option for me. Not even a 30 amp is an option.

Thanks to all


Ted
__________________
Ted and Kathy Mckay
2005 Holiday Rambler Sceptre 38 PDQ.400 cummins..... Tag #...RLN-TRD
TEDDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 10:12 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 44
Magnum system enables you to change the max shore setting to coordinate with the circuit breaker rating from the incoming AC source.When I connect to 15A house power or my small 2000w generator, I reduce the settings on my Magnum remote control pad to 10 or 15A by pressing the "shore" button and turning the dial. This instructs the Magnum to reduce the load to the charging system so that it does not pop a breaker. Otherwise, the Magnum will default to 50A and attempt to charge the batteries as if you are hooked up to 50amps.
__________________

__________________
07 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ
MotionGrantd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter/Charger power interruptions mtnman49 National RV Owner's Forum 6 11-10-2010 04:59 AM
30 amp power to generator start up question gto19 Monaco Owner's Forum 7 01-10-2010 11:18 AM
Phantom power drain question... Jeff_in_The_Dalles 5th Wheel Discussion 10 04-29-2009 06:55 AM
Diesel Guy's 50 Amp Power Reel rockintom Excel Owner's Forum 3 12-30-2008 09:07 PM
Hughes Autoformer, 30 or 50 Amp??? Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-06-2006 11:27 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×