Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2021, 09:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 32
50 amp to 30 amp electrical problem

Any electricians out there? Using my 50 amp dogbone reducing to 30 amp 10' extension cable and connecting to my 30 amp garage dryer (see attachmnts); my EMS gives an error E3, "high voltage (244v) Line 1"; When I connect to 120 house current, EMS reads E0 (normal) "L1 118v, L2 118; I have double checked the dogbone and dryer outlet for Ohms and getting expected voltage; the ohms pic arrows show where I have good connectivity to each blade on the dogbone; somehow the RV is able to split the current at 118 each line but not the 30 amp current (reading 244v Line 1)

Any thoughts on why I can connect w/dogbone at 30amp campsite (no problem) but can't connect to 30amp dryer outlet? Also, I have a double pull 30 amp breaker in the garage panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30 amp dryer outlet.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	268.7 KB
ID:	343858   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ohms 50-30 amp dogbone.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	414.7 KB
ID:	343859  

Click image for larger version

Name:	dogbone 50-30amp cord.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	273.2 KB
ID:	343860  
__________________
2005 HR Endeavor 400 HP Cummins 57K mi; 3000 Allison 6spd; 3 Slides; Toad 2001 S10 2.2L 6sp Auto; blue ox; WWG1WGA
paulsilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-22-2021, 09:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,697
Well, at least you appear to have a neutral but there is no ground on the outlet. Perhaps your ems is unhappy with that.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 09:48 AM   #3
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsilas View Post
Any electricians out there? Using my 50 amp dogbone reducing to 30 amp 10' extension cable and connecting to my 30 amp garage dryer (see attachmnts); my EMS gives an error E3, "high voltage (244v) Line 1"; When I connect to 120 house current, EMS reads E0 (normal) "L1 118v, L2 118; I have double checked the dogbone and dryer outlet for Ohms and getting expected voltage; the ohms pic arrows show where I have good connectivity to each blade on the dogbone; somehow the RV is able to split the current at 118 each line but not the 30 amp current (reading 244v Line 1)

Any thoughts on why I can connect w/dogbone at 30amp campsite (no problem) but can't connect to 30amp dryer outlet? Also, I have a double pull 30 amp breaker in the garage panel.
A dryer plug is 30 amps 240v. You cannot just use a 30 amp dryer plug and an adapter. Your lucky you EMS shut you down. You could have fried every electrical component in it. And in reality. You may have.
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 09:48 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 11,157
Your dryer outlet is wired for 240 volt, not 120 like RV park pedestals. Your EMS just saved you a ton of money in burned up equipment.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 09:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,592
As stated, 30 amp RV service is 120 VAC (ONE hot), one neutral and one ground.


30 amp appliance service is 240 VAC and "will let the smoke out" of anything in your RV it is allowed to connect to.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,697
Sorry, never meant to say that a standard dryer outlet would work. I assumed he had re-wired it. yes, dryers are 230 volt, but it appears that he has at least a neutral and as such, can re-wire the plug to deliver 30 amps at 110...carefully. It will not, however, have a ground, even though the receptacle shown does offer one.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:08 AM   #7
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrownstein View Post
yes, dryers are 230 volt, but it appears that he has at least a neutral and as such, can re-wire the plug to deliver 30 amps at 110...carefully. It will not, however, have a ground, even though the receptacle shown does offer one.
Yes, in theory he could pull one hot and one neutral and then just have 120v at 15 amps

He's lucky he's not showing us pictures of the fire.

I can't count how many times this has been discussed guys trying to just plug the RV in with a dog bone to 240V
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:09 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by amosnandy View Post
Yes, in theory he could pull one hot and one neutral and then just have 120v at 15 amps

He's lucky he's not showing us pictures of the fire.

I can't count how many times this has been discussed guys trying to just plug the RV in with a dog bone to 240V
Actually he would have 110 volts at 30 amps.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,548
My turn. Everyone stop encouraging this guy to use a dryer circuit, please. There's enough heartbreaking stories going around here about people who have let the smoke out of all their RV systems! To the OP, stop what you are doing and seek out someone who knows how to provide you with a dedicated RV circuit!
__________________
TandW
TandW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,610
How are you plugging that dog bone into your dryer outlet ?

It should look like this. No round hole.

If you swapped it out, that won't work and your lucky your EMS stopped you.Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210922-121437_Chrome.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	23.7 KB
ID:	343866
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:20 AM   #11
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by TandW View Post
My turn. Everyone stop encouraging this guy to use a dryer circuit, please. There's enough heartbreaking stories going around here about people who have let the smoke out of all their RV systems! To the OP, stop what you are doing and seek out someone who knows how to provide you with a dedicated RV circuit!
Ditto to all of the previous posters.

This is a recipe for a very sad outcome.

Mayday, mayday, I'm going down in smoke.

Take this seriously and do NOT attempt to connect to that outlet.

Yes you could make a cheater device but without the proper understanding you may burn the place down or burn up a lot of equipment.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, problem



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sat Dome Problem or Electrical Problem?? fansill Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 04-25-2011 11:34 PM
Electrical & charging problem womps Monaco Owner's Forum 8 03-04-2010 04:47 PM
Electrical problem with TV's, surround sound & DVD Joedonna2 Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-02-2009 03:43 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.