Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2023, 01:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
80A slideout breaker tripping

The 80 amp breaker for the hydraulic front sides, has started tripping. Has only happened in cold, below 30*, weather. My coach is 15 years old and I am wondering if the breaker simply needs to be replaced.
I have checked the fluid level and it is at the upper level. Motor spins freely when I use an allen wrench to turn it.
Having a bit of trouble locating the 80 amp breaker. No issue locating a 90 amp breaker. Wondering if it is okay to step up to the 90 amp ?
Thoughts ......
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-03-2023, 01:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,403
May be worth trying a new breaker.

These hyd pumps have a bad habit of the seal between the pump & motor failing, and allowing ATF into the motor!
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 01:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
Thanks Ben ! Doesn't look like that is the problem. I will check more closely.
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 01:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,779
On the other Monaco forum there is a member who I believe has a 2009 Camelot. From memory he had problems with his hydraulic motor for the slides and turns out that Monaco undersized some of the components, can't remember if that was the breaker or something else.



You might do a search on this forum and see if there any other reports of this happening, I don't believe he is a member of IRV2 but maybe someone else has tackled this problem.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 01:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,403
Greg, the motor likely wouldn't have any problem spinning manually with oil in it.

Hopefully Happycarz will see this thread, as he will know the symptoms of a motor that has had ATF leak into it.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 02:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Happycarz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,306
Two things could be happening:

1. The breaker is fatiguing, but not likely.

2. The motor is drawing more than 80 amps.

For $35 buy a DVOM on Amazon that has a DC amp clamp. Most meters in the past only had AC amp clamp.

Put the clamp on the battery cable from the 80a breaker to the motor and have someone run the slide in or out while reading the amp meter.

How are you resetting breaker if you are having hard time locating it?

Your breaker may be hidden behind the cluster of wire looms, which you may have to move to see the breaker.

Let us know the amp reading. If the motor is drawing too many amps due to age, or oil seepage, I just found a shop that will sell you a replacement for a reasonable price. Iíll have to look it up and post it.




Attachment 385681

Attachment 385682
__________________
Harry

2008 Monaco Camelot 40' PDQ
Happycarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 03:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
Hello Harry. Thanks for posting.
I wasn't clear in my post, sorry. I can see the breaker with no problem. I am having trouble locating a new breaker to buy. Lots of 90 amp breakers, but the 80 amp is a little more scarce.

I have ordered the meter you suggested, it will be here next Wednesday.
I will check the amp draw and report back.

Thanks to all for the replies !!
Greg
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 03:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 32,701
Has the oil in the system been changed ?

Is it the correct weight, oil gets thick in the winter.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 03:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,403
They filled this system with ATF at the factory.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 04:10 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
I have not changed the oil in the system. I monitor the level and it has always been near the full level.

I will check the amp draw when I receive the new dc amp meter, and go from there. Hopefully I wonít need a new motor!
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 04:43 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Happycarz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,306
Greg,
Cut and paste this into eBay:

80 amp circuit breaker

If they only have the ones with the small levers, that will be fine.

If it is drawing more than 80 amps, start looking for a motor.

At same time you are testing amps, also check the voltage while under load.
__________________
Harry

2008 Monaco Camelot 40' PDQ
Happycarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 05:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Happycarz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,306
If in fact the motor is toast, take a look at this thread. Itís also a good reference for all others.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f274/lip...ce-457195.html
__________________
Harry

2008 Monaco Camelot 40' PDQ
Happycarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 05:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
GREAT information Harry!
Thank you!!!!
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2023, 03:52 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
gnlandrus's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 438
OK, received my ac/dc VOM. Checked the DC amp draw on the motor and it bounced around some, but never got close 80 amps. Ran the slides in and out several times, and the breaker did trip one time.
Iím thinking I have a bad breaker so I will change it and hope for the best.

Changed the breaker and all is good. Checked the amp draw and it stayed between 8-10 amps, slide going out and in, several times !
Think I solved the problem.
As always, THANK YOU to all that offered advice !
Safe travels,
Greg
__________________
Greg & Marsha
2008 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2016 Cadillac SRX Toad & 2014 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited Toad.
gnlandrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, slide, slideout



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly tripping shore breaker baustin National RV Owner's Forum 26 12-20-2010 08:11 PM
AC breaker tripping??? TEX-CTD RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-05-2010 08:19 AM
invertor tripping breaker gec MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-05-2008 09:09 AM
HELP Main breaker tripping Sixpack98 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 06-05-2008 04:22 AM
Tripping breaker RVRon MH-General Discussions & Problems 19 09-21-2005 09:18 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.