Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2021, 03:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
A/C compressor quit

My A/c was fine on auto fan and then just shut off before it should have. The fan can run on manual low or high but no cool air. What should I be looking at first-second-third?

Tim
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-04-2021, 03:11 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 12,867
Tim,

Does the thermostat cycle through the modes and zones, if you have them?

If so, I’d say the problem is in the unit itself. The first thing that had to happen up there is the start capacitor had to kick the compressor on. That’s a pretty common failure.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 03:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmcd View Post
Tim,

Does the thermostat cycle through the modes and zones, if you have them?

If so, Iíd say the problem is in the unit itself. The first thing that had to happen up there is the start capacitor had to kick the compressor on. Thatís a pretty common failure.
Yep everything cycles and I can turn the fan on and off. So I guess I'm going on the roof. That was my guess but I was just hoping for some kind of reset. Thank you Dennis
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 03:32 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 12,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
Yep everything cycles and I can turn the fan on and off. So I guess I'm going on the roof. That was my guess but I was just hoping for some kind of reset. Thank you Dennis
There is a reset procedure for the CCC and CCC2 thermostats. Turn the unit off and then hold the zone and mode button down at the same time. I think the CCC has to be turned on while holding the buttons and the CCC2 does not. I know the CCC2 displays "INIT" during the process and the zones disappear and reappear. When they do, it's finished. It only needs to be done if you change one of the dip switches, but who knows?
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 07:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
Does anyone know the best way to check a run capacitor?

Tim
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 08:35 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 12,867
Some DVMs have a capacitor testing function. If not, you can check the capacitor as follows;

Disconnect the capacitor from the circuit.
Discharge the capacitor by shorting the leads together.
Set the DVM to ohms, set the scale to its highest reading.
Attach the DVM leads to the leads of the capacitor. Check to see if the capacitor leads are labeled + and -. If so, connect them as indicated.
A good capacitor will slowly build a charge until it reaches its threshold when it should discharge.

The start cap on our Penguins is underneath the cover on the passenger side of the coach. Its a pretty large can on the left side of the compartment. I didn't notice if they were labeled + or - or not. I think the start capacitor is the black one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Penguin II Install (6).jpg
Views:	5
Size:	311.1 KB
ID:	323870  
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 08:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Stan&Jacquie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 897
While you are up there, it is a good time to clean the compressor and the heat exchangers.
__________________
Stan & Jacquie
2007 Monaco Knight DFT 40', 750 watts Solar
2012 Equinox w/Air Force I, Blue Ox Alpha & Base.
Stan&Jacquie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 10:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
Thanks Dennis and Stan, I think it's the Run capacitor the way it's the Run capacitor the way it's acting but I will check them in the morning.

Tim
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 07:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
Does anyone know the best way to check a run capacitor?Tim
The only way is with a meter. Once the value exceeds 10% from the original it needs replaced as a motor may not start, run or may stop running intermittantly. Also check the PTCR https://www.achrnews.com/articles/87...cient-resistor

I carry spare capacitors for my A/C units and residential refrigerator. I replaced the PTCR with a Supco SPP6 and carry one of those as a spare also. https://www.supco.com/web/supco_live/products/SPP6.html
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 12:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
I was going to look at it today but the wind is blowing like hell so I will wait until tomorrow. I will update when I do.

Thank you guys for the info.

Tim
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 12:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,285
Tim
If you capacitor is bad I'd suggest looking at replacing with a hardstart type.



Also, it wouldn't take much to swap the capacitors on your AC's to confirm or rule out this as the problem.



Good Luck
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 04:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Tim
If you capacitor is bad I'd suggest looking at replacing with a hardstart type.



Also, it wouldn't take much to swap the capacitors on your AC's to confirm or rule out this as the problem.



Good Luck
I decided to do the A/C today and both the start and Run capacitors check out good. My A/Cs are different so I can't swap the capacitors out. What would be the next thing to check? Fuses are good on the board.
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 07:15 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,285
What make/model AC's do you have. Both mine are Dometic Duotherm. Here is a troubleshooting guide that I have on file.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Duotherm trouble shooting guide.pdf (658.9 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 07:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
What make/model AC's do you have. Both mine are Dometic Duotherm. Here is a troubleshooting guide that I have on file.
Thank You, I will check it out.

Tim
__________________
Finally Retired-60% Time in Motorhome
2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, McCabe Racing 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque 11+MPG towing 05 Pilot 700W solar & E-Bikes
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC compressor clutch issue, exam, & compressor replacement Civdiv99 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 09-09-2018 01:01 PM
Onboard Compressor vs portable compressor sgtjoe RV Systems & Appliances 26 12-17-2010 11:36 PM
a/c and furnace quit critterslave MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 02-06-2009 11:32 PM
ShurFlo 5.7 Pump Just Quit Rusty Bear Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 12-29-2008 02:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.