RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2015, 10:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: STETTLER
Posts: 344
Access to power generator

I wonder if someone with more knowledge than I can help. We bought a new to us 2002 36' Monaco Diplomat with the diesel genset. My old Winnie Luxor had a couple of latches that allowed the genset to be pulled out and extended out the front to service the thing. I can't seem to find any latches or any info in the manuals re: access. Does the genset pull out or do I need a 3ft tall service guy with 4ft arms?
__________________

__________________
2000 Bounder. 2000 Vanguard 17' boat, 4 dogs, 2 cats, 2 miniature ponies, 1 horse 1 longtime wife(53 yrs)
POPPASMURF is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-13-2015, 10:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,774
Is your gen slide electrically or hydraulically operated? Ours is. I have o unlock and open up the electrical compartment in front of the drivers side wheel and press a switch. Perhaps yours works the same way? The CC and Monaco's seem to share a few design ideas like that from the ones we looked at.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 07:25 AM   #3
Member
 
hackman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
We have an '04 diplomat.The generator slide on ours is manual. There is an external latch just above the front license plate holder. It connects by light chain to catches on the generator drawer.

Ours was very difficult (read impossible) to open without jacks and me on my back pushing, until I replaced the slide rollers. Opens like a dream now.
__________________
Hackman
2004 38' Diplomat
hackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 01:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 510
My 02 Diplomat has a door with 2 latches the front of the coach opens for access to the front of the generator and does not slide out. For major repairs the generator has to be removed from the coach. All maintenance has to be done from under the coach😠
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 01:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rburian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Naples, Florida & Cape Cod, Ma,
Posts: 547
I don,t believe your Gen has slide out capabilities.
Rburian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 12:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: STETTLER
Posts: 344
Rjburian and mccrob, I believe you are correct. I have crawled around and for the life of me cannot figure a way it might roll out. I guess I service it from driving up on a ramp. Thanks all, the manual was a little vague about servicing the genset.
__________________
2000 Bounder. 2000 Vanguard 17' boat, 4 dogs, 2 cats, 2 miniature ponies, 1 horse 1 longtime wife(53 yrs)
POPPASMURF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 02:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,030
As hackman said, is there any chance the release-latch might be hidden/recessed up above the front license plate? I'd have never found mine without someone showing me.

Good luck
__________________

RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator not putting out power 96sunman Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 8 05-02-2015 03:55 AM
Bounder: AC Power without generator or shore power. jbrv Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-31-2015 06:27 PM
Back feeding power to sticks and bricks from generator charlie2 Class A Motorhome Discussions 85 11-06-2014 07:19 AM
No coach power from generator qdup Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 05-22-2014 12:38 PM
Generator /shore power TRELL Forest River Owners Forum 8 01-13-2014 06:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×