RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2019, 07:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: lapine oregon
Posts: 21
Angry Backup Camera not Working

First My camera a Sony SSM-621AM was working great then coming up a long grade I blew my transmission, tow truck while hauling to shop blew right rear outside tire tore up wheel well as he just kept on.
After transmission repair noticed no back up camera, monitor turns on when I place transmission in reverse so I suspect wiring tore up when tire blew, I have been under but can not find any disturbed wiring in sight, any one have any ideas. Or possibly instruction or wiring diagram. thanks.
__________________

0ldfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2019, 08:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,667
My guess is a bad fuse or wire damage you did not see. For real info....go to RV Cams: Backup Camera Systems (All). They have Sony units and parts. Tim is the one to talk to. I bought from him and was very pleased. If need be, send him your unit and he will diagnose for free.
__________________

__________________
2003 Dolphin LX 6355 w/ W22 chassis; 8.1L gas & Allison 1000
Scooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 05:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Camera not working

What year and model is your coach? Where is the monitor mounted, up high under front cabinets or down low in the dash? Either way in most models the cable from the monitor to the camera is usually ran up the "A" pillar and back in the roof or upper sidewall area. If you think about it the camera is up high and if the monitor is up high the most direct route is to keep the cable up high also. I don't think you have a fuse issue for two reasons, 1 you say is comes ON in reverse and 2 the camera is fused through/by the monitor so if the monitor comes on the fuse is good that also powers the camera. You might be able to plug the camera directly into the monitor. This will tell you if it is the camera that has the issue or confirm it is the cable. It may be a pain to remove the camera and a pain to get to the back of the monitor but if you can the male plug on the camera will plug into the female on the back of the monitor. You are simply taking the cable out of the loop. Also your monitor most likely has 2 or 3 inputs so try plugging it into #2 or #3 just be sure to select 2 or 3 on your monitor camera select button. If the camera does work doing this then it is your cable and you can choose to continue looking for the bad spot or run a new cable. If the camera does not work doing this then it is most likely a camera issue.
Good luck.
Jetboyblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:43 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: lapine oregon
Posts: 21
back up camera not working

1992 holiday rambler 1000 monitor on dash will try to takr down camera and check thanks for clues.
0ldfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 06:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,420
I would first follow Scooter's advice and call RV Cams. A phone call is quick and virtually free. They are good. Tim is good. Their number is (225) 261-9946.

On our '06 Dynasty, the connector at the monitor and the connector at the camera were NOT the same. I wound up with a camera change with a new one from RV Cams, and they provided all the info to put a new connector on both ends of the cable to use the existing monitor and cable with the new cam. Love the new one! Far better than the original.

An owners manual that Tim might be able to lead you to, would be a great troubleshooting aid. Good luck to you!
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup camera not working SuperDad RV Systems & Appliances 9 06-16-2013 02:23 PM
Backup camera not working becker Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 09-01-2012 07:19 AM
Newmar backup/side camera not working tom chelbana Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 06-08-2012 08:36 PM
Backup camera not working in reverse winhawk Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 11-23-2011 10:50 AM
Backup camera not working on brand new MH rek Monaco Owner's Forum 18 12-14-2009 09:41 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×