RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
trabuco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Where ever we park but currently in Menifee, Ca
Posts: 123
Basement Heat

Can anyone tell me if my 2005 Monaco Diplomat heats the basement when I operate the furnance? I do have a small 12v heater in the water works area, but curious if I'm getting furnance heat into the basement as well. I don't see any vents.

I looked in the manual but can't info one way or another.

Ken
__________________
Ken
2005 Monaco Diplomat 40 PAQ 400 ISL
2012 Honda CRV AWD -Toad
trabuco is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
I have the same question. My 08 knight is near identical to a dynasty of similar year...
The tanks are between the propane tank bay and the rear suspension, they wouldn't get any heat out of the main basement bays anyway...
Are the tanks heated beyond the 12v heater in the wet bay?
If one would/could keep the interior of the motorhome at 40 all winter, and keep that lil wet bay heater running, would the tanks freeze?
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,786
Well, when you go back to the era of my coach, there is a small furnace duct going into the water tank bay. Then there's a small duct going from the water tank bay into the water works bay. If the sliding door is left slightly open between the water works bay and the large basement storage bay, then heat makes its way into the basement storage bay.

As long as the furnace is turned on, the basement won't freeze.

But, I don't know what Monaco decided to do a decade later.
__________________
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2012 Ram 2500 Laramie 4X4 Cummins 6.7L
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:23 PM   #4
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
hmmm, what decade was your's Jim?

There's no way mine could have anything useful between the main basement and the bay where the water ans waste tanks are....
there is this huge propane tank in the way...

Oddly, since our rig is "homed" in a campground for the winter, and we will have power, not to mention a full tank of diesel and a known to be working auto gen start....

It sure would tickle me not to winterize the plumbing at all...
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,786
[QUOTE=JimM68;1344383]hmmm, what decade was your's Jim?

/QUOTE]

Hmmmmm.......
__________________
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2012 Ram 2500 Laramie 4X4 Cummins 6.7L
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:19 AM   #6
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,324
trabuco....Your coach doesn't heat anything below the floor level. You do have a bay heater in the back of the utility bay. It looks like a small electric heater. It runs on 12 volts and is switched on via your hallway panel. They didn't work well and if you bought your coach used, someone may have removed it. If you still have it, the switch in the hallway (lighted) only lights when the heater turns on, even though the switchmay be on. It has a "snapdisc" thermostat that looks like a small button. It closes somewhere around 28 degrees, turns on the heater and the light built into the switch and shuts off somewhere around 38 degrees. I used to have the exact numbers. I've only seen mine come on once at Yosemite.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
trabuco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Where ever we park but currently in Menifee, Ca
Posts: 123
Don thanks for jumping in. I didn't think there was any heat below floor level because I couldn't find any duct work. I am aware of the water works bay heater.

We're going to be wintering in Washington state and I'm a little concerned about freezing. We've already had temps into the mid 20's.

I suppose I could put tank heating pads on, but I'll try to manage without them. First time wintering in cold weather as we're from southern Cal.

It should be interesting.

Thanks again!

Ken
__________________
Ken
2005 Monaco Diplomat 40 PAQ 400 ISL
2012 Honda CRV AWD -Toad
trabuco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Traps90's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,408
If you have a 120v ac outlet in your storage bay, you could always plug in a small heater or even a 40 or 60 watt bulb, those light bulbs may throw off enough heat to keep things warm enough
__________________
Trap, Jan and the Pup
2013 Monaco Diplomat 43dft
2010 Black Jeep Liberty
Traps90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Pusherpilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SD
Posts: 1,022
Our 04 HR Imperial has AquaHot which uses a heat exchanger in the water works bay right over the Inverter. I've observed outside temps in the teens and basement temps over 70. Also the "stir pump" in the AH circulates hot water thru the zone 2 exchanger which keeps the areas under the fridge and bathroom very warm.
Ron
__________________
2004 HR Imperial
Pusherpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,966
I use a thermo cube that cuts the power on to a 60 w bulb in the basement where the pump is at 38 deg and off somewhere in the 40 s
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:44 PM   #11
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,324
I keep a "trouble light" with a 60 watt bulb in my storage bin. On a couple of occasions, I've just turned it on and stuffed it in the utility bay.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 37,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traps90 View Post
If you have a 120v ac outlet in your storage bay, you could always plug in a small heater or even a 40 or 60 watt bulb, those light bulbs may throw off enough heat to keep things warm enough
I just plug an extension cord into my engine heater outlet and run it into the wet bay, then plug a drop light fixture with a 100 watt bulb in it. Been doing it for 10 years here in WA hand have never had a problem with the wet bay. I also keep a 1500 watt heater or two going and several fans to move the air around. I don't even bother using anti-freeze in the pipes with that setup.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft, HWH Active Air
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:42 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Rbhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 273
I used to own a 08 Knight, I took the register cover off the bath area heater and drilled a 2 I ch hole into the utility bay. Besides the furnace heat, I used the access to run a drop light cord into the coach that I could plug in on nights that I needed to.
Rbhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:16 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
avfordguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingsville TX
Posts: 1,359
I used to own a 99 Dip that had no heat in the wet bay, installed a 110v heater with thermostat, set the stat to come on around 55 degrees, never had any freeze issues, although we live in the high desert and rarely gets below 10+ degrees.
avfordguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.