RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-09-2011, 01:09 PM   #1

Battery Replacement

Newbie here. I need to replace my house batteries as all 4 are dead. recently found a short cable had come apart; acid all over the tops and on the tray. not sure how old they are as whoever installed them didn't punch out the month and year on the top. I have the U2200's. a couple of questions and thanks ahead for any help.

1. can I replace the 4 (6Volt I think) with 2 12 Volts?

2. I've read a lot of the posts on batteries and am a little confused as to which other brand(s) to go with. recommendations? best price would be helpful if anyone knows.

3. how would I verify that the entire charging circuit is working properly? can I hook up just 1 new battery to help verify this? (just in case there is a problem, I would only ruin 1 battery)

4. planning to pull the bad batts out; other than shutting off the big knobs for the house and chassis, disconnecting all neg and then all pos leads, (proper procedure?) is there anything else I should do?

thanks again, cheryl

BikerGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!