Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2015, 08:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
BigBoy relay circuit board Intellitec part #73-00824-000

Problem: My big boy relay is operational and charges both house and engine batteries, but does not disconnect when the voltage on both house and engine fall below 12.6 volts. The 12.6 came form Monaco. This means that my engine and house batteries will both discharge at the same rate all the way to zero volts. I believe that the circuit board 73-00-824-000 made by intellitec is probably bad.

Support information
I have checked my BB relay and it working fine. It engages and disengages when when you take away one of the two small wires that energize the BB relay. I checked the battery boost switch with my volt/ohm meeter and it working fine. All three power inputs, alternator/genset/Shore power, charge both House and Engine. My talk with Monaco left me a little confused when trying to order the new part. The tech people gave me Intellitec part number 73-00824-000. When I talked with Monaco's parts people they were not quite sure of the part number and said there had been some modifications to the 73-00824-000 circuit board and I would have to order an additional part to make it work due to these changes. But they did not know what the changes are.

Question:
Does anyone have any background on this or know what these changes are, and did Intellitec change the part number. Don't know what to order at this time. Can someone give me some background information and input. A source for the right part # if this number is incorrect would be very much appreciated as well.
mque is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-21-2015, 09:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 747
When I replaced mine last year I got a 74-00824-000 off ebay that worked perfectly without any additional parts. That number is from memory and I believe is correct. I will verify tomorrow.
The problem with mine was the PIC microcontroller ( the little 8 pin DIP) had a bad analog input and would cycle the BB relay on a 2 minute cycle. I pretty throughly investigated the problem. I am an EE with lots of design experience. Your symptoms are a little different but are probably a similar problem. If you replace the board, don't throw it away as I have been considering programming a new PIC for my bad board.
Check out http://www.ebay.com/itm/INTELLITEC-R...3D151280024928
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 10:06 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
Thank you for the quick response. I finally got in touch with Intellitec tech support today. Your memory is perfect on the part #. Your diagnosis is on the money as well. The tech support person agrees with you that it is the board. He gave me a tip that I would like to run by you. On the board side 8 pin connector, number 1 and 8 pins both go to ground. He suggested the I cut those to wires hook them both to a #12 wire and run them to a solid ground like to run box or frame. I know there are more problems with grounds than almost anything else on 12V systems. However, I would be interested in your take on this before I did it. Thank you for the ebay link to the part. I will have to say I was surprised when the intellitec support person said he would sell me the 74-00824-000 for $91. I will keep my old board. I hope you can figure a way to salvage them. Thank you again very much for the quick support. It is really appreciated.

mque
mque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 08:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 747
Glad you have a handle on your problem. I guess I paid too much for my board off ebay.
I would guess the failure of the analog input(s) could very well be a result of a transient. CMOS chips do not like inputs going below the chip ground. That RRB has several BIG relays and solenoids with likely huge EMF's that could easily effect the board ground. Beefing up the ground certainly could not hurt in any event but my schematics for the original board shows a ground on pin 1 but the battery kill switch signal on pin 8. I will check the gauge of the ground wire on pin 1. EMF suppression diodes directly across all of the solenoid coils might the useful as well.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 09:04 PM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,702
What yr is your RV? Posting model and yr helps us.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 09:18 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
I have a 2006 Monaco Dynasty, my over site.

My wiring diagram shows the same pin configuration. Pin 1 is a ground (looks like 16 or 18 gage wire, not very robust). Pin 8 also shows it to be the battery kill switch (not sure what this means). The tech from Monaco wanted me too add the ground to pin 8, and was not concerned with pin 1. Seems to me his concern would have been with pin 1 if your trying to protect the board.

Mike and Sharon
2006 Monaco Dynasty
mque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 04:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 747
I think the Battery Kill switch, aka battery cutoff switch is a euphemism for the Salesman Switch but not positive. I cannot think of any other possibility.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 02:26 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 21
I agree and was thinking the same thing regarding pin 8. I know that the salesman switch is operated through that board because I pushed on of those mire buttons on the board and all the 12v lights in the coach went off. My wife said what happened to the lights. I thought Oh no what did I do now. But after thinking about it. I flipped the salesman switch and restored all (hero for one second). I need to talk with Intellitec again anyway about my circuit board delivery. I will try to get clarification on why they want me to take pin 8 to ground as well.

Mque
mque is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator on GFI circuit BoDu Palazzo Motorhomes 3 03-19-2015 09:29 AM
Intellitec Relay Question memphisflyer Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 09-08-2014 07:34 PM
Help Diagnosing Battery Isolator Relay RustyTravelr Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 09-06-2014 08:59 PM
Newmar/Freightliner Toad charge relay?? the trainguy Newmar Owner's Forum 4 09-01-2014 09:22 PM
New Refrigerator keeps burning up circuit boards AndyPfeiffer Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 20 07-25-2014 09:44 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.