RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2013, 07:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Brake Light Fuse

I had a trailer wired into my 2001 Ambassador today. When I got the motorhome back to my storage area my wife noticed we had no brake lights on the trailer or the motorhome. I'm figured it was a fuse so I started checking the fuse boxes. I cannot find a fuse labeled brake light. I checked the fuses in the front drivers side bay and the fuse box in the rear inverter bay with no luck. can anyone help? I'm not a wrench but I hate to pay camping world to find & replace a fuse.
__________________

coachk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-22-2013, 07:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
thrushl's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando, Flordia
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachk View Post
I had a trailer wired into my 2001 Ambassador today. When I got the motorhome back to my storage area my wife noticed we had no brake lights on the trailer or the motorhome. I'm figured it was a fuse so I started checking the fuse boxes. I cannot find a fuse labeled brake light. I checked the fuses in the front drivers side bay and the fuse box in the rear inverter bay with no luck. can anyone help? I'm not a wrench but I hate to pay camping world to find & replace a fuse.

Don't sweat it. I had them do the complete toad package, tow-bar, skid plate, lights, etc when I bought the MH. That night I found I had NO lights on the rear of either. Seems they wired it wrong. Shame on me for not double checking the Pros. I now know better at CW

Good luck....
__________________

__________________
Leo & Cindy Thrush (aka "RVM46") Cats: Latte, Jelly Bean
"There are many things given to us in this life we do not deserve. What we do with such things; that is the true mark of a man!"
2005 Holiday Rambler, 45' PGA 2007 Jeep Liberty in trailer
thrushl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
F239141's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Squaw Valley, CA / Fairhope, AL
Posts: 371
could be your brake light switch

does the turns work on the trailer / motorhome and does the motorhome have amber turn signals in the back or are they on the same bulb as the brake
__________________
Good Sam Lifetime Member 269454
F239141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by F239141 View Post
could be your brake light switch

does the turns work on the trailer / motorhome and does the motorhome have amber turn signals in the back or are they on the same bulb as the brake
I have all lights & turn signals working, just no brake lights. I also have the amber turn signal lights above my brake lights.
coachk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
F239141's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Squaw Valley, CA / Fairhope, AL
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachk View Post
I have all lights & turn signals working, just no brake lights. I also have the amber turn signal lights above my brake lights.

Look into the brake light switch then then, if the lights flash with turn on the trailer, then more than likely there is no short in the trailer causing a blown fuse
__________________
Good Sam Lifetime Member 269454
F239141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks F231949, I'll check. I'd still like to know where the brake light fuse is located in my unit.
coachk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
F239141's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Squaw Valley, CA / Fairhope, AL
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachk View Post
Thanks F231949, I'll check. I'd still like to know where the brake light fuse is located in my unit.

Some used none, but an auto reset circuit breaker


Maybe try to contact HRC
__________________
Good Sam Lifetime Member 269454
F239141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 05:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 112
CoachK.....ever figure the problem out???

I'm having the exact same problem, but to be honest, I don't know with certainty if the brake light problem existed before I plugged in the tow dolly. ;(
__________________
2002 Monaco Knight
fortisi876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 07:50 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jobert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 342
We had an 01 Ambassador 38pbt and it sticks in my mind that there may have been a square bussman box in one of the 2 right rear compartments behind the axle that had some fuses in them that dealt with lights. You have to remove the covers to see the fuses, they had 2-4 clips on them. Another place to look is in the front left compartment where the wiring is, but look outside the major fuse box at some items that look like relays. Small 1 1/4 square boxes, ours had several in that compartment and some in the right rear compartment also and some of those contained a fuse dealing with lighting. The 4 way flashers were in one of those kind of boxes. Hope this may help, Happy Trails Bert
__________________
2006 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV 42' Tag, ISL 400, Residential Refrig, 10KW Onan, Bosch Washer/220V Dryer (previously 2003 American Tradition 40W)
Jobert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:06 PM   #10
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 15,308
"fortisi876"......Take a look in the run bay (under driver's window) and under the big black fuse box. There should be two smaller boxes that say "Monaco 1" and Monaco 2". Your brake light fuses should be in one of the boxes. They're marked on the front cover.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:01 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,529
It should be in "Monaco 2" box... Bottom/right and from the looks, it may not be a fuse but some sort of relay/solenoid
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
3"girls" (2 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie & Emily (12/26/2017)
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:40 AM   #12
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Crown Point, IN
Posts: 50
Brake lights not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachk View Post
I have all lights & turn signals working, just no brake lights. I also have the amber turn signal lights above my brake lights.
I know it's been awhile since you posted this but thought I'd shout this out for other people who might have the same problem; ours went out also. It's the marker fuse. The brake lights work off that. Cost us a little time and some help from this website but we did only need a $1.00 fuse.
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler DST
Pop and Bees
Crown Point, IN
Bees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 06:05 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 40
If it was I, I would take it back to the installer. If you had lights before he has done something wrong. Im sure they world not charge to fix something they did.
JHowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
I too would recommend you have the installer fix it.

If the unit is on a Workhorse chassis, there may be a box under the "hood" it has a plain black cover, no markings at all, but it is about the same size as the Intelletec battery control Center box. Same type of cover (Comes off the same way) the brake light fuse is in there.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, fuse



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×