Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-13-2010, 09:35 PM   #1

Bringing it back to life

I have a 2001 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ. I bought this coach new and used it quite a bit until about 2005. Then off to storage, and unfortunately, I neglected it.

I got it out and brought it home, cleaned it up best I could inside and out and then took it to a local dealer/service center. They seem to be VERY nice folks and the owner of the place was very enthusiastic about helping me get my coach back on the road.

Fortunately, all the systems I've checked out seem to still work. After I replaced the engine batteries and house batteries, the engine restarted and the generator started. The tires, miraculously, have no weathering or cracks - even though they are 9 years old.

We did have a couple leaks. Damage seems to be under the refer (it's off the floor in a cabinet) and by the drivers window - the wall board inside seems to be bubbly. The carpet, of course is shot and full of mold. Some ceramic tile cracking. All the floors seem solid.

So far the dealer has re-sealed the roof and replaced the refer hood shroud and will take out the carpet and tile, fix the wall, and pull the refer and fix the that cabinet floor. He's also replacing my trashed slide-out awnings.

The dealer also took it in for engine oil, filter change, tranny flush, and will service the genset.

So he's my project list going forward -