Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-12-2011, 09:10 PM   #1

Buying Advice for Used 2000 Diplomat

I am in the middle of buying a used 2000 Diplomat and was wondering of someone could answer a few questions I have seen come up. My background is 8 years of Class A gasser MH and I am new to the DP Class A's.

1. What is the Idle Increase/Decrease switch used for, and how much change should you see in idle from lowest to highest?

2. Does the "Low Fuel" light work on this year and model of Monaco? If so, should the light test when you turn on the ignition key? At what gallon level should the light come on?

3. The A/C units on the roof say "Duo Therm". Does this mean that they are heat pumps also?

4. Is there such a thing as a chasis Maintenance Manual for these units?

5. Who would you normally go to for chassis maintenance? W Chicago Area?

6. Are most people using synthetics in the engine and trans?

6. What kind of mpg should I expect not pulling anything at 60mph? ( this unit has the ISC engine with MD3060 transmission).

I have learned alot from you folks and look forward to all the help this forum will provide as I will attempt to keep things running smoothly and economically.

I had a short conversation with Monaco in OR, and they indicated they will be reopening a service center in IN soon. This could be of help to me as I live near Chicago and Elkhart is not too far away.

Thanks in Advance for any help.