RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2012, 09:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Tizbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Il
Posts: 265
C.B. Antenna Cable is hidden where?

We have a (new to us) 2005 Monaco Knight 39 PDQ. I've looked under the dash expecting to find the CB antenna cable that supposedly is hidden under there somewhere from Monaco so that a CB could be used with the existing radio antenna. Can anyone offer some guidnace on this?
__________________

Tizbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-18-2012, 09:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,317
I don't think the radio antenna can be used for transmitting on the CB BAND. You would need an isolation of some sort so the RF isn't going back into the AM/FM radio. deSanford Ps call Navastar Monaco maybe the techs there can answer your question.
__________________

__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 9,313
My 2004 Monaco La Palma came with a separate CB antenna and the coax was under the dash on the drivers side.

Do you have two antennas or one?

If just one you may not have the CB capability.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Wannabe's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lower Alabama
Posts: 250
I, also, can't find my CB coax (?). I have the antenna and must have the wire. I've looked everywhere except the compartment under the transmission buttons, but I don't see anything going into it from the roof. Anyone with my model and year know where it is or what it looks like? Thanks!
__________________
Hugh, Fran and "Riley" the dog
2018 Cedar Creek 38EL Champagne
2017 Ford F350 SRW CC SWB 4x2
Wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,529
Checking the older Knight brochures, they all indicate "CB prep" as standard equipment so it's in there somewhere! Ours was in the maze of wires under the instrument panel.
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
3"girls" (2 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie & Emily (12/26/2017)
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jzick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,193
I think motorhome assemblers have a contest to see who can hide the CB antenna cable so it is hardest to find. It took me three hours of serious looking to find the cable when ours was new. It was in a bundle of wires beneath the dash on the driver's side. If your coach was CB ready it is there somewhere. Good luck.
jzick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
f14av8r's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa Area (sometimes!)
Posts: 494
My Winnebago came "CB Ready" but that meant the power harness was already installed and bundled behind the dash. No antenna and no coax.
__________________
Randy and Tina & pups: Cinnamon & Cookie (RIP Coco )
2020 Tiffin Wayfarer RW
Mercedes Benz Sprinter Chassis
f14av8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Freebird23's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Statesville, NC
Posts: 240
On my Neptune ,it was located above the steering col. the Power from the fuse panal was also at this location ,but the fuse was not pluged in (could have been removed by first owner),Also for CB to work correct you will need a NGP type ant.
Bill
__________________
HR--Neptune---Chev Tracker--Toad
Freebird23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:10 AM   #9
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
My 08 knight came with a separate antenna on the roof.
Haven't gotten a bc or looked for the wires inside yet.
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
HUCKSHAVEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: lakeland,florida
Posts: 115
I have not looked yet ,but I was told mine was in the compartment under the transmission control.
__________________
"HONEY" whats that noise ??? Ken and Cindy---- 08 MONACO CAMELOT 42'
HUCKSHAVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:50 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Lukeaa's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morro Bay, CA
Posts: 796
Even is you find the antenna cable, you will find the antenna is junk. If you really need a CB, go by the CB shop at a truck stop and get their advice on a working antenna.
__________________
Luke and Kathy & Charlie kitty, Morro Bay,CA
2007 Diplomat 40' SFT
2013 Honda CR-V "More is the enemy of enough."
Lukeaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Tizbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Il
Posts: 265
Yes, it has a second antenna, so I'll look again for the cable. Thanks!
Tizbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 10:58 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
My coax is in the panel left of the drivers seat, laying inthe bottom on the floor.
Lucylou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 03:39 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
SPA48's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 267
CB ant.

on most diplomats the cable is up under the dash in the area of the ignition key!!!! good luck

Steve


P.s. I see that some people still have Navistar on the brain for fix alls!!!!! I wonder if you get paid by per word or per reply???
__________________

__________________
SPA48
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/cust...pic30758_2.gif
2006 DIPLOMAT DST
SPA48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×