Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 08:08 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Fellow Owners,

Many of us have touted Coach-Net for on-the-road service and assistance.

While returning from Alaska through Oregon I stopped at a rest stop and
found radiator fluid leaking onto the ground. It was hot, late in the
day, the overflow tank was very hot, and I was not able to determine if
the coach could be safely driven to Grants Pass.

I called Coach-Net and explained my problem, that I needed someone with
more technical savvy than myself to analyze the problem and advise me
if the coach could be driven to Cummins in Grants Pass.

I had a very knowledgeable technical representative that surprised me
with his answer. He could send a mobile tech to assist me, but if I
then needed to be towed it would be at my cost. This was very
frustrating and I had no idea there was a restriction of ONE SERVICE
CALL PER INCIDENT. Like most of us I was not keen on the idea of a 34
mile tow down Highway 5 in the dark for a 40 foot coach.

I was lucky, I opted for the mobile tech and he found a loose upper
radiator hose that I could not see. Of course this was 3 hours later
and it was much cooler to get under there.

My caution is this, make sure you know your choices before you opt for
help from Coach-Net. You must choose between a tow or a mobile service
call RIGHT FROM THE START, it is either or. I just called their support center and had
this confirmed by a supervisor. Only one service call per incident is
covered by your policy. Had I known this at FMCA Pomona, I doubt I
would have purchased their 3 year extension special. And remember, when
the tech arrives, YOU will pay his labor fee which is usually about
$90+ per hour.

What to do? Consider having two on-the-road service policies in case a
mobile tech comes out and says you need a several thousand dollar tow.
Yes, this will take several hours or most of a day to hassle with two
service providers, but the Coach-Net either/or choice can leave you
with a damaged RV from an unnecessary tow, OR a large tow bill on your
own nickel that you did not expect.

OBTW, you will not find this restriction on the Coach-Net web site
information for members.

Also I just checked the Continental Club road service agreement and found the same restriction! I'm wondering if all the road support companies are putting this in to save costs??

Good Luck and Safe Travels,

jimlawman
jimlawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-28-2008, 08:08 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Fellow Owners,

Many of us have touted Coach-Net for on-the-road service and assistance.

While returning from Alaska through Oregon I stopped at a rest stop and
found radiator fluid leaking onto the ground. It was hot, late in the
day, the overflow tank was very hot, and I was not able to determine if
the coach could be safely driven to Grants Pass.

I called Coach-Net and explained my problem, that I needed someone with
more technical savvy than myself to analyze the problem and advise me
if the coach could be driven to Cummins in Grants Pass.

I had a very knowledgeable technical representative that surprised me
with his answer. He could send a mobile tech to assist me, but if I
then needed to be towed it would be at my cost. This was very
frustrating and I had no idea there was a restriction of ONE SERVICE
CALL PER INCIDENT. Like most of us I was not keen on the idea of a 34
mile tow down Highway 5 in the dark for a 40 foot coach.

I was lucky, I opted for the mobile tech and he found a loose upper
radiator hose that I could not see. Of course this was 3 hours later
and it was much cooler to get under there.

My caution is this, make sure you know your choices before you opt for
help from Coach-Net. You must choose between a tow or a mobile service
call RIGHT FROM THE START, it is either or. I just called their support center and had
this confirmed by a supervisor. Only one service call per incident is
covered by your policy. Had I known this at FMCA Pomona, I doubt I
would have purchased their 3 year extension special. And remember, when
the tech arrives, YOU will pay his labor fee which is usually about
$90+ per hour.

What to do? Consider having two on-the-road service policies in case a
mobile tech comes out and says you need a several thousand dollar tow.
Yes, this will take several hours or most of a day to hassle with two
service providers, but the Coach-Net either/or choice can leave you
with a damaged RV from an unnecessary tow, OR a large tow bill on your
own nickel that you did not expect.

OBTW, you will not find this restriction on the Coach-Net web site
information for members.

Also I just checked the Continental Club road service agreement and found the same restriction! I'm wondering if all the road support companies are putting this in to save costs??

Good Luck and Safe Travels,

jimlawman
jimlawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 08:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,412
Jimlawman...
Thanks for sharing your experience. I am sure it will save many others from what you had to experience. I am glad that it worked out ok in the end.

Ok... can I give you some "Monaco Karma"? You have more than earned it!


MM



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 08:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacmat's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 168
Thanks for the tip.

But I guess you were lucky, the Tech was able to repair on site your motorhome. No parts were required.

If I ever have such a situation, I will ask immediately to be towed and not take any chances with a tech.
__________________
Monaco Diplomat
jacmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 11:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
AndrewC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 226
On march 2008 I had a problem on my KSDP
We had a frozen alternator when we leave Dauphin Island campground i forget to start it évery two week like i should do.
I phone coach net for a road service and they dont want to send me a road service mécanic and thet send me a tow truck and the tow truck man dont put back correctly the driving shaft.
I had my alternator change at Mobile and i drove to Myrtle Beach without problem.
Seven weeks later I left Myrtle to come home in Quebec and i had a Driving shaft problem everything broke and the driving shaft hit my transmission pan and make a big hole on the bottom and make a hole on one air bag and broken air hose so immagine when a phone Spartan to give them the second bad news i was stoke on hyway 17 close to the 95 thy towe me to Western Branch Diesel and fixe éveryting.I stay there 6 days on a motel`.I left Richmond and came back home and i had an appointment with my dealer to do minor thing on the warrenty.When they take my coach inside on the lift believe it or not the driving shaft fall down Why because the mecanician at Western branch install the driving shaft the wrong side they where an arrow with the part say forward and on a Pusher forward is in the back so call Spartan again and they ad to send an other driving shaft to my dealer to fixe it right
If at the beginning at Dauphin Island if they
send me the road service to change the alternator and the belt immagine all the problems I will be saving so for me next time road service
André Charest St Sauveur Québec
__________________
Andrew from Qubec Ca NKK#16343
2004 Kountry Star 3904 Cummins 330 ISC towing a Jeep Cherooke Trail Hawk 2016,Blue Ox.and Buddy Brake ,TMS,
AndrewC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 12:41 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SargeW's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,474
Jim,

I understand your concerns and thanks for the heads up. However, I chose CoachNet because they were the only ones to offer any kind of tech help before sending a tow. I have used them twice and have been extremely pleased with their service. I will keep your tip in mind though for any future issues (that I hope never come.)

Sarge
__________________
Marty and Diane, Fulltiming!
2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40 SP
2018 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
mytripjournal.com/rvnchick2021
SargeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 01:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DCTENT's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Young America, Minnesota
Posts: 370
SO FAR!!!!!!!!!I have not needed Coach Net, I'am sure I will in the future, THANKS for the Heads-Up!
KINDA_ makes Me wish I had read the small print!!!!
__________________
45' Newmar Essex, Towing 24' Trailer, 2007 Mini Cooper Conv as well as Street Legal Golf Cart inside.
Anyone wanna play Golf??.
DCTENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:56 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 272
This has been my experience with Good Sam ERS. Broke down on I26 on a Sunday afternoon. They tried to find a Tech. None available so got a tow truck to take me to the nearest campground. Next day arranged for a Tech to have a look. Much more than he could handle. They then arranged to have it towed to the nearest Ford Truck Dealer.
__________________
2004 CRV
Brake Buddy Blue Ox Aventa II
Ottawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
LVJ58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,297
Excellent information Jim, thanks for the heads up.

We do have another ERS with our coach insurer, Foremost
.
__________________
Jim & SherrySeward

2000 Residency 3790 v10 w/tags 5 Star tune & Banks system Suzuki XL7 toad
LVJ58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
TRAKKER's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chatsworth CA
Posts: 247
When my 07 Alpine was nearly new, after about four trips, it would not crank. Battery, relays etc seemed good. Called Coach Net, they did not give me a choice and sent a tow truck. Because of generator slide mechanism, he could not use an axle lift so he went back to his shop and tried a wheel lift. Still could not hook up. Called Coach Net and they said they would send a different tow truck. Not eager to have my rig towed, I asked for a tech. They said no, tow truck only. I called Cummins and he suggested crawling under and jumping the starter so I could drive it in. Poking around the solenoid, the signal wire came loose in my hand. Took a while to find the right nut and get it attached, but it started right up.
__________________
2018 Tiffin Allegro 36LA
Toad is 95 Tacoma or 03 Jeep wrangler
TRAKKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
RVThere's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,652
One other thing to remember is Good Sam and AAA, can't go onto Toll roads. (I'm not sure about Coach Net).

I spent 20 minutes on the phone with Good Sam ERS once trying to explain where I was when they realized they could not send out a tow to the Mass. Turnpike.

I had to pay the towing bill out of my pocket and then fill out some forms with Good Sam ERS after the fact and finally got reimbursed.

So make sure you save your towing receipts if you break down on a toll road!
__________________
Tom and Katharine
'07 Winnebago Tour 40TD, 400hp Cummins
'17 Winnebago View 24V, '02 R-Vision B+
RVing for 20 years & 200,000+ miles
RVThere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 02:53 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
blacktie.shooter's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, USA (WA, that is) the first one!
Posts: 302
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by jimlawman:
Fellow Owners,

Many of us have touted Coach-Net for on-the-road service and assistance.

While returning from Alaska through Oregon . . .

jimlawman </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I lost power steering on an I84 on-ramp, got stopped, and found, as I knew I would, the broken belt under the front of the coach. Called Coachnet, told them all I needed was a tech with a belt. They said, "Be sure, we only pay for one call. If it turns out to be something else, it will be for your account."

I decided not to take the chance, and let them tow it 25 miles into The Dalles. Glad I did. It was the belt, alright, but it was a frozen belt tensioner that melted it in two.

This was my second call to Coachnet, both were handled very well, and I definitely have no problem with the one-pay only policy. I don't see how I could expect them to send techs, and then pay for the tow also, if the tech can't handle it - EXCEPT - when it is by their choice, and not mine.
__________________
Ken & Carolee, 1994 36' Pace Arrow/Ford 7.5L, Mobil 1 full syn & Banks Pack. Towing a 1999 Saturn SL2 with Roadmaster Sterling All-Terrain & Brake Buddy.
blacktie.shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 09:52 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 219
I had a tire go flat - in my driveway. They found a fellow to come out, but he did not have a strong enough power wrench to remove the lug nuts. I called Coach Net again and they sent out someone else with the proper equipment and I didn't have to pay for either. I think the first guy thought he could do it because he said he did motor home. However, I wonder if he did class C only. I think it should have been his nickle because he really was not equipped like he said he was. Don't know how that went down. I have been very happy with CoachNet
__________________
Barb, BenBen (at Rainbow Bridge), Jane, Willow, Lilly, and the recent foster failure Rosie
2014 Palazzo 33.2
kokosfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 03:25 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 480
For what it's worth, I had a problem with my p[personal car nd called CoachNet. They towed the vehicle to my shop. The shop fixed it and I picked it up the next day. On the way back home, the engine died and wouldn't start sue to another separate issue. I called CoachNet again and they offered to tow it back to the shop. I informed them that everything was now closed. They offered to tow it and us to our house and the lady on the phone stated that she would OK it to be towed back to the shop in morning, in spite of the 1 item per call issue the OP stated.
When I called in the morning, I was told "sorry, one tow per incident". I stated that the last CoachNet rep I had spoken with had said she would OK it. The new person checked and the tow was OK'd. Can't beat the service IMHO.
Joe
__________________
Joe & Sherri
2004 Winnebago Adventurer 37B
UltraPower
JWatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newer Coach Owners, Our Coach-Net from WRV IS NOT VALID!!! dgerstel Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 04-19-2008 11:52 AM
Caution- Road Kill Dennis Lind Country Coach Owners Forum 2 01-03-2008 05:59 AM
Coach-Net Routing Service FloraBama iRV2.com General Discussion 5 01-11-2005 03:01 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.