Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2021, 06:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 4
Coach trips shore power breaker

Hi Everyone
I have a new to me 2004 HR Navigator 40PBT. Prior to bringing her home, I had an electrician install a 50 amp receptacle outside my garage for the coach. This is a dedicated line with the 50A receptacle the only device on that circuit. The problem I'm having is when I plug the coach's power cable into the receptacle, it trips the 50A GFI breaker in my house. If I plug the coach into a separate 15 amp circuit (using a dogbone adapter) I can get power to the coach. We (me and electrician) immediately suspected the 50 A breaker and changed it. We have also confirmed that the 50A receptacle is wired correctly. Even after changing the breaker it is still tripping with the 50A power cord plugged in. I have tested the 50A circuit by plugging in an appliance (again using dogbone adapter) not connected to the coach and it works without problem and no tripping of the breaker. The only difference I see between the 15A and 50A circuits that I'm using is the 50A has a GFI built into the breaker. The electrician cannot find anything wrong and suspects the problem may be with the coach.
Why does the 15A circuit work and not the 50A? Is there something on the coach that I'm not aware of that would trip a GFI. I doubt this is the case as most if not all campgrounds would have a GFI on the pedestal.
Any thoughts as to what I'm missing or doing wrong?
Benny20037 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-21-2021, 06:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,545
Why in the world did he wire the 50 amp RV outlet through a GFI??


Am I correct in assuming that it is the GFI that trips, not a breaker from excessive amp draw?



Remove the GFI breakers and use two standard "pinned" 50 amp breakers in your house breaker box.


And, I am sure you have confirmed:


Outer straights are hots-- L1 and L2
Center straight is neutral
Center round is ground.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 06:28 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 4
The 50A breaker has its own GFI built into it and I believe the GFI is tripping and not due to overload (15A circuit does not get overloaded).
Yes, have confirmed L1 and L2, ground and neutral.
Benny20037 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 06:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
appsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 181
Some of the really knowledgeable electrical people will be along shortly to answer your questions in depth. However, having stayed in literally hundreds of RV park and pubic park campgrounds I have NEVER seen a 50 amp GFI BREAKER used in the pedestal. Many parks have a 110 volt 20 amp GFI outlet but not GFI breakers.
__________________
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2013 Jeep Wrangler
appsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 06:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dunrollin's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: FL
Posts: 131
I can also assure you my motorhome would trip your breaker. Someday I might try plugging it into a GFI breaker and just activate 1 inside breaker at a time and see if I can figure out which circuit (or circuits) is causing this. Someday, but it is way down on my list.
__________________
2002 Damon Escaper 3126E Caterpillar, Allison 6 speed.
Dunrollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 06:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,720
My RV did not play well with GFCI's when I had the refrigerator on (Norcold). It would operate on a standard outlet.

I would swap the 50 amp GFCI breaker to a standard breaker.



I installed my own 50 amp outlets (4 of them to be exact) and none of them are GFCI. 2 of the these I installed while building the new house and the electrical inspector approved of these one of which is in the garage and one on the exterior of the garage.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 06:51 PM   #7
Happy to be here!
 
vyndance's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bear Valley Springs CA
Posts: 33
The 50 amp supply to the RV is a feeder not a branch and as such is not required to have a GFCI. i think NEC 210.?.? Have him install a 2 pole 50.
__________________
Bob
2004 Monaco Signature Castle. S60.
vyndance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 07:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,783
Ditto, ditch the GFI breaker.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2021, 07:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27,478
50 amp GFCIs are for swimming pools and hot tubs, not RVs.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2021, 06:17 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 4
Thank you all. Looks like I'll have my electrician change the breaker.
Benny20037 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2021, 06:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 418
I might consider changing electrician along with the breaker
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 04:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 224
The inverter may be what is causing the GFCI to trip. With my Trace, when not energized in charge mode the relays in the inverter bond the ground to the neutral ( as is required by code for a separately derived systems ) creating the ground fault that trips the gfci. This is illustrated in the circuit diagram on the inverter. As far as the sparky goes - codes are changing rapidly, if your code authority is under the 2020 NEC - read here: https://iaeimagazine.org/features/sy...-the-2020-nec/
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 06:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 418
to my knowledge no GFCI requirement in NEC for 50A or 30A Rv receptacles
installed indoors or outdoors
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 06:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 418
After reading the link to the IAI document posted by Kurt I would now say that GFCI receptacles up to 50A with voltages up to 150V to ground would require GFCI protection, if your locality has adopted the 2020 code revisions.


Last code seminar I attended was 2019 and the 2017 NEC code was in effect.

Thank you Kurt for bringing me up to date on recent code change for 2020

will look for publications addressing the 2020 code changes to bring me up to date

Do not do much electrical work any more but still should stay up on code changes Retired 16 years ago
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellitec switch trips shore power breaker. VaDreamer RV Systems & Appliances 13 09-02-2020 02:10 PM
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 10:53 PM
Shore power trips house breaker Donald 56 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 04-14-2016 05:30 AM
Trying to start generator trips shore power breaker Sunovabeach Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 08-30-2015 09:11 AM
Sub panel breaker trips while on shore power. Eric D National RV Owner's Forum 4 10-28-2009 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.