RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2013, 04:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Cruise control

Can anyone help?..
I have a 2001 Monaco diplomat 38', and when traveling on cruise control everything is fine. If I hit the brake pedal to slow or over ride the cruise control, then it blows the brake light fuse... Has anyone suffered this problem before, or has anyone got a full wiring diagram of this model of coach?

Thanks in advance.. Stu..
stunette is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2013, 07:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildmandmc's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Florida Cooters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: florida west coast
Posts: 231
could be few things, as for wiring diagram, google it, should come up as a pdf file.
__________________
Winnebago Owners Group ,Itasca 2000 DP
National Member of the Defenders Law Enforcement Motorcycle Club,PC Guru
wildmandmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Trace the wire from the brake switch. It must be routed so that it has chaffed and shorted somewhere.
__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:48 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks but have thought of that, but the bake light fuse does not blow on its own, only when cruise control is engaged..
stunette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,938
I believe your cruise control is controlled by the engine ECM, Do you have a TOAD hooked up when this happens? and if so does it blow the fuse when no TOAD is being towed?
__________________
2012 Essex 4544 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006 Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
macantic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Aiken,SC
Posts: 1,025
Cobra1 is trying to tell you that there is two different wires coming off of the brake switch,one goes to brake lights and one goes to the cruise control. trace that wire.
__________________
Good Sam Life Members
Served in U.S.A.F.
macantic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 09:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Thanks. That is what I meant to state.
__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 09:33 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
No I don't have a toad, although I do carry a motorcycle on a rack.. However it started blowing the fuse on my way home after a 2000 mile trip..
stunette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 04:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Stop and think here......."those possible chaffed wires" are there all the time and always in the circuit coming from the two part brake switch. So if the fuse doesn't blow when the cruise control is off then it cannot be a bad or chaffed wire. The problem has to be caused by something that is causing ecessiivd current draw only when the cruise control is on. That can either be the engine ECU or hopefully just the wrong size fuse in the circuit. I like the question about if it only happens with the toad connected. If it doesn't do it without the toad then try going up one size on the fuse. If it has a 5 amp the try a 7.5 amp
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 01:26 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Right.. The brake light fuse does not blow when foot brake is applied on normal running..
The brake light fuse blows when foot brake is applied whilst in cruise control mode..
The fuse for brake light circuit is 20 amp, which is standard recommendation.
You cannot put a bigger fuse in & hope for the best. I have done thousands of miles in this rig & this has just started happening, so in my mind a wire has rubbed through. This why I want to find a full wiring diagram for the vehicle.
stunette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 05:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunette View Post
Right.. The brake light fuse does not blow when foot brake is applied on normal running..
The brake light fuse blows when foot brake is applied whilst in cruise control mode..
The fuse for brake light circuit is 20 amp, which is standard recommendation.
You cannot put a bigger fuse in & hope for the best. I have done thousands of miles in this rig & this has just started happening, so in my mind a wire has rubbed through. This why I want to find a full wiring diagram for the vehicle.
There are at least three of the standard 87A relays that I can see in the wiring diagram for our coach that are associated with the cruise control:

Allison Brake Signal Rely
Aux Brake Cruise Control Override Relay
Cruse Cancel Relay

One of these relays could have failed in a state that could cause a fuse to blow when the brakes are applied with the cruise on. I believe they are all located in the front run bay. You might purchase a new relay and start swamping them out one at a time to see if you can eliminate the problem. If the problem goes away then you have found the bad relay. Throw it in the trash.

I know this is just a hunch but it is kinda like being stuck in a backup on the interstate. The situation is a lot easier to tolerate if the traffic is moving even a little. At least you will have something to do towards attempting to solve the problem

Good luck,

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2020 Chevy Sonic
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.