RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2018, 04:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Emerald Point RV Resort
Posts: 7
Cruise Control Doesn't Work

I have owned a 2006 Monaco Executive for about 6 months and the cruise doesn't work. Cruise light comes on but will not engage. When the dash light is on the Aladdin says the cruise is off. When trying to use the cruise to raise the RPMs it also doesn't work. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Jim and Kathy
2006 Monaco Executive Sandia
2019 Ford Fusion Hybrid Toad
MiltonBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-11-2018, 04:40 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 4,632
If you have the SmartWheel, there are troubleshooting tips in this manual.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SmartWheelTroubleshooting.pdf (331.0 KB, 36 views)
__________________

__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco History/Chassis Info https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*SMC-Bvr-Mnco Wiring/Air Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 873
cruise

If you have a tail/stop light out it won't work.
FLYING BUTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 05:09 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
pduggs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Somewhere Warm
Posts: 705
Make sure your engine brake is off. Cruise control won't work if the engine brake is engaged.
__________________
2008 Dynasty Squire
Paul & Luci
Fulltimers
pduggs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 07:34 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 11,596
There are some spade terminals on the back of the brake pedal. You can see them from the generator compartment, look up and slightly right. If there is a bad connection there, you won't be able to set the cruise control. Take them off, clean them and apply grease. It might fix your problem.

There are ring terminals and spade terminals on mine. The spade terminals are up and to the right behind the thick black wire bundle in the upper right corner of the picture.

__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 10:40 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,916
Hi Jim & Kathy! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Don't have a solution for that but noticed that you are kinda new on IRV2 and wanted to say hello! Have fun and keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 11:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,108
Another if. If you have an optional Eaton Vorad Smart cruise system, it must be operational for regular cruise to function.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 03:37 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Druff's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 5
As another thought check the wires inside or your steering wheel horn cover from switches. When we got ours the wipers only worked very intermittingly. It was the wires in the wheel that were a little stripped from the clips in there and were shorting out across each other.
__________________
2006 Monaco Camelot
2017 MKZ Hybrid
Druff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
Another if. If you have an optional Eaton Vorad Smart cruise system, it must be operational for regular cruise to function.
Bingo, although I'm not sure if it affects raising the RPM but I think it does. I'll try to test that and report.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 10:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypoxia View Post
Bingo, although I'm not sure if it affects raising the RPM but I think it does. I'll try to test that and report.
The SmartWheel function of raising the RPM does work when the Vorad is turned off.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 08:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmcd View Post
There are some spade terminals on the back of the brake pedal. You can see them from the generator compartment, look up and slightly right. If there is a bad connection there, you won't be able to set the cruise control. Take them off, clean them and apply grease. It might fix your problem.

There are ring terminals and spade terminals on mine. The spade terminals are up and to the right behind the thick black wire bundle in the upper right corner of the picture.



That fixed my inop cruise years ago. Good tip.
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:02 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Windecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Logan Indiana (Near Cincinnati Ohio)
Posts: 678
Only if you don't have the foot pedal.
Windecker

Quote:
Originally Posted by pduggs View Post
Make sure your engine brake is off. Cruise control won't work if the engine brake is engaged.
__________________
RV #5 1999 Monaco Signature Slide ISM 11 450
RV #6 2005 Monaco Executive 43PBQ Detroit Series 60
Honda Fit, Odyssey or Cargo trailer in tow.
Windecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:06 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Windecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Logan Indiana (Near Cincinnati Ohio)
Posts: 678
Mine stopped working (Idle RPM, Cruise and wipers). Was the connection at the smart wheel box in the forward run box. I cleaned the corroded to green pins and it fixed it. Since then, sometimes my cruise does not work but I believe that to be a different issue because shutting the engine off and restarting seems to always fix it...for now!
Windecker.
__________________
RV #5 1999 Monaco Signature Slide ISM 11 450
RV #6 2005 Monaco Executive 43PBQ Detroit Series 60
Honda Fit, Odyssey or Cargo trailer in tow.
Windecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 01:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,054
On s related note is there an adjustment for cruise disconnect? On my car a light press of the brake disconnects the cruise. On the dynasty it takes a pretty firm pedal press.
__________________

__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P32 Cruise control doesn't work gunterm Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 20 05-28-2017 07:14 PM
New excited owner but my cruise control doesn't work gentilebrian Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 02-11-2016 10:27 AM
Speedometer, odometer and cruise doesn't work JMRAZZ Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 10-17-2014 07:09 AM
Cruise Control/Wiper Control/Bright Light Control cnjcampione Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-21-2011 07:38 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×