RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2014, 03:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,262
Dash radio in Beaver doesn't work when key is off

My radio works fine when the key is on or in acc but doesn't work with the key off. The manual indicates that all I need to do is to turn on the battery cutoff switch and turn the radio on....but that isn't' working. Do any of you Beaver or Monaco owners have a dash radio that works when the ignition key is off? If so, am I doing something wrong here?....
__________________

__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-05-2014, 03:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kketterling's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stockton, California
Posts: 1,189
Mine works the same way. Don't think it was designed to work with out the ignition being on or in Acc position.
__________________

__________________
Ken, Chris & Toby (Golden Retriever)
2009 Beaver Contessa
1984 LS1 CJ7 & 2017 Yamaha YXZ SS SE
kketterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 03:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,708
My coach Has a switch that selects the radio to run via the ignition ignition switch position or bypasses and is powered regardless of the ignition switch position.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 03:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,761
Not sure without checking my owners manual, because we don't use this feature regularly, but, you might try repositioning the switch in the bedroom that turns off the dash radio. Our maid has accidentally repositioned that switch when she was making the bed. That will turn off the dash radio.

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"A superior pilot is one who uses his superior judgment to avoid situations which might require the demonstration of his superior skills."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 04:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by kketterling View Post
Mine works the same way. Don't think it was designed to work with out the ignition being on or in Acc position.
Well if yours is that way then I'm guessing there is nothing broken but maybe just one of those things that don't actually function as documented.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 777 Driver View Post
Not sure without checking my owners manual, because we don't use this feature regularly, but, you might try repositioning the switch in the bedroom that turns off the dash radio. Our maid has accidentally repositioned that switch when she was making the bed. That will turn off the dash radio.

Take care,
Stu
Thanks Stu but I don't have a radio on/off switch in the bedroom...it is actually just a switch for the bedroom speakers and I tried toggling that on and off.
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 05:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 64
My 2004 Beaver has the same problem. The key must be in the accessory position for the radio to play. Wish there was a way to play the radio with the keys off
jbesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 05:22 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
norcalhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 23
Just purchased our new (used) 2002 Monaco Dynasty Baroness. I was surprised to discover the radio works with the ignition and acc off. Still discovering the various switches throughout the coach.
norcalhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 05:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 522
Mine works without the key.

I have a switch on the dash and switch in the bedroom. Either one can turn the radio power on or off.
__________________
Chris & Jo
2020 Forest River Sabre 38RDP.
2016 GMC Sierra 2500HD
chawkins99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 06:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Craig_R's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Huson, MT
Posts: 1,043
My manual also says that the Battery Cutoff Switch must be on. I believe that refers to the master battery isolation switch back in the battery compartment. Mine only works with the key in the Accessory or On position also. My switch in the bedroom only controls the bedroom speakers.
__________________
Craig & Donna
2005 Beaver Monterey Laguna IV (aka The Hotel Monterey)
2011 Jeep Liberty Limited
Craig_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 06:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 192
Radio

Hi, the fix is fairly simple depending on your skillset with 12 volt power. Go to the front run bay and find an empty fuse location on the portion of the main board that is marked non-switched. Pull a single #12 wire up to the area by your left knee then extend it to the area behind the radio. Determine which wire is the current switched power wire to your radio either red or black and cut the wire and join it to the new wire run from the front run bay. The current ground should not have to be touched. Install a new fuse on the new fuse location, 15 amp, and your fix should allow your radio to play any time.
Good. Luck
D Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
tomckeon's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 270
Ours only works with the key in "on" or "ACC" position however, since the key switch appears to be a GM product the key will come out in any position. so if you really wanted to, you could leave it in ACC and take the keys out. (watching battery drain). Our bedroom switch only controls the rear speakers. When we are parked, we typically use the DVD/CD/Tuner surround system rather than the dash system.
__________________
Tom and Gail McKeon
2007 Beaver Contessa 43' Tag CAT C9
2010 Jeep Wrangler,2015 HD "Ultra Limited"on Hydralift
tomckeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 09:10 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
There should be a 2nd toggle switch may be 2 or 3 position.. May be labeled:
MAIN (it will be in this position)
(optional setting, OFF)
AUX (Switch to this position to run radio off HOUSE batteries).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 09:38 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,643
Our Georgetown has a two-position switch on the dash (not labelled!) which sets the radio to run off either the chassis battery or the house batteries. It would be a fairly simple add-on for a DIY if your rig doesn't have such a switch someplace.
__________________
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and ex-RVers.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 09:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 817
My radio is wired into the house batteries and it should be easy to pull your radio wire out
of where it is and move it over to the house battery
__________________

oldguy70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beaver, dash, radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Dash Radio - Mechanical Issues ProjectPro Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 13 09-26-2014 01:55 PM
adventurer 38t factory in dash radio? Milom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 09-21-2014 11:48 AM
Crappy dash radio Sleepy Newmar Owner's Forum 11 08-30-2014 07:38 PM
Looking for Beaver Electrical Diagrams - CAT won't start VanDiemen23 Monaco Owner's Forum 1 11-02-2013 09:27 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×