Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2016, 10:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
adamfolger's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MotherLoad foothills approx.60 m.s east of Sacramento
Posts: 1,281
Discharge capacitors on out-of-the -box airconditioner?

I am ready to install my new Penguin 11 air conditioner. Dometic instructions for installing the new power module board say to discharge capasitors using a discharge tool before installing new board.

Question: Why would that be necessary on a new out on the box air conditioner that has not been connected to power? I cant find a capacitor discharge tool any where ( Lowes, Home Depot, etc. ) Dometic warns against using a screw driver. I just don't see why it would be necessary on a new install.
__________________
Full time since Nov 2012 RVM#41 Gary and Marian Hill 2001 Monaco Dynasty Jack 38' 370 hp ....If it ain't broke I can still fix it.
Like putting shoes on an octopuss, so are the days of our lives....
adamfolger is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2016, 04:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamfolger View Post
I am ready to install my new Penguin 11 air conditioner. Dometic instructions for installing the new power module board say to discharge capasitors using a discharge tool before installing new board.

Question: Why would that be necessary on a new out on the box air conditioner that has not been connected to power? I cant find a capacitor discharge tool any where ( Lowes, Home Depot, etc. ) Dometic warns against using a screw driver. I just don't see why it would be necessary on a new install.
Most likely the units are bench tested after manufacture and the capacitors could be partially charged. If you can locate the connections to the capacitors, use a voltmeter to test if they are charged. As an alternative to the screw driver method you could use (if you can find one) an incandescent light bulb to discharge the capacitors. If you have an old fashion work light with an incandescent bulb, attach pig tail wires to the plug and connect them across the capacitor. Before doing this make sure the work light is in the on position.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2022 Quantum JM31
2020 Chevy Sonic
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 06:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
adamfolger's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MotherLoad foothills approx.60 m.s east of Sacramento
Posts: 1,281
capacitors

Thanks Bob! Old work light should do the trick...and I have one!
__________________
Full time since Nov 2012 RVM#41 Gary and Marian Hill 2001 Monaco Dynasty Jack 38' 370 hp ....If it ain't broke I can still fix it.
Like putting shoes on an octopuss, so are the days of our lives....
adamfolger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 10:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,152
Or, you can just short across the terminals with a screwdriver. I never bother and haven't been bitten yet.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coleman Air Conditioner Capacitors ko4nrbs Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 01-08-2014 10:53 AM
power/ airconditioner on top MartySQ Vintage RV's 11 06-01-2012 10:29 PM
cover for airconditioner CharlieTwo MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 03-25-2012 10:07 PM
Basement AC Questions..motor capacitors smlranger Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 06-12-2011 03:47 PM
chassis airconditioner recharge? Old Blue Monaco Owner's Forum 4 04-11-2011 04:58 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.