Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2021, 03:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,198
Dish Network

Not very happy with Dish, Wally receiver. Two weeks ago arrived at a location where trees were blocking my satellite signal. I figured that wouldn't be a problem because I could watch pre-recorded content. When I tried to do, so I received a message on screen that the pre recorded content was unavailable. Being connected to the internet, I figured I could use the Netflix app on the Wally. It wasn't that the streaming was pixelated or jerky, there was the same message, different words, this time it was Netflix which "wasn't available", even though I had a good internet connection. The bedroom TV has Netflix built in and it received it fine, no pixelation, no jerkiness, buffering or other symptoms... and no error message blocking the app like the Wally did.

So I called Dish at the time and was told they had to "activate the feature" (as if it had never been before). But I had activated the Wally DVR feature about a year ago, and I told them that. The rep. acted like she didn't understand that it was a problem, not being able to watch prerecorded content when Sat signal is not coming in.... and having to reactivate an already activated system.

Today I turned everything on, no trees blocking signal now. Prerecorded content was available along with Netflix and other apps. When I called again today about the last week+ with no DISH Net, I want to learn how to avoid the past problems in the future.
I got the same story, no explanation of the real reason why their product will not allow either pre-recorded content (or apps) when not connected to satellite. One would think that the purpose of having a DVR feature and other apps like Netflix, in part, would be to be able to make use of their product when it cannot receive satellite signal. But no, all I got was conflating the requirement to "activate" with doing a "(re)activate" of features and pretending that buffering and pixxelation was the same thing as blocking an app.

I do not recall having the blocked pre-recordings with the old VIP211z. Does anyone know, did Dish change their method and policy but aren't admitting that? .... or should I dump the Wally and get an old VIP211. ... or, maybe just can the whole mess and just upgrade the front TV to a smart TV? (which is in the plan but had been low priority). One thing for sure, DISH net is 'lacking candor' about their product.
__________________
Rick P. '05 Signature
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2021, 06:04 PM   #2
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpasetto View Post
Not very happy with Dish, Wally receiver. Two weeks ago arrived at a location where trees were blocking my satellite signal. I figured that wouldn't be a problem because I could watch pre-recorded content. When I tried to do, so I received a message on screen that the pre recorded content was unavailable. Being connected to the internet, I figured I could use the Netflix app on the Wally. It wasn't that the streaming was pixelated or jerky, there was the same message, different words, this time it was Netflix which "wasn't available", even though I had a good internet connection. The bedroom TV has Netflix built in and it received it fine, no pixelation, no jerkiness, buffering or other symptoms... and no error message blocking the app like the Wally did.

So I called Dish at the time and was told they had to "activate the feature" (as if it had never been before). But I had activated the Wally DVR feature about a year ago, and I told them that. The rep. acted like she didn't understand that it was a problem, not being able to watch prerecorded content when Sat signal is not coming in.... and having to reactivate an already activated system.

Today I turned everything on, no trees blocking signal now. Prerecorded content was available along with Netflix and other apps. When I called again today about the last week+ with no DISH Net, I want to learn how to avoid the past problems in the future.
I got the same story, no explanation of the real reason why their product will not allow either pre-recorded content (or apps) when not connected to satellite. One would think that the purpose of having a DVR feature and other apps like Netflix, in part, would be to be able to make use of their product when it cannot receive satellite signal. But no, all I got was conflating the requirement to "activate" with doing a "(re)activate" of features and pretending that buffering and pixxelation was the same thing as blocking an app.

I do not recall having the blocked pre-recordings with the old VIP211z. Does anyone know, did Dish change their method and policy but aren't admitting that? .... or should I dump the Wally and get an old VIP211. ... or, maybe just can the whole mess and just upgrade the front TV to a smart TV? (which is in the plan but had been low priority). One thing for sure, DISH net is 'lacking candor' about their product.
I don't know if that is the case, but I did see another post similar to yours where the user could not get prerecorded or internet content if the dish could not receive a signal.

As for the "tech support" realize that these are just people answering the phone, looking up your account, typing in what you are telling them and then reading off a screen that says if this then that but when you do that you must do this and the this is what controls that and you have to do this for that to do that and then if this happens go to this and do that and then........

I could go on but the truth is the tech support people have no more idea how to run the thing than you do. They just have more computer screens and algorithms that send them in a direction the computer they are looking at thinks they should go.
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 06:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by amosnandy View Post
I don't know if that is the case, but I did see another post similar to yours where the user could not get prerecorded or internet content if the dish could not receive a signal.

As for the "tech support" realize that these are just people answering the phone, looking up your account, typing in what you are telling them and then reading off a screen that says if this then that but when you do that you must do this and the this is what controls that and you have to do this for that to do that and then if this happens go to this and do that and then........

I could go on but the truth is the tech support people have no more idea how to run the thing than you do. They just have more computer screens and algorithms that send them in a direction the computer they are looking at thinks they should go.
Your first paragraph verified what I suspected; that w/o satellite connection DishNet shuts services down, even though the internet connection is there and they can well determine if one's receiver is in fact 'active' in subscription. The tech support people have their scripts to tell them what to tell us. I was hoping they'd provide some was of keeping access to the services w/o satellite but with Internet. The techs told me the lie about the network "speed not being sufficient", (but somehow it was fine for computer and smartTV), and began 'talking over me with their answers when I was trying to make inquiries.

The supervisor was somewhat more arrogant, implying I had no right to expect pre-recorded content if the receiver was not connected to a satellite, because "i might not have an activated" subscription, even though the Wally was connected to the internet. I tried to explain wit the analogy of going to a store, paying for a product and then returning days later to pick it up and being refused because they didn't have a way to (check their computer, or didn't know how to do it.)

I'm not complaining about techs (or supervisors) not being experts. However, "talking over" a customer trying to find out answers or "talking down" to a customer implying that using paid-for services is somehow cheating, is just out of line.
__________________
Rick P. '05 Signature
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 05:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
miniedmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 114
I have run into this problem myself with netflix and DVR not working when you can't get a signal. We are on our 4th wally, I think they are just cheap junk. Every time we put the sat. up we have to restart the wally 4 times before it will come in.
My wife has the Dish app. on her phone and sometimes has to go in and reset the system on the app. to get it to work.
__________________
Eddie & Karen
2003 Holiday Rambler Imperial 41' PKDD - 2021 GMC Sierra AT4 Toad - RVI 3 Brake Control - Tire Minder TPMS
miniedmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 11:39 AM   #5
Senior Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniedmo View Post
I have run into this problem myself with netflix and DVR not working when you can't get a signal. We are on our 4th wally, I think they are just cheap junk. Every time we put the sat. up we have to restart the wally 4 times before it will come in.
My wife has the Dish app. on her phone and sometimes has to go in and reset the system on the app. to get it to work.
Lets all hope Elon keeps putting up them satellites so it won't be long before we can get Starlink in an RV

The back story I am getting is it is not going to be completely "mobile". I mean just turn it on and it finds the signal and works, but it sounds like there will be an app, and when you move from place to place you tell your Starlink where you are and then it goes out and gets a signal. A little more complicated than auto search on a sat antenna but not much.
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey
39K
Cat C7
amosnandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 02:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near St Louis, MO
Posts: 157
I have the Vip 211k with an external hard drive for DVR storage and it too will not show anything without receiving a satellite signal. I can't even receive local OTA programming when I'm under a tree. I have one "portable" satellite dish on the roof but carry a second one in my storage for the times here in Missouri where I'm assigned a site under a tree. The farther west I go, the less I need the one in storage.
DFord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 03:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Craig36's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 858
If you have a smart TV, you can stream Netfix, Amazon, etc with a hot spot. We have a Firestik on the TV and a Verizon Hotspot that we also use for secure internet.
__________________
Craig and Susan
Morgan Hill, CA 2007 Newmar Kountry Star 3910 towing a 1998 Ford Explorer. RVing since gas was 58 cents a gallon. Amateur Radio Operator (W6ADV) since 1962.
Craig36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Converting Motosat HD dish from Dish Network to Direct TV glennb100 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 03-22-2011 12:51 PM
Network Broadcast on Dish Network djhinds Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 10-15-2010 09:40 AM
New Dish for Dish Network? HELP! SewBzzzy Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 06-10-2008 03:10 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.