RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2018, 01:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 23
EEZ TPMS Repeater

I just bought the EEZ TPMS with 10 Anti Theft sensors and the repeater. I wanted to mount the repeater in the bedroom shirt closet and get the power from an adjacent reading light. My question: can I connect the repeater to continuous 12V DC or do I need to put in a switch so that I can turn it on when towing and off when not used.
Thanks for any advice.
Doug
__________________

__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat PRQ 400 HP Cummins ISL
2016 Ford F-150 4X4 5.0l TOAD
2013 Harley Davidson Tri Glide
Bigdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2018, 01:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
2 Stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren, Oregon
Posts: 2,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigdee View Post
I just bought the EEZ TPMS with 10 Anti Theft sensors and the repeater. I wanted to mount the repeater in the bedroom shirt closet and get the power from an adjacent reading light. My question: can I connect the repeater to continuous 12V DC or do I need to put in a switch so that I can turn it on when towing and off when not used.
Thanks for any advice.
Doug
Doug
I have TST system and it is about the same as your system. I wired mine into the closet light and it is on 100% of the time. I just removed the light base and wired into the main wires then replaced and mounted the repeater on the wall. At night I can see the red light if I look hard.
2 stroker
__________________

__________________
2006 Country Coach Inspire 360 40ft Genoa Designer Series, Samsung 197 RR
Cat C9--STEEL & COPPER Bolt Together Radiator w/ updated rubber mounting
SilverLeaf 330 Magnum 2812 PSW 2011 Ford Edge Sport-Air Force One
2 Stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
nehog's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Monadnock Region of New Hampshire
Posts: 1,061
My TM repeater is powered full time...
__________________
My name is Peter, and I'm never going to grow up.
- Winnebago Era 2010 Class B
- Holiday Rambler 2006 Ambassador 40-DFD Class A
nehog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,317
Powered all the time except when I put the rig in storage I disconnect all the batteries.
__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 522
Mine TST repeater is on all the time also in the closet. Recently read a number of threads saying not to put it in the closet because the mirrored doors will act as a shield. Personally mine seems to work fine
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix,Az
Posts: 428
I mounted mine in the battery box and just use alligator clips to one of the batteries for power. When parked for a while I just unhook the alligator clips.
__________________
2009 Holiday Rambler Navigator
Cummins ISX-650/1950-tq, Allison 4000 Sold...now shopping
2007 Lexus LX470
RVNewbie55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ZackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVNewbie55 View Post
I mounted mine in the battery box and just use alligator clips to one of the batteries for power. When parked for a while I just unhook the alligator clips.
X2!
ZackMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 02:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jleamo1's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 596
Doug, are you sure you need it? We run the EEZtire system and they told me I didn't need it with a 41' coach plus toad. One year later no issues.
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40PKD
with Residential refrigerator conversion
2014 Jeep Wrangler in tow, M&G brake system
jleamo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:57 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 23
No I am not sure, but the guy I talked to when I called EEZ prior to buying it told me I needed it, so I bought it! Oh well! I did mount it in my shirt closet and got power from a reading light that is on the adjacent wall. Just turn that light on and the repeater has power. I was concerned about it staying powered all the time.
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat PRQ 400 HP Cummins ISL
2016 Ford F-150 4X4 5.0l TOAD
2013 Harley Davidson Tri Glide
Bigdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
10Boomer's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,787
Last time at QZ, the dealer rep stated I shouldn’t need the repeater, but after 2 years owning the system, toad never reads all the time. I get partial front wheels only.
__________________
Perry & Julie: 2008 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ, 400ISL, Toad; 2015 Chevy Equinox.
10Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 07:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Monaco Wolfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington, Point Fosdick Area
Posts: 281
FYI

I bought EEZ in May 2017. Six of the sensors are the air thru type. The four on the toad are not. I recently discovered water has entered three of the coach batteries and have begun to rust the contacts. After contacting EEZ, they said to silicone the cover down and if I have any further problems with that. Send them back for new ones. Their warranty is good for three years. I see lots of rain in the N.W.. Maybe it's not as big a issue in the southern states.
__________________
2004 40' Monaco Windsor PDQ, Cummins 400hp ISL, 4 slides, Aqua-Hot, 1900 watts solar, Mini Cooper S, Gig Harbor, Washington
Monaco Wolfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 11:50 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix,Az
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monaco Wolfy View Post
FYI

I bought EEZ in May 2017. Six of the sensors are the air thru type. The four on the toad are not. I recently discovered water has entered three of the coach batteries and have begun to rust the contacts. After contacting EEZ, they said to silicone the cover down and if I have any further problems with that. Send them back for new ones. Their warranty is good for three years. I see lots of rain in the N.W.. Maybe it's not as big a issue in the southern states.
The only problem with using silicone is it becomes almost impossible to open the sensor to replace the battery. As my batteries only seem to last about 6 months that would be a major issue. Just my opinion but I would ask for new sensors while the warranty was still in effect.
__________________
2009 Holiday Rambler Navigator
Cummins ISX-650/1950-tq, Allison 4000 Sold...now shopping
2007 Lexus LX470
RVNewbie55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 859
I put mine in the rear engine compartment, wired it to a 12v source in the rear run box.
__________________
Rick P. '07 Signature
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 10:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
zo66's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 286
I mounted mine inside the rear run box and wired it to a 12v source. It works well.
__________________

__________________
2006 Monaco, Camelot 40 PDQ, 400 ISL
Watts links, Cross Braces, RF18
2012 Jeep Wrangler JKUR
zo66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tpms



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EEZ TPMS offers Newmar owners free Repeater StuartS Newmar Owner's Forum 8 08-23-2018 10:52 AM
EEZ TPMS Repeater location? Tall Tex Entegra Owner's Forum 27 07-26-2017 07:16 AM
EEZ TIRE 515/SP TPMS anyone using this Bill in FL Entegra Owner's Forum 4 05-17-2014 08:04 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×