Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2022, 08:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 533
electrical issue with radio installation

I decided to replace my original Magnadyne radio in my 2008 Knight 9900 series radio.

I decided to stay with Magnadyne as I read somewhere if you bought the radio directly fron Magnadyne they would make up the radio plug harness to meet installation requirements

I went with their M2 Multimedia model

They contacted me within a couple of days of placing order to find out what model coach and year the new radio was to be installed, they then provided the correct harness and plugs for my installation.

After installation ( fortunatley I left the radio out of the dash installation sleeve)
I started setting up the radio got a local radio station and proceeded to raise the volume of the radio, that is when the radio started shutting off and would start up again then do this continously until I lowered the volume it would stay on

I called Magnadyne customer support and was given to tech for troubleshooting the issue. first thing he wanted was to confirm the input voltage with a multimeter at the ground on the plug to the yellow wire which I did and, advised him that the voltage I measured was the same as the voltage on a digital voltage meter I had mounted into dash 13.2 V. ( radio was not on at that time) he then asked me to put a jumper wire between the Y & R on the radio plug I was doing that when I suddely lost power to my digital monitor on the dash and other 12V equipment

Told him I would call back when I cleared up the missing voltage

For some unknown reason the the solenoid for the 12v power in the coach had tripped, turned it back on with salesman switch

With everything back on including radio power I started checking voltages at the radio plug got about 12.0V radio would play until I raised the volume voltage would drop below 12V 11.8 - 11.7 found out that increasing volume increases power usage and with that increase the voltage drop was enough to affect radio ( on then off cycling) I suspected a bad ground, I located the chassis ground point, removed ground screw and wires cleaned them all replaced a couple of suspect terminals and reattached thinking I had surely cured the voltage drop issue. radio continued to cycle off on with volume up, ran a temporary ground from location in front run box Marked panel ground.
Radio functioned properly with volume turned up, will now install new ground wire directly to radio, Hope this will make all OK
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-04-2022, 05:47 AM   #2
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,808
This is a perfect example of how a digital voltmeter can trick you into thinking things are ok.

You are lucky in that the radio did not click off when first powered on. If it had been enough of a load to trip itself your digital voltmeter would not have been fast enough to catch it.

You did a great job chasing the ground issue. Since it is now working you probably have it back in the mount but to chase a bad ground, you must first find a good ground for your meters negative probe.

Then put the positive probe on the ground of the device in question. Any voltage showing up on the ground side is an indication of a bad ground.

The bad ground may have been there a long time and only showed up when the radio was hanging outside of the mount where you may not have had a grounded chassis due to not being in grounded mounting tray.

It is possible the antenna was not plugged in and it could be a source of a ground.

I have been caught by the digital voltmeter fooling me many times. Keeping an analog meter handy at all times I will watch the needle very closely. Any dip in the needle followed by the voltage going back up before turning on the device is an indication of a bad power source or ground as you have found.

Thanks for sharing this. I hope my response is clear and helpful to someone.
__________________
Certified Senior Electronic Technician, Telecommunications Engineer, Telecommunications repair Service Center Owner, Original owner HR 2008

.
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 08:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 533
I have learned from your response not trust my readings with a digital meter
will dig out my analog meter and keep it handy

Thank you

Phil
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 10:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,568
Learn something new every day.



I have an analog meter, guess I'll have to keep it dusted off.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 02:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 6,611
A incandescent 12v test lamp will do similar. A lowZ meter changes to low impedance there's usually a time limit for how long it can be tested at that setting Not sure if every lowZ meter works on DC. A solenoid/Wiggy meter will put a load a 120vAC line. I've seen the at garage sales for next to nothing.
I have had to deal with phantom induction voltage and voltages and circuits that can't carry a load. Even a 480v cartridge fuse that tested out on voltage scale and continuity but new 3phase compressor wouldn't start or blow the fuse out the rest of the way.
The old underground line to my garage did same thing on one line nearly 30yrs ago drove me crazy solid wire was probably cracked and burnt back, multimeter read 120v. I didn't know then what I do now.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2022, 09:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 533
I ended up running three new # 12 ground wires from from existing chassis grounding point.

Removed existing self tapping screw installed at factory for grounding and making a grounding stud , 1/4 stainless bolt, serated nuts, washers
cleaned frame at location of attachment covered all connections with DI-electric grease

1 ground dedicated to radio
1 ground dedicated to dash monitor, 12v socket, and 3 USB plugs mounted in dash
1 spare ground wire to under dash location

working fine so far
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, install, installation, radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio & Step electrical issue? Help... TbearKline Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 05-09-2017 01:31 PM
SeriusXM Satellite Radio - adapter to built in radio or standalone radio? vsheetz Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-02-2017 09:33 AM
In-dash radio installation issue Alan_Hepburn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 08-23-2013 05:03 PM
CB Radio Installation Scottster MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 12-10-2006 03:13 PM
XM Radio Installation Gadget Man MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 02-09-2006 05:46 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.