Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2020, 02:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Electrical issues (1996 Monaco Dynasty)

Ok, I guess I'm supposed to start by telling everyone...I'm a Newbie. Never owned an RV, I don't know if I'm even an RV'r !! I purchased a 1996 Monaco Dynasty (38', 8.3 Cummins, Allison MD, Onan 7.5) that was in mint condition with a little over 100K (hope no one says I was stupid) It was extremely well taken care of. Paid 28K for it...and there was a line of people wanting it (four while I was there, I was the first to call after seller posted it so I got it.). Thought I would start out with a more affordable one to see if it was something we would use enough. The individual I got it from had ran into a "ton" of money and decided to upgrade to a beautiful new Newmar, but money was never an object in keeping it in perfect condition. The reason for my purchasing it was my adopted grandaughter has Cerebral Palsey and wants to see some things in the country...and if my wife and I don't take her she probably will never get the opportunity...so I guess we're RV'r's now!!

Anyway, my problem is, I ran a 50A outlet outside my house (pending a new garage to keep it in). (Maybe coincidentally) I've had nothing but electrical issues. I've verified, it's clean power and must be in the coach. When first plugged in, my Control Center indicators jump up and down all over from 10 to 30 then to 50 back and fourth for a while and sometimes hang arount at 20 or 30 but eventually settle at the bottom (10A)....which makes me wonder if it's getting any power at the end. My 110V systems seem to be working fine. All batteries are all ran down, not even able to jump-start anymore (batteries were new) (I thought they were working off a built-in trickle charger?) It has been cold here in Kansas.

Obviously Monaco did a terrible job documenting these coaches, finding anything is tough so if anyone has any good links to documentation I would appreciate some the sharing, especially for wiring diagrams. I do have bundles of "stuff" but it's mostly worthless in my opinion. I would be willing to share it with anyone that needs it.

Does anyone out there own a 1996 Monaco Dynasty anymore?

Bottom line I guess is my main question, does anyone have a clue as to maybe whether it's the ATS or the inverter possibly? Or do you think I'm way off track. I would greatly appreciate any help. I am a DIY and do have confidence in my ability to work on my coach.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200103_133951.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	302.8 KB
ID:	271294  
gwl24651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-03-2020, 03:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,286
When you first plug it the system may be checking power etc. The picture you posted shows 50 amp and the inverter on. Also shows 120 volt power. The 10 amp DC is probably close to what the coach is using with nothing turned on. So everything looks normal.



Here is a link to an inverter which may be close to yours, it does have the control panel as shown in your picture.
http://www.xantrex.com/documents/Dis...series%201.pdf
This may help you figure out if your system is behaving. I did see that if you have a remote display like yours you should leave the switch on the inverter itself to the "Off" position, you may check this.


Have you tried running the generator and see what happens, this will test your transfer switch.

Also make sure the main battery disconnect switches are on.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 03:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,128
1st please verify that you have shore power 120/240 volt service with 240 across L1 and L2 and 120 across L1 and neutral and L2 and Neutral. If you don't start there your just spinning your wheels. You can not condemn the transfer switch or inverter until you know this.

If all that is good check voltage at the transfer switch in the same manor. voltage in, voltage out. 120/240

Next verify voltage at the main breaker in the AC panel 120/240. This is where the 240 stops. All the breakers will read 120 volts.

Lets use know what you have.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 03:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26,778
If your batteries have froze and are internally shorted, your inverter/charger may be attempting to charge them, even though that are bad.
That can cause all sorts of voltage issues, both on the 120 volt and 12 volt side.

The Xantrex panel is for the inverter/charger.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 07:07 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks guys, I do have the Freedom 20 Heart Interface...hope I don't have to replace it! A friend of mine is a Master Electrician and he's the one that installed my 50A outlet at my house for me; however, I will check the voltages as noted tomorrow and let you know. I was curious if it could be a polarity problem? Also, I'm not throwing any circuit breakers in the coach and they "feel" good when switched on and off.

The pic I posted is showing AC INPUT, INV/CHRG illuminated, 13.0 volts and either NO or less than 10 Amps, it's at the bottom of the scale. I think youre right, I think when I first apply power/turn it on that it is searching or checking for power.

I did take a look at the internals on the ATS and there is no burning or loose connections...looks brand new on the inside.

One thing I embarrassingly was wrong about is that I do have battery power, I checked my batteries with a volt meter and am showing 12.4 on my two coach batteries and 4.3 on my generator battery. However, neither will even make a sound when trying to start. No dash indications either at all. Like everything is dead.

Main battery switches are on (I even actuated them to ensure a good contact)

Thanks again guys, I appreciate it and will be checking things out further.
gwl24651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 07:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,286
I would suggest starting at the batteries and tracing/checking the voltage. That includes the disconnect switches, I had one fail with no power passing through.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 06:20 PM   #7
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,461
Not addressing your PRESENT problem, but...

I owned a 1993 Dynasty that was absolutely plagued with electrical gremlins. It got so bad, my butthole drew up each time I left home wondering what would go wrong this trip.

Long story short, your coach has hundreds and hundreds of electrical connections. In the older coaches, many of them were exposed to the elements and engine fumes.

On the advice of a trusted friend, I spent an entire weekend pulling every single connector I could find apart, from one end of the coach to the other, and in all hidden places (like behind instrument panels and switch panels), spraying with WD-40 and reassembling. This included all fuses, push-on connectors, relays, buss bars and ESPECIALLY ground buss bars. I found a surprising number of loose and/or corroded connections.

In the several years that I owned the coach after that procedure, not one single electrical gremlin.
__________________
Van W 2000 Dynasty 36
ISC-350, pulling one Harley
200,000 miles
Southeastern NC
Vanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 11:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 2,605
Yes check power is right.Do you have surge protector installed some will power off if incoming AC voltages is not right.
Do you have a cord reel?
They can get bad brushes, don't roll the reel when powered ever.
Auto transfer switches get loose and burned connections .Unplug, power inverter off and take a look at ATS screw connections.
Is your autu transfer switch chattering after you plug in. There is a delay for transferring.
EDIT
Reread sounds like your ATS connections ok at least.
Are you just going by your panel meter for output. You house batteries have to be charged and good connections to battery for your inverter to work properly .
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 06:14 AM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 45,813
Many Master Electricians don't know how to correctly wire a 50A outlet for RV use! I would Google for the correct wiring and have him check to be sure it is right!
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 07:34 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 375
How Old are the batteries? What type of batteries do you have? I would not trust just a Voltage check... that's worthless you need to do a correct load test..I"d pull all the batteries take them down to a reputable dealer and have them load tested... that's the cheapest first step I would take..... Then, until the 50 amp connect from Shore Power is confirmed I"d leave the power off until that is completely checked out.. Just my way of thinking.
davidki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 12:02 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
Many Master Electricians don't know how to correctly wire a 50A outlet for RV use! I would Google for the correct wiring and have him check to be sure it is right!
It's damn near impossible to screw up a 50 amp RV outlet. It's done exactly like every range plug he has ever installed in a house. It 240 volts. Cant mess it up.

What the electrician can screw up is the 30 amp 120 volt outlet because he is too lazy to read the writing on the side of the outlet that says 120 volts. That's because unless he has worked an RV he has never seen a 120 volt 30 amp outlet.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2020, 01:33 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 44
Hey... I've got a 95 Dynasty and like you have found several electrical gremlins that are a constant battle. Glad to hear what you paid for yours... I've been thinking of selling/upgrading and had no idea where to start on pricing. I'll watch the thread and will be glad to chip in where I can. One thing... I put a trickle charger on the chassis battery as mine never charged when plugged in. The house batteries were always charged by the inverter though.
JimWW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 08:05 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 8
I have been full timing with the family since November 2020 on a Pandemic Adventure in a 1996 Monaco Dynasty 40'. It has been quite the adventure. I found this post while trying to research info panel replacement (tanks/battery).

I have spent a LOT of time figuring out and learning the electric in this thing. If you still have questions, please feel free to post. If yours is like mine, you are running into problems with old batteries, GFCI, Inverter/Shore relays, tripping circuits, fuses. It's all way less scary than it seems.

Otherwise, I hope you and your family are having a great adventure of your own!
shesmovedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 10:20 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,620
Welcome to the forum, lots of smart people here to help out.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, monaco, monaco dynasty



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monaco Dynasty Barron III :: 1997 Monaco Dynasty Barron III ctmdr iRV2 Owners Registry 0 01-17-2018 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.