RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2020, 10:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
Blog Entries: 1
Electrical Problem

When we plug into 30 or 50 amp there is a clicking in the electrical compartment and the the lights in motor home have a slight flicker. Any suggestions. Seems to work fine when plugged into 120 v outlet with extension cord.
Acer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-13-2020, 10:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
SargeW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,240
Often the lights in the rig are 12 volt and powered through the inverter. Have you checked the condition of your batteries?
__________________
Marty and Diane, Fulltiming!
2017 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40 SP
2018 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
https://www.mytripjournal.com/rvnchick2020
SargeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 03:58 AM   #3
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,506
When you put external AC power to your MH the ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch) is activated. You normally hear a click when that engages Your converter/inverter also has a transfer switch. When 120Vac is provided to the inverter/converter the inverter is usually taken out of service via its internal ATS, but the converter remains connected to the batteries for continious charging as required. Unless your batteries are at the same voltage as the output of the converter, you might see a change in DC voltage for a very slight moment by a slight flicker in your lights. (Batteries serve as a very effective load filter and you may only see a slight ripple on a sensitive instrument or perhaps on an LED bulb.

Your question however relates to only seeing this flicker when connected to a 15A external source. The transfer switches must work the same way on any power source transfer so I am at a bit of a loss as to why this is only noticed when you connected via a higher current rated source, 120Vac should be a constant unless it is not. If you are using smaller gauge wire for the 15A service and the load is 15A, the voltage may not be 120V due to line loss, If this is the case there would be less voltage delta to the converter thus lower voltage to the batteries causing less ripple,

Suggest you take voltage readings under different scenarios to determine if voltages are the same using 30/50 &15A power sources and if you have a clamp on current meter it could provide more useful data,

In addition to basic Volt & Current measurements, I would put my oscilloscope on the DC line but most folks don't have one of these more sophisticated instruments, but simple voltage measurements alone should give you more data than you have right now,

Good luck - I hope I provided useful information.

Cheere
Libero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2020, 01:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 972
Just a thought: You say you get the flicker when plugged in to 30amp or 50amp 110vAC shore power but not when connected via an extension cord to a 15amp(?) 110v source.

Year and model of your coach would help; also the model of inverter you have. When you connect to 30 or 50amp 110 volt shore power the inverter may be charging your house batteries at a higher rate than when you are connected to a 15amp source. Many inverters "detect" the rating of the source to which they are connected but can be set so they always charge as if they're on a 15amp shore power. You will need to check your inverter manual and try to make that change. Depending on the results you get someone with a similar coach and inverter may be able to help you from there.
__________________
Rick P. '05 Signature
rpasetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 12:30 PM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,088
I would take voltage measurements across the batteries with and without shore power or generator and with your extension cord.

Post pictures and readings.

You may have an EMS panel that sheds your converter charging while on an extension cord. Without the converter on your 12 volt power to the lights would be pure DC and no AC ripple coming from the converter.

If you batteries have not been maintained properly they cannot smooth out the ripples. Check them for water of course and the condition of the connections.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, problem



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No electrical power at one lug (3) Left Front Electrical Center RobRoy Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-31-2017 11:59 AM
Sat Dome Problem or Electrical Problem?? fansill Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 04-25-2011 11:34 PM
ELECTRICAL OUTLET/TV PROBLEM - SERVICE CENTER CAUSED emmmw Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 12-14-2008 06:54 AM
electrical problem SeaRay Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 09-04-2007 11:32 AM
HELP! Battery/Electrical problem Use2bBandman 5th Wheel Discussion 6 01-28-2005 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.