Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2009, 12:36 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ed S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 985
Energy Management panel

The light for my water heat is not working. Do you have to remove the panel cover to replace or will the switch just pop out???? I assume I would have to replace the switch and wonder if one could be found at an auto parts store or if there is somethong special about the switch?

Thank you

Ed
Ed S is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-14-2009, 02:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 2,028
Hi Ed

No - you won't find a switch at any auto store. I have replaced several of my lights and some I got from Monaco's spare shop (which I understand is now back "in business") and others I have come across in some of the larger RV spare part outlets.

No - it won't come out easily from the front. You need to remove the visible screws on the front panel (easy job) and then unhook a couple of wires (another easy job). Finally you squeeze the top and bottom plastic fixings on the switch, in order to push the broken switch out the front panel (third and last easy Job). Did I mention that it's an easy job altogether ?

Monaco will charge you a bit more than other stores, but you will not need a second mortgage on your house if you order your replacement switches from Monaco, and it's easy this way.

Good luck replacing your broken light.
__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 02:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gordon66's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Victoria, Texas
Posts: 247
Ed,
Is it the switch with a light built in or a separate indicator light? If it's the lighted switch, I recently bought one at Auto Zone. I also recently bought an indicator light, which is the same size as a switch, at a local RV repair/parts center.
__________________
Larry & Doni
2015 Four Winds 31W E-450
South Texas Renegades FMCA F376075
Gordon66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Sixpack98's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon66 View Post
Ed,
Is it the switch with a light built in or a separate indicator light? If it's the lighted switch, I recently bought one at Auto Zone. I also recently bought an indicator light, which is the same size as a switch, at a local RV repair/parts center.

Thanks for the tip about Auto Zone. Our generator light sometimes to illuminate when we start the genset. I can tap on the light and it will turn on. The bulb is good but the socket seems to be a little flaky.

mark
__________________
Dawn and Mark

06 HR Endeavor 40 PET
Sixpack98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 04:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ed S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 985
Mine is a lighted switch but also think I have another that is a separate light also out. Thanks for the auto zone but if not guess I will try Monaco as a last solution.

Thanks guys for your response.

Ed
Ed S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 01:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lukeaa's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morro Bay, CA
Posts: 810
Switches - Electrical
__________________
Luke and Kathy & Bootsie kitty, Morro Bay,CA
2007 Diplomat 40' SFT
2013 Honda CR-V "More is the enemy of enough."
Lukeaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 01:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,521
Too much time on my hands. I found a LED bulb at Radio Shack and put in my lighted switch. works fine and cost less than a buck.

Mike
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 09:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
arby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 217
Both of my lights (gas & electric) are out. PPL has the switches. Be careful. They are 120 volt and there is a 12 volt switch that looks identical. I replaced both switches but still no lights. Both heaters are working just fine. The word from Atwood is the circuit board is not giving the lights a signal. I guess for the price of the board I can live without the lights since everything is working OK.

The procedure to replace the switches given above is correct. Easy job.
arby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 12:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Oregon
Posts: 300

I Ordered the lighted switch for my 12V portion of water heater over 3 or 4 weeks ago.... Monaco says the company has them back ordered still, as of today, 9/15/09. Ed


__________________
Ed & Lynn on the Oregon Coast
2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A
2006 Scion xA toad
Ed_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 01:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
DO you have to pull the panel or will the switch pop out: Depends, and as a result I can't answer

What I did: I have an electronics parts store near me.. The kind of place where "Joe's Television Repair" might well shop. Most of these types of stores will have a bin of indicator lights.. They had several. Some of them had black/black for the leads.... Some were Red/Black or Red/White These were 12 volt

The assembly has, in my case, a green lense, with a benzel, a bit larger than a quarter inch, and a plastic tube behind that, teh leads come out the end of the plastic tube..

Make sure the one you pick is labeled for 12 volts

IN another bin, nearby, there is a bunch of "Speed Nuts" (Spring things you push over the plastic tube)

You drill the proper size hole (one size up from a quarter inch on my drill big kit) stuff the wires and tube in the hole, slip the speed nut over the wire and press.. Now find the hot lead to the heater (This assumes it' is a 12 volt lead) and hook the RED wire there.. Ground the other lead an you are done (There will be a ground lead attached to the switch)

Now: If it's a 120 volt switch.. You choose a 120 volt indicator, this will be Neon (The ones I hvae are red) and the hookup is the same.

I left the ground lead attached to the switch. (On a 120 volt switch that would be a "Neutral"

I did take my handy dandy volt meter and check to make sure it was a 12 volt switch first.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 09:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florence, Oregon
Posts: 300
My switch just came in and took all of a couple minutes to replace. Connections are simple push-ons ( 3 ) and the switch easily pushes out the front of the panel with a gentle squeeze of the tabs on the back side.

My switch data: Mfg. is Sigma, PN is 700801 rated for 16A @125V . The lamp apparently listed at 14V, so I assume the switch was only switching 12V at the panel. I would not recommend anyone trying to replace the lamp.... it is wire lead and probably near impossible to find a replacement... plus disassembling switch would make it unlikely to reassemble properly. ( I tried ). No guaranty that the switch in my Monaco panel is same as others. Monaco parts did come through for me on this although it took 3 weeks or more.
__________________
Ed & Lynn on the Oregon Coast
2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A
2006 Scion xA toad
Ed_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 03:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
itdave's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cornville, AZ
Posts: 1,095
BTW the switches and lights can be removed without taking out the panel. You need to have a knife or small flat blade screwdriver. On the back of the switch/light there are tabs that you squeeze together to allow it to get through the opening. From the front put the knife blade between the switch and panel, press toward the switch and use the screwdriver to pry out the switch. Leave that screwdriver in place and do the same thing to the other side of the switch. This worked on my black Water Pump indicator lite on the panel in the hall. I am not sure if the procedure will work on all switched and lights.
__________________
Dave & Jeri
06 Holiday Rambler Endeavor
TOAD 15 Lincoln MKX
itdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Energy Management system board failure Party Barge Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 08-21-2009 12:02 PM
Question on Energy Panel VACMAN Newmar Owner's Forum 5 03-30-2009 12:52 PM
Vena Power Management Panel Highgturn Excel Owner's Forum 8 01-16-2009 04:23 AM
Energy Management System Bob O Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 07-14-2008 03:55 PM
Energy Management System Ron & Dee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 04-07-2008 09:30 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.