Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2021, 05:43 AM   #43
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Hey thanks for posting that. I saved it for future reference
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-03-2021, 06:13 AM   #44
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: NY State
Posts: 1,804
Diesels are pretty new to me, so maybe I'm all wet, but...

Some posts discuss measuring the fuel pressure at the injectors and cracking the connection to see whether fuel is getting there. Maybe I'm just a Nervous Nellie, but I'd exercise extreme caution doing either one. Our ISL's common rail system runs at 36,000 PSI if I recall correctly. At some point the equipment to measure this pressure safely might exceed the cost of bringing it to someone qualified who already has it. Out of curiousity, I did a short search. Just the gauge is about $1.5K without appropriate connectors and such.

I'm trained for handling high pressure gases, and they can be hazardous enough, but they're still an order of magnitude lower than diesel injection pressure.

Taking the injector line completely off might be safer. I suspect but do not know that the injection pumps can't make enough volume to reach full pressure with a disconnected, open line. I'd ask someone who knows first.
__________________
John
1976 Southwind 28', '96 Winnie 34WK,
2006 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40QDP
n2zon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 06:31 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
I’m definitely a big diesel noob. The only diesel maintenance I’ve done is to my Ford and my dads JD tractor.

I don’t watch TV, but I do watch a lot of vehicle and heavy equipment maintenance stuff on YouTube. The thing I’ve noticed about cracking the injector lines is they say you can put a wrench on the line but don’t try to tighten it with your fingers. Since yes the pressure is very high.

But, I need to get low pressure going to the caps pump first before I check for high pressure from the injectors. I’m going to check a few things today before I go to work. Waiting for the DW to get up so I don’t wake her up when Im banging around with some wrenches
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:24 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
So the first thing I tried is to connect a diesel can before the primary filter. The lift pump starts to suck fuel out of the can, but it can barely even suck the fuel out. And as soon as the pump turns off all the fuel drains back to the can right away.

Basically for the first part of the lift pump cycle it’s not sucking much. After the tone changes it starts sucking a little more, but not enough to prime the system.

I’m going to try the same thing before the secondary filter. I’m going to pickup those torx sockets today and take the lift pump apart also
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:36 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Does it go?

Primary filter > lift pump > secondary filter
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:23 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
To answer my own question, yes it does.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 10:11 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
You have a lot of things to rule out but this sounds/feels like the same issue I had. The lift pump can't push it through a failed ICV so it never properly primes or purges air from the system. Measuring the resistance on the ICV will tell you pretty quickly. It's hard to get to that pigtail but it is possible.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 10:52 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Inside of the lift pump motor. With the new gasket (installed) versus old. The old one looks like a lot better quality. It might go back on. Haha

Where is the pigtail for the ICV? The valve itself is in the caps pump right?

The thing I keep getting hung up on is that I can’t bleed the system up to the caps pump. I can open the bleeder banjo on top of the caps, and run the lift pump until I get fuel out. I tighten the bolt after fuel starts coming out, but while the pump is still running. When I run the lift pump again fuel has already run back from the caps pump, and it has to be primed again.

Also, silly me. I didn’t fill the lift pump with fuel before reinstalling it. Now I can’t get it to prime at all. I’ll probably have to take the lift pump motor back off and fill it with fuel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1343FC9A-7573-4AC6-A700-A8737DA9DCA8.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	287.5 KB
ID:	319938   Click image for larger version

Name:	9EC9F531-6B00-4A06-A0A0-EB03A25EF661.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	278.6 KB
ID:	319939  

Click image for larger version

Name:	7D4F6264-A550-4A47-84CF-B2190709A4BD.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	296.0 KB
ID:	319940   Click image for larger version

Name:	6C6C242D-7FFE-4218-8B2A-DB99C09C6ED5.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	471.3 KB
ID:	319941  

__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:06 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
Here's what the ICV and it's pigtail looks like. The lift pump is self priming, btw.

Pull off the line from the second filter to the CAPS and see if you get good flow with the lift pump engaged.

https://www.tamerx.com/injection-pum...1998-2002.html
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:26 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 5,881
It sounds like an air leak somewhere in the line, or in the pump.
Are the slides on the pump rotor free to slide?
I like to refill the pump and filters with Lucas fuel treatment. It cleans and conditions all the fuel system parts.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:31 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Ok thanks. I’ll look for the ICV in the morning when I dive into it again.

When I pull the line off the second filter I get some flow after about 20-30 seconds.

Now that I changed the lift pump gasket I have no prime. I think maybe that gasket doesn’t work well with my lift pump.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:48 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Vito-
The pump seems to spin freely and the vanes slide in and out like they should. I’m kind of surprised it didn’t prime itself when I put it back in. It could just be the gasket I got is not compatible. I bought it off of eBay.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 01:57 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Mile Marker 42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: S. California
Posts: 1,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryLook View Post
Vito-
The pump seems to spin freely and the vanes slide in and out like they should. Iím kind of surprised it didnít prime itself when I put it back in. It could just be the gasket I got is not compatible. I bought it off of eBay.
Was it the guy in Texas you got it from on ebay? if so, he sells 2 different versions.
__________________
2003 Monaco Knight 36ft PST Triple Slide- 315 ISC
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 Diesel 4x4
2- 2013 Yamaha VXR's 70MPH+. 2019 Sun Tracker 18ft Pontoon w/ 75hp Mercury
Mile Marker 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 02:27 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mile Marker 42 View Post
Was it the guy in Texas you got it from on ebay? if so, he sells 2 different versions.
Yes it was the guy in Texas. I contacted him and he told me they two versions were based on the ESN. I got the one thatís supposed to fit my engine. With that being said, I think my lift pump has been replaced before. And itís probably aftermarket. So maybe the gasket wonít work with that one.

It just seems like the gasket isnít thick enough to compress and seal. Iíll pop the old one back on tomorrow and see if it primes again. Then Iíll check that ICV.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diplomat, engine



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2000 Dutch Star fuel gauge quit after being parked..... Skyskier Newmar Owner's Forum 4 07-12-2018 08:03 AM
diplomat vs Diplomat LE grthigpen Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-07-2015 07:28 AM
2000 alpine exhaust brake quit working CRSANISLO Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 08-16-2011 06:09 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.