Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2021, 11:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,469
Engine quit stuck on off ramp

My engine quit and started blowing grey smoke. It tries to start and just puffs grey smoke. I get scanngauge codes 124 and 60
__________________
Full Time 2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque towing 05 Pilot 700 Watts of solar & E-Bike
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2021, 12:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
OldWEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
My engine quit and started blowing grey smoke. It tries to start and just puffs grey smoke. I get scanngauge codes 124 and 60
Try this?

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f123/sca...rs-513596.html
OldWEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 12:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
My engine quit and started blowing grey smoke. It tries to start and just puffs grey smoke. I get scanngauge codes 124 and 60
Sorry to hear of your troubles.

Code 124 appears to be Intake Manifold 1 Pressure - Data valid but above normal operating range- moderately severe level.

The FMI is 16, more likely than 60...

It sounds expensive...
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 12:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 448
The attached from QuickServe has the details for code 124 but there is nothing for 60.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 71-fc124.pdf (102.8 KB, 14 views)
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40PKD, Cummins ISL 400
Lowflyer1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowflyer1 View Post
The attached from QuickServe has the details for code 124 but there is nothing for 60.
I went through a bunch of ISC/ISL code sheets and could not find an FMI of '60' nor any fault code with only 2 digits.

Most of the other things I read while looking for more code info points to the turbo wastegate, which is the first item in the QuickServe list.

Turbo. Just sounds expensive.
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,469
I changed the fuel filters and they were black..only 5000 miles and I always get fuel at truck stops...still dead.

How do you reset the ECU. I cleared the codes.
__________________
Full Time 2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque towing 05 Pilot 700 Watts of solar & E-Bike
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
I changed the fuel filters and they were black..only 5000 miles and I always get fuel at truck stops...still dead.
I think there's a mobile mechanic and possible tow in your future. :(
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
I changed the fuel filters and they were black..only 5000 miles and I always get fuel at truck stops...still dead.

How do you reset the ECU. I cleared the codes.
Both primary and secondary were black?

You could try pulling your chassis battery leads to reset the ECM .
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 02:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
Both primary and secondary were black?

You could try pulling your chassis battery leads to reset the ECM .
Turn off both battery banks and wait 10-15m and see if that resets the ECM. I don't see anything about 124 that would cause a no-start condition.

Doesn't scangaugeD show codes as ID/FM/CNT?
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 02:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fffrank View Post
Turn off both battery banks and wait 10-15m and see if that resets the ECM. I don't see anything about 124 that would cause a no-start condition.

Doesn't scangaugeD show codes as ID/FM/CNT?
I'm not sure the battery switches shut down power to the ECM.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 03:04 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
Both primary and secondary were black?

You could try pulling your chassis battery leads to reset the ECM .
Yes both had black stuff in them. I got pulled off by DPS to a side street. Thank You DPS, no tow bill.
__________________
Full Time 2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque towing 05 Pilot 700 Watts of solar & E-Bike
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 03:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,469
I also have code 60, anyone know what that is?
I will try disconnecting the chassis battery. Thank you
__________________
Full Time 2000 Dynasty Regent, 8.3, Banks Turbo, 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque towing 05 Pilot 700 Watts of solar & E-Bike
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 03:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timaz View Post
Yes both had black stuff in them. I got pulled off by DPS to a side street. Thank You DPS, no tow bill.

That sounds like microbial contamination and biocide treatment and frequent filter changes needed until the system is clean.

Did you cycle the ignition on several times (maybe 5-6) after the filter change? This is from 2001 Dynasty manual:
In the event the ISC engine runs out of fuel, the lift pump on the fuel pump will run for approximately 1 minute with the ignition ON. The ignition may have to be turned on and off several times before attempting a start.
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40PKD, Cummins ISL 400
Lowflyer1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 03:34 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 39
All I can find is a fault code 60 related to Freightliner indicating Turbo Actuator fault. No idea if this is what you need.
Zapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ramp floor fell off frame 2buckeyes Toy Haulers Discussion 8 11-17-2020 04:55 AM
On-off on off on off off off rear view camera Bahcml Newmar Owner's Forum 5 08-12-2019 11:44 PM
Urgent help needed-stuck at Costco with slide topper stuck/frozen RMD3819 MH-General Discussions & Problems 49 01-23-2018 12:15 AM
Husker finally found a RV she liked but needs a dog ramp, Solvit RV Dog Ramp reviews? G-JLD9 RV'ing with Pets 4 02-25-2017 11:45 AM
taking ramp off toyhauler and Kshivers Toy Haulers Discussion 9 10-20-2015 10:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.