Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2022, 11:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Cato1966's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 15
Front A/C, no 120v power

We have a 2005 Diplomat with both A/C units up sized to 15k btu and a new 10 button thermostat all up graded last year following a lightning strike at the park we were staying at. We replaced the 13 btu units and the 5 button thermostat.

This system has worked well until Monday when we were packing up to come home. I forgot to shut down the A/C units before I cranked the generator to let it warm up. The generator picked up the power drawn by the units immediately although my transfer switch has a built in delay board. My rear A/C came back on as well as every thing else that I have noticed. The front A/C did not restart and we had an E7 code showing on the thermostat for the front front zone.

I found only 41 volts coming out of the breaker box so I replaced the breaker with a new and checked to verify I now have 120 volts at the breaker out put. I check the 12 volt DC fuse and GFI outlets. I then reset the 10 button thermostat and still get the E7 code. The rear unit works properly so I thing the 12 DC is Ok. If I am not mistaken the DC power board works both units.

I pulled the inside the ceiling vent/cover on the front unit and double checked, found no 120 volt power. Now I am lost as to where I am loosing power. Any input as to where to check next would be appreciated.
Cato1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2022, 02:39 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Cato1966's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 15
After searching the forum for a wiring diagram, I found a link to a 2006 diplomat, thank you posting that Bob.

It appears I have lost my voltage at relay #1 on my Intellitec Model 760, EMS controler board. I switched the wiring from relay #1 and relay #3 and the voltage lost stayed with relay #1. Individually each unit will run when connected to #3.

I ordered a new EMS MODEL 760 00-00894-200 off Amazon. I will post an update when I install it.
Cato1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 07:54 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Cato1966's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 15
Just installed the new EMS control board and both A/C units work properly now.

The control boards looked good visually so I took the relay board off of the plastic holder and found both #1 and #3 relays had a charred solder joints at the board connection.
Cato1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 08:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cato1966 View Post
Just installed the new EMS control board and both A/C units work properly now.

The control boards looked good visually so I took the relay board off of the plastic holder and found both #1 and #3 relays had a charred solder joints at the board connection.
Great post, I would hang onto that old board. Resoldering those
joints might be all it needs. However, new relays would be my choice.
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 11:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 6,029
Great job!
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2022, 12:34 PM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,680
Glad you fixed it so quickly.

If your breaker panel is inside a closet with no room for air to cool the panel there are a couple of suggestions in really hot weather.

If your breaker panel is installed in a closet and above the water heater it really gets a double whammy.

My EMS board went up in flames. Fortunately it self extinguished. My panel runs cool to the touch these days after a couple of simple mods.
__________________
Certified Senior Electronic Technician, Telecommunications Engineer, Telecommunications repair Service Center Owner, Original owner HR 2008

.
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stacked, front load washer/dryer set - what is quality, 120v dryer? FlyFishn RV Systems & Appliances 7 05-29-2022 05:03 PM
No 120v to front A/C castlemusic Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 03-08-2022 03:28 PM
Front 120v outlets not working capnlarry Tiffin Owner's Forum 6 07-03-2018 04:43 AM
Power Control Monitor Says 120V/5 V Shore Power pagosajoe Fleetwood Owner's Forum 6 08-21-2013 05:03 PM
generator runs but no 120v power BrianV National RV Owner's Forum 2 06-29-2010 11:37 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.