RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Fuel gage sending unit

I have a 05 beaver Monterrey with a bad fuel gage sending unit. I can see the sending unit on the drivers side on the side of the tank. My question is any info on changing this unit? Thanks
__________________

Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-28-2011, 12:57 PM   #2
Member
 
gprince's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
Yes sir! I just completed mine on a 1999 Diplomat. I called Monaco and talked to their parts department. I gave them my VIN and they will cross reference it to my sending unit part number. I ran the MH out of fuel. There is a drain plug on the bottom of the tank. I thought I was pretty close to empty, but ended up draining 28 gallons. Once you're empty, I could access my sending unit via the first compartment door on the front side. Inside the compartment, I had a 4" cover plate that I screwed out. Pull three screws and it will slide right out. Be sure to mark your wire connections before pulling unit. We completed the job in about 1 hour.
__________________

__________________
Garry Prince
1999 Monaco Diplomat 38 A
2008 Jeep Wrangler X Unlimited 4x4
gprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks gprince was your unit on the side of the tank , also was your unit a centroid ? Mine looks to to be a round 3" unit with Allen screws holding it into the tank
Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 06:18 AM   #4
rex
Senior Member
 
rex's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Foley, AL
Posts: 1,247
First picture is of the Centroid fuel sender.

Second is the ISSPRO sender.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Rex

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40' PDQ - 08 Honda CR-V
rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 07:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
That's it !! Thanks Rex did you get the unit from Monaco or centroid
Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 10:18 AM   #6
Member
 
gprince's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 47
Mine was the Centroid fuel sender.
__________________
Garry Prince
1999 Monaco Diplomat 38 A
2008 Jeep Wrangler X Unlimited 4x4
gprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 03:56 PM   #7
rex
Senior Member
 
rex's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Foley, AL
Posts: 1,247
Has to come from Monaco as I don't think Centroid selld direct. You could check with them first about selling direct.

Centroid
2104 HIBISCUS DR
Edgewater, FL 32141
386-423-3574
http://www.centroidproducts.com/
__________________
Rex

2001 Monaco Diplomat 40' PDQ - 08 Honda CR-V
rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 06:14 PM   #8
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,943
Rfw1955......You say it's bad.....what's it doing. They are adjustable. Mine was reading fine for four years and then acted up. Centroid told me that I probably had algae on it. I knew that wasn't the issue. I readjusted mine and it's been fine for two years.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:49 AM   #9
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Diplomat Don here what is going on the Gage reads past full sometimes after sitting the unit works fine now the Gage reads past full all the time.
Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:52 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,026
Rfw,
Just had my fuel gauge fixed. I thought it was the sending unit, but turned out to be a wire shorting on the chassis somewhere.
Mike
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:24 PM   #11
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,943
Rfw1955......I would remove and clean all of the wires on the sending unit and then adjust it. Moving the adjustment screws MAY resolve your issue. Here is how to adjust the unit http://www.centroidproducts.com/moncal.htm
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 09:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 178
Blog Entries: 2
Great info guys, many thanks! I have been having a problem with my sending unit and you have helped alot! Allegro5
allegro5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 05:47 PM   #13
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Well I pulled the unit out of my tank - after checking all wiring separately for voltage and continuity each and changing the Gage . Thanks don for the info by the time I checked into this post it has been pulled now I am looking at the sending unit the damn thing looks clean and new, I wonder if I can bench check this thing?.
Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:05 PM   #14
Member
 
Rfw1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Well here it is...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-593902531.png
Views:	1587
Size:	794.2 KB
ID:	10003  
__________________

Rfw1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rochester Level Sending Unit Bellanca_Pil RV Systems & Appliances 1 02-08-2011 02:46 AM
Temperature sending unit, Please help sandaddict Thor Industries Owner's Forum 2 03-12-2010 06:05 AM
fuel tank sending unit biglarry Roadmaster Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 07-30-2009 10:50 PM
Fuel Sending unit 2004 Beaver jimwasson Monaco Owner's Forum 3 05-31-2009 10:32 PM
Workhorse Fuel System DriVer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 18 07-19-2006 07:44 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×