RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2018, 08:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: The Villages, FL
Posts: 138
Generator Auto Started but no AGS on Coach??

We got back Monday evening from a 5 month trip out west. I plugged the coach into a 115v circuit at home like always to maintain batteries and keep residential refrigerator running. At some point last night the GFCI the coach is plugged into popped and this morning the generator auto started. I have had the coach 3 years and have not found anything to suggest this coach has AGS. No AGS button on the Magnum Remote Control and I went through all the settings on the remote control and did not see anything referring to AGS. So the question is why did the generator start and if the coach has AGS where should I look for a switch or fuse or breaker.

Thanks,

Bill
__________________

__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 40SKQ
USCGMech is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-24-2018, 03:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 522
Not sure what model coach you have. With my 2006 Diplomat the AGS module is hanging in the wall in the last curbside bay Same bay as the inverter. I have a Magnum Inverter/charger
__________________

__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: The Villages, FL
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyMtnRide View Post
Not sure what model coach you have. With my 2006 Diplomat the AGS module is hanging in the wall in the last curbside bay Same bay as the inverter. I have a Magnum Inverter/charger
My signature has the model, is it not showing? I have a 2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ.

I just looked in the compartment yours is in and only have the Magnum inverter/ charger.

Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 40SKQ
USCGMech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,751
There have been several reports on this forum of Onan 7.5 or 8KW generators starting on there own. Believe the issue has been moisture getting into the main harness plug.

Try doing a search and see if you can find anything.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
777 Driver's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,632
My 2009 Monaco Diplomat 40SKQ had a Magnum controller on the panel by the bathroom that looked like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	AGS.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	223718

In the curb side compartment that contains the inverter, there was a panel that looked like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	AGS Control.JPG
Views:	35
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	223719

Are you SURE that you don't have AGS. I thought it was pretty much standard in the Monaco/Holiday Rambler coaches of that vintage ('08 - '09).

Take care,
Stu
__________________
"A superior pilot is one who uses his superior judgment to avoid situations which might require the demonstration of his superior skills."
2018 Anthem 42DEQ
777 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:41 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,751
Possible Stu, but I believe it was standard on Dip / HR Endeavor and up .
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyMtnRide View Post
Not sure what model coach you have. With my 2006 Diplomat the AGS module is hanging in the wall in the last curbside bay Same bay as the inverter. I have a Magnum Inverter/charger
Agree, my 2008 HR40PDQ is in the same bay. And as afterwards pictured.
Chase55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 05:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: The Villages, FL
Posts: 138
My remote control does not have the AGS button and I do not have the AGS module in the curb side compartment. Maybe the moisture in the plug makes sense. I have searched but not found anything on the ONAN self starting.
__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 40SKQ
USCGMech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 10:09 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,751
Here's one ....

http://www.irv2.com/forums/f106/gene...in-382839.html


I've read several over the years.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 11:11 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mit12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 108
How do you set the auto start? I have a new to me 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ.
__________________
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 PDQ
Mit12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 11:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 116
Do you have racoons around your property? I have racoons and they like to climb on top of my generator. Guess what they were stepping on when they walked on top? Yup the remote start switch on the front of the generator. Scratching my head for quite some time trying to figure out how a generator starts on it's own with no AGS!
__________________
Tony G.
98 Monaco Dynasty
gonzo136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 08:15 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: The Villages, FL
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo136 View Post
Do you have racoons around your property? I have racoons and they like to climb on top of my generator. Guess what they were stepping on when they walked on top? Yup the remote start switch on the front of the generator. Scratching my head for quite some time trying to figure out how a generator starts on it's own with no AGS!
Thanks, we live in Florida so anything is possible, lots of critters.
__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 40SKQ
USCGMech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 07:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RonaldNC's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Posts: 284
My generator did that a couple of years ago... really weird! As some have posted, the main plug connection can get moisture in it and cause it to start on its own. I took the plug apart and cleaned it with electrical cleaner... haven't had it happen again.

Good luck!

Ron
__________________

__________________
Ron in Fuquay Varina, NC
2009 Monaco Cayman 38 PKQ
KE7NJ
RonaldNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan Genset shuts down on AGS when engine started? rwatson22 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 1 12-21-2017 08:44 AM
Auto-Generator Start AGS flobar00 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 07-24-2016 09:20 AM
Magnum ME-AGS-S Standalone AGS mikelm48 Newmar Owner's Forum 3 02-23-2016 08:28 AM
AGS Issue: 2010 Paeton 40-QTH AGS Issue gjw Tiffin Owner's Forum 1 09-06-2013 04:46 PM
AGS Auto Generator Start Jagraves Thor Industries Owner's Forum 9 10-19-2012 07:37 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×