RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2012, 03:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Our Time's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ft Myers Fl / Omaha Ne
Posts: 617
Generator Start/Stop

Onan 8000 Quiet Diesel starts from both inside remote switches, but will not shut off unless you use the switch on the generator. Any ideas?
__________________
Chuck & Mary
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 SKQ
2008 Enclave Toad
Our Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-18-2012, 03:10 PM   #2
TRD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 105
Chuck, I have just resolved a generator problem my self, somewhat different from yours. But, I will ask the most logical of questions. Have you checked the switch?

I still have 1 issue with mine. If I shut mine down at the cabin switch, it blows a fuse on the control board. If I shut it down at the generator -- all is fine. It will start at either switch.

Check your switch, if that doesn't fix it -- maybe someone can offer another solution

Good Luck.

Terry
TRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Our Time's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ft Myers Fl / Omaha Ne
Posts: 617
I have 2 inside switches, one on the dash and another at the control panel. Neither will shut it off, so I dougt it's the switch.
__________________
Chuck & Mary
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 SKQ
2008 Enclave Toad
Our Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Twomed's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,779
Most common problem (easiest anyway) when both switches is the big connector top left side of genset. Pull it apart and use CRC contact cleaner. Good luck. I've also seen these hit the fiberglass and have a loose/intermittent connection when using the gen slideout. Just reposition the connector.

Hope it's that easy.
__________________
Happy Trails,
06 Dynasty Countess III ISL//3060
07 Hummer H3
Twomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Our Time's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ft Myers Fl / Omaha Ne
Posts: 617
Thumbs up

Twomed,
You get the Gold Star for the day! That was exactly the problem, repositioned the plug and life is good again. Thanks for the suggestion.

Chuck
__________________
Chuck & Mary
2008 Monaco Diplomat 40 SKQ
2008 Enclave Toad
Our Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Twomed's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,779
Love that easy stuff.
__________________
Happy Trails,
06 Dynasty Countess III ISL//3060
07 Hummer H3
Twomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bill2's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere on the road
Posts: 562
I'm glad you got it fixed, but if it happens again check just behind that connector that you just fixed and check the wiring going into it. When that happened to mine, the wire had came out and wasn't long enough to stretch back into it. I had to get a longer piece of wire and re-astomize it in.
__________________
Bill O'Dell,Retired U.S. Army, Retired LEO, 2014 Tiffin, Phaeton, QBH, 2018 GMC Sierra 4x4 Extended Cab
Bill2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generac Diesel Generator Problem Dave1956 MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 02-19-2012 01:51 PM
94 Monaco - Bad Generator Start Switch Ronbstewart Monaco Owner's Forum 5 02-17-2012 07:30 PM
Cummins Engine Start-up After Extended Storage Yukon Jack Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 02-17-2012 12:05 PM
Generator wont start. PLEASE HELP!!! Salter4175 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 02-14-2012 06:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.