Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2022, 01:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
GFCI requirement/recommendation

Hello,
Battling a GFIC tripping problem when on the ME2012 inverter. It will just pop with nothing running that I am aware of. Samsung RF197 residential frig with icemaker off and have checked the defroster heater resistance and it is at the recommended 10-150 ohms. The frig will not pop a GFIC at home when plugged in directly and will not trip the coach frig breaker when plugged into the 110 outlet. It is just a problem on the inverter outlet. I have opened the outlet and all is well.

The GFIC is a Levitron. I, at one point, saw a short list of the GFIC's that are recommended in a thread here somewhere but now I can't find it. Replacing the Levitron seems like a good place to start.

Any help is appreciated. We are trying to boondock in Quartzite next week.
jeff
__________________
2007 Monaco Knight 40, 350 Cummins ISC, 58K miles
Henderson, NV
syjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-11-2022, 02:47 PM   #2
Member
 
RDGreenlief's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 46
We recently had lightning strike our RV shed and it took out one of the square D gfi circuit breakers. It was doing the same thing you described. I was told that if one of this ciruit breakers was tripped by a lightning strike then it should be replaced. We have two so I replaced both. Be prepared for some sticker shock, because they are about $100 a piece. Lowes didn't have the correct one and I had to go to a electric shop.

I don't know exactly how to test them, but it seems that putting them in another working circuit breaker box and finding out if it still trips might be a good place to start. Hope this helps.

Dennis
__________________
Dennis, Sheila, Lola & RJ (Havanese)
2003 Monaco Windsor 40DST
2014 Durango
RDGreenlief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 03:37 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
GFIC

My understanding is that you can't just use any GFIC in the 2007 ish Monaco's due to the old inverters tending to trip the GFIC's. The current one works fine but seems to be tripping even with no load. I will keep searching for the short list. Thank you
__________________
2007 Monaco Knight 40, 350 Cummins ISC, 58K miles
Henderson, NV
syjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 04:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDGreenlief View Post
We recently had lightning strike our RV shed and it took out one of the square D gfi circuit breakers. It was doing the same thing you described. I was told that if one of this ciruit breakers was tripped by a lightning strike then it should be replaced. We have two so I replaced both. Be prepared for some sticker shock, because they are about $100 a piece. Lowes didn't have the correct one and I had to go to a electric shop.

I don't know exactly how to test them, but it seems that putting them in another working circuit breaker box and finding out if it still trips might be a good place to start. Hope this helps.

Dennis
Any chance you have a number for the square D gfi breaker?

I have one that trips when on the inverter but I can't find a number on it. I bought one at Lowes that looks the same but it trips too.

Thanks in advance

Ray & Marilyn
03 Windsor
RamiDav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 04:32 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 19
I think I understand what youíre saying it works on regular power but only trips when itís on the inverter. I didnít look up the type of inverter but itís probably modified sign I donít think GFIs work well on those

Iím not sure why the refrigerator would want or need to be on a GFI asking for nuisance tripping in my opinion maybe you could just run a new circuit or swap it to a different one

Residential construction building codes are required arc faults for all refrigerators and GFIĎs if theyíre close enough to the sink it really is asking for trouble but thatís the new codes
BransonM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 05:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Smhutto's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 123
Here is what the tech at Magnum Energy recommended to me:

Hubbell Wiring GFRST15W AUTOGUARD Commercial Standard GFCI Receptacle, White, NEMA 5-15R, 125 Volts, 15 AMPS

You can find them at at electrical supply house that carries Hubbell, or you can get them on Amazon or eBay.
__________________
Scott H.
2006 Monaco Diplomat 40DST / 17 GMC Canyon
Marietta, GA
Smhutto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 08:46 PM   #7
Member
 
RDGreenlief's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamiDav View Post
Any chance you have a number for the square D gfi breaker?

I have one that trips when on the inverter but I can't find a number on it. I bought one at Lowes that looks the same but it trips too.

Thanks in advance

Ray & Marilyn
03 Windsor
Ray;
I left the old one on the kitchen counter in the MH. Will get the number and post it tomorrow. I replaced what was originally there (a square D) with an identical square D.
Dennis
__________________
Dennis, Sheila, Lola & RJ (Havanese)
2003 Monaco Windsor 40DST
2014 Durango
RDGreenlief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2022, 09:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 41
I had to change mine for the same issue. I used the hubbell and haven’t had to reset it once in the last 3 months full timing. Purchased on ebay
Tbrownski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2022, 11:30 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
Thank you Hubbell it is.

Thank you Hubbell it is.
I will rip out the Leviton

I would be interested in the Square D model for my documentation. I assume that is the original from Monaco?
__________________
2007 Monaco Knight 40, 350 Cummins ISC, 58K miles
Henderson, NV
syjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 09:50 AM   #10
Member
 
RDGreenlief's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamiDav View Post
Any chance you have a number for the square D gfi breaker?

I have one that trips when on the inverter but I can't find a number on it. I bought one at Lowes that looks the same but it trips too.

Thanks in advance

Ray & Marilyn
03 Windsor
Ray;
Sorry I've been so long in getting these pics to you.
Dennis
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20220112_162200926_HDR.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	239.5 KB
ID:	353854   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20220112_162219442_HDR.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	353855  

__________________
Dennis, Sheila, Lola & RJ (Havanese)
2003 Monaco Windsor 40DST
2014 Durango
RDGreenlief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2022, 12:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDGreenlief View Post
Ray;
Sorry I've been so long in getting these pics to you.
Dennis
No problem Dennis. Thank you for going to the trouble

Ray & Marilyn
03 Windsor
RamiDav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2022, 11:08 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
Hmmmm. I ordered a 15 amp Hubbell GFI. Is the original in the coach a 20 amp? I was going to install it today but I will wait for an answer in case I need to return it. Thank you for your help.
Jeff
__________________
2007 Monaco Knight 40, 350 Cummins ISC, 58K miles
Henderson, NV
syjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 09:14 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,215
Do you have a wiring diagram, for my coach all the circuit breakers in the inverter subpanel that feed the circuits are 20 amp. I have 2 GFCI circuit breakers in the subpanel, one for front kitchen and one for rear bath. My refrigerator/icemaker is not a GFCI.



Not sure on RV codes but in house construction the refrigerator circuit is not required to have a GFCI breaker.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 10:55 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 15
Thank you to Bob for this picture of his 2007 Knight which shows a 15 amp GFI in the bathroom. I think am going to move forward with installing this 15amp Hubbell and see what happens.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GFI pic of Bobs Monaco Knight.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	354017  
__________________
2007 Monaco Knight 40, 350 Cummins ISC, 58K miles
Henderson, NV
syjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All the sudden, GFCI breaker in RV is tripping the GFCI outlet in barn extol77 Keystone 11 12-08-2021 04:13 AM
Where is master GFCI for bedroom GFCI circuits? cletesingler 5th Wheel Discussion 19 08-23-2021 06:55 PM
No AC to GFCI outlet string, but GFCI is good Eric1959 RV Systems & Appliances 12 03-21-2019 08:38 PM
Bounder: 2016 Bounder 33C - GFCI keeps tripping (Internal to RV, not house GFCI) nehmia Fleetwood Owner's Forum 8 10-22-2016 07:34 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.