Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2022, 01:43 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,418
Headlight Switch

I think my headlight switch is bad. I went out the other night to dump the air from the suspension and couldnít see the labels on the air dump switch. I pulled the headlight switch on to illuminate the label and the headlights came on, but not the interior lights. I fiddled with the knob and the interior lights go on and off as you rotate the knob. Itís an on/off type action, not like a rheostat.

I went out and looked at the lights and they all work except the driverís side marker and parking light. Both blink when the turn signal is engaged.

I checked my schematic and the voltage for the marker and parking light come straight from the switch.

My main question is this. Does the jack on the back of the headlight switch just pull straight off the back of the switch? Itís hard to tell from looking at it.
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-17-2022, 01:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Utopia, TX
Posts: 460
Oh wow. It's been a while since I did that.
I think the plug does just pull off the back. The tricky part is the knob. There's a button you have to depress in the switch to remove the knob and shaft from the switch housing.

As I recall, I took off the shaft and pulled it off the dash, then pulled off the plug.
Cheers,
Walter
__________________
2003 Monaco Dynasty 42 Regal.
wamcneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 05:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
PeteandDeb's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mena AR
Posts: 186
same problem but newer Monaco. Anything special about the headlight switch on an '08 Diplomat? I can sometimes turn the shaft back and forth and find one spot where the dash lights come to life ... but don't want to chance another ride in the dark trying to drive and keep a flashlight focused on the dash.
__________________
Pete and Debra, Mena AR
08 Diplomat; 17 Grand Cherokee Overland
03 Pleasureway Excel TD
PeteandDeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 06:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,215
I just replaced mine last month. Hard to get to, I ended up taking all the screws out of the dash and tipping it forward. If you have access to it the job will be much easier.

There is a button on the bottom of the switch that you press and pull out the knob.
On my headlight switch the wiring harness pulls off the switch on the top. It was hard to get off, had to use a small screw driver to help pry it off.


On my switch the rheostat portion was burnt off so none of the dash and switch lights worked.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:18 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,418
My dash is so brittle I’d be afraid to take the screws out! I’m hoping I can replace it without doing that.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:19 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by wamcneil View Post
Oh wow. It's been a while since I did that.
I think the plug does just pull off the back. The tricky part is the knob. There's a button you have to depress in the switch to remove the knob and shaft from the switch housing.

As I recall, I took off the shaft and pulled it off the dash, then pulled off the plug.
Cheers,
Walter
Thanks for that video
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by barmcd View Post
My dash is so brittle Iíd be afraid to take the screws out! Iím hoping I can replace it without doing that.

I have a heat vent above the light switch. I did remove it and initially tried to to get the light switch out using that as access. It helped but I couldn't pull the wiring harness off. Finally decided to just pull the dash.


My dash is cracked up also, not much I can do about it now but try to be careful.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 08:58 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,418
I removed the switch this morning. Luckily I had plenty of room from the top opening in the dash. I had to put a popsicle stick on the button to depress it to remove the knob stem.

I had enough slack to pull the switch up above the dash to measure 12 VDC on pin 4 and 7 of the switch so it definitely has to be an issue inside the switch.

As far as I could tell, There was no number on the switch, just “Made in Mexico”.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1DECE227-3459-4217-9D3F-A017F70D3FFC.jpeg
Views:	7
Size:	202.8 KB
ID:	354119   Click image for larger version

Name:	A359A07A-59A4-45F7-BEB8-9C5318A650DB.jpeg
Views:	10
Size:	248.2 KB
ID:	354120  

barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:15 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 25,793
1972 GMC 1/2 ton headlight switch . Approx $8
Attached Images
 
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:39 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,215
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000C9SAJC...roduct_details


D1588 GM switch, I decided to buy from AMASON since it was delivered and easy returns. Could get after market much cheaper.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 12:20 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,418
The switch fixed the interior lights, the bulb was blown on the parking lights. I picked the switch up at NAPA for $15. It was for a ‘73 Chevy pickup.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2022, 11:01 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
PeteandDeb's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mena AR
Posts: 186
With the top cover removed, it was fairly easy to get my switch out. Pulling the shaft out was the only moderately difficult feat.
As Jim noted, the D1588 switch is what was installed in my Diplomat. In checking it out for an actual ACDelco part rather than Chinese crap, the best price and delivery by about a buck was Rock Auto. Amazon used to be the goto but their prime delivery out here has gone from "two days" to "between one and two weeks" for in stock items.
__________________
Pete and Debra, Mena AR
08 Diplomat; 17 Grand Cherokee Overland
03 Pleasureway Excel TD
PeteandDeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headlight, light, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not So Bright Headlight and Headlight Mount Repair! Notn2bars Monaco Owner's Forum 11 06-23-2021 08:38 AM
Cant get old headlight stem to fit into new headlight switch CountryB Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-18-2018 06:03 AM
Headlight Switch for 01 Dip bjw1 Monaco Owner's Forum 10 01-07-2009 06:04 PM
Hot headlight switch Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 10-17-2007 12:58 PM
Headlight switch? Steve H Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 09-12-2005 05:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.