RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2020, 03:47 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Headlights out!

Both headlights out! The 25A fuse is good. Bulbs are good. 12VDC out of the dash headlight switch is good. Not getting any 12VDC at the headlight bulb sockets. Don't know what to check next!

Below is a pic of two control boards in the outside front electrical compartment on the driver's side. I can't find any reference to them in the owner's manual. Don't know if they have anything to do with the headlights.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1061.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	189.6 KB
ID:	271149
__________________

MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-01-2020, 04:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,461
The output from the headlight switch goes to the hi/low beam switch, then to the bulbs.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 05:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
The output from the headlight switch goes to the hi/low beam switch, then to the bulbs.
Twinboat is right. Try flashing your highbeams from the turn signal stalk. Do you have a Smart Wheel? Will they come on using that?

-Paul
Paul L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,100
Hi Joe, I am going to side with what Twinboat posted. If I remember correctly in the old days of the switch on the floor for Hi & Low beams, if that foot switch completely went out you would still have parking lights but no headlights. Don't have any vehicles configured that way anymore to test that theory. You might want to check the connection at the bottom of the steering column next. Also the 2 pictures you posted, the board to your left is the ABS board. My 01 Windsor has that also. The other board almost looks like a slide out control board, but I am not 100% sure on that. I thought most Windsor's have the slide out control board in the passenger rear electrical compartment.

I don't know if any of this info helps Joe and I hope you find the problem. Let us know how you fixed it as inquiring mind want to know! Good luck! Also a later thought Joe. I think you mentioned that you got a new headlight switch. Is that new switch 100% the same as the old one. Just an after thought!
8.3Oilbuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 57
Long shot here as I have no idea what equipment you have but try moving your tilt column up/down. I had trucks in the past where the hi/low switch would get stuck in between and tilting the column “reset” the rod running down from the stalk. This is assuming you have the high/low on the turn signal stalk.
__________________
2017 Avenger ATI 26BBS
2012 Chev Suburban Tow
3 Boys and a Yellow Lab
jayrodoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 276
Joe,
Didn't this problem arise when you were replacing your headlamps with some aftermarket lamps? You had a previous thread about replacing them... Just asking.
__________________
2000 36' Monaco Dynasty ISC 350 Pulling 32' Race car trailer. JC 120V Conv. Monaco-watts Rear X bars.
Rusty Kramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 2,621
I have had both headlights fail before and tore half my truck apart before I thought to check the bulbs.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna IV
Cummins ISC 350HP Allison 3000 6 speed
2020 Chevy Equinox Premier 2.0t 9 speed AWD
https://enjoying-life.net
spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 06:45 PM   #8
Dom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 423
If you installed new headlights, is there an inline fuse also?. Might also be worth it to recheck fuses/make sure right fuse
__________________
I came into this world with nothing, and I still have most of it left
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 07:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Damion's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 611
If you have the Smart Wheel, the plug on the output for the head lights is known to fry it's self or the module its self! Mine did!
__________________
2003 National Tradewinds LTC 7374 FL XC-Chassis IFS, Steer Safe, 8.3 ISC 350 Cummins, 3000MH Allison, 2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Tow-Bar, Brake Master Air Over Hyd
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 08:38 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8.3Oilbuner View Post
Hi Joe, I am going to side with what Twinboat posted. If I remember correctly in the old days of the switch on the floor for Hi & Low beams, if that foot switch completely went out you would still have parking lights but no headlights. Don't have any vehicles configured that way anymore to test that theory. You might want to check the connection at the bottom of the steering column next. Also the 2 pictures you posted, the board to your left is the ABS board. My 01 Windsor has that also. The other board almost looks like a slide out control board, but I am not 100% sure on that. I thought most Windsor's have the slide out control board in the passenger rear electrical compartment.

I don't know if any of this info helps Joe and I hope you find the problem. Let us know how you fixed it as inquiring mind want to know! Good luck! Also a later thought Joe. I think you mentioned that you got a new headlight switch. Is that new switch 100% the same as the old one. Just an after thought!
Yes, the new headlight switch is the same as the old one. Actually, I think the old one is OK. The headlights were intermittent and I thought it was the switch. No such luck!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 08:39 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayrodoh View Post
Long shot here as I have no idea what equipment you have but try moving your tilt column up/down. I had trucks in the past where the hi/low switch would get stuck in between and tilting the column “reset” the rod running down from the stalk. This is assuming you have the high/low on the turn signal stalk.
Thanks, I'll try that!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 09:02 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
If you have the Smart Wheel, the plug on the output for the head lights is known to fry it's self or the module its self! Mine did!
I have the covers off the steering column and only see the large wiring connector. Is there another one that you're referring to?
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 09:05 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Kramer View Post
Joe,
Didn't this problem arise when you were replacing your headlamps with some aftermarket lamps? You had a previous thread about replacing them... Just asking.
The headlights were intermittent before I decided to replace the housings. Then they quit completely!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 09:07 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom View Post
If you installed new headlights, is there an inline fuse also?. Might also be worth it to recheck fuses/make sure right fuse
There is a main 25A fuse but it's good! I've checked every fuse I could find that I thought might somehow be connected to the headlights!
__________________

MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headlight, light, lights



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlights & Dashlights Out ereadingrv Monaco Owner's Forum 17 04-06-2018 08:20 AM
Headlights out - a solution B52Guy Monaco Owner's Forum 4 11-17-2016 08:51 PM
Front headlights changed to BMW E39 series headlights Rippenrick Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 13 09-21-2013 12:07 AM
Revolution headlights out Rv hooked Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 02-12-2013 04:59 AM
Generator shorts out headlights PoisonPatrol MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 07-25-2012 07:55 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×