Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-19-2011, 11:12 AM   #1

House Batteries. How Long Before They Are Dead?

OK, I am new to this whole RV thing and still learning. My coach is a 99 La Palma 34s.
I have had it on a couple of overnighters and the house batts seemed to hold up fine using the heater over night with no shore power hooked up. I assume the batts started on full charges because we had traveled some distance to get to our destination and the test indicator shower full.
Night before last after arrving home from a 150 mile drive home, I left the heater on very low, about 55, to keep the coach from freezing as tempps in the 20's had been predicted and I didn't want feel like messing around in the wet, cold and dark to get it plugged in when I got home.
I went out in the am and turned off the heater and ran the gen for about an hour.
Last night, I went to the caoch to grab something and had no lights. The house batts were dead!
I started the motor and let it run long enough to get enough juice to start the genset and let it run for about 4 hours. The test lights indicate house batts fully charged when I turned it off about 3am.
How long should the house batts last? I didn't leave anything on in the coach, why would they discharge? I have had the coach over a week and they seemed to have performed fine up until now.