Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2020, 04:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Question How to change a 50 amp Controller

We have a 2011 Monaco Cayman. Our power monitor is not working. Our inverter checks good. We ran home with all lights on, both exhaust fans, one tv on for 3hrs, pulling 20-24 amps before batteries dropped below 11 volts. I would call them good, but they are 5 years old. I have ordered a hydrometer to check them also.
I ordered a new 50-amp power controller to put on. This was done in 2015 at Decatur, IN to fix power monitor. What I am wondering is shutting pedestal off & disconnecting battery all I need to do or is there condensers that I need to drain before I pull card?
We are doing this ourselves because we are sheltering in place (Covid-19) & cannot find any mobile service people in this area.
Anyone changed out a 50 amp Controller in their Monaco?
Thanks for the help.
binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-10-2020, 04:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,977
Power controller, is that the same as transfer switch?
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 04:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,819
I assume we are talking about the Transfer Switch (which switches AC voltage between shore power and generator power).

There are no capacitors on the 120VAC side (there some in the roof Air Conditioning units, but they do not come into play). You don't need to disconnect the batteries either as the transfer switch is connected to 240/120VAC.

The Inverter/Charger does have 12VDC and 120VAC power connected to it - but you said that is working fine so I'm assuming its the Transfer switch you're asking about.

Just unplug the shore power cable and disable the generator (be sure it doesn't have an auto-start). Then it is safe to remove and replace the Transfer switch.

If your talking about some other device, please clarify.
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP --Links below to my OneDrive docs---
*SMC, Beaver, Monaco History, Problems https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 05:09 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
It’s the card inside the load center located above the driver seat inside the RV. Controller is the part name that needs changed, but it’s purpose is to shut off power to various circuits to keep from overloading outside pedestal breaker.
Having power shutting off at outside breaker pedestal instead of house breakers shutting off. Not shedding loads like it’s supposed to do.
binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 05:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,541
Sounds like an Intellitec EMS controller. What are the symptoms.

First check the fuse on the board, there is a standard automotive type fuse, possibly a 5 amp. There is also a reset procedure whereby you disconnect all power, shut off the battery disconnect switches and pull the fuse, wait ~15 minutes and reverse above.

If it is the board you just need to remove the cover on the box, slide the circuit board out and disconnect the wiring harnesses, I thing there are 2 of them. There are probably 4 sets of 120 volt power from the circuit breakers and out to the components they control. I would take pictures and label each one.

In an emergency you can bypass the board by just connecting the paired wires together with a wiring nut. If you do this you will have to watch your power usage so you don't trip a 30 amp breaker. If you are plugged into a 30 amp power supply.


Post pictures if you can to confirm.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 05:24 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Not transfer switch. It’s a card in the PCS control monitor.
binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 05:33 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Need to replace a card in the load center panel above the driver seat. Monitor not shedding loads and overloading outside pedestal until the breaker pops.
binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 05:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Attachment of photos talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6A957339-6E87-4738-9365-BB1D36BE5A57.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	300595   Click image for larger version

Name:	E90D409F-B6B4-4C7A-8B8D-201D71EB2827.jpeg
Views:	18
Size:	88.4 KB
ID:	300596  

binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 06:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,541
This is a different system but does the same thing. Here are the installation instructions I found
http://www.precisioncircuitsinc.com/...structions.pdf
Not sure if this can be bypassed. I will defer to someone familiar with this system.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 06:45 PM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,798
The card you show probably does not come into play if you are on 50 amp shoreline.

More information is needed to advise. Just tossing parts at it can be expensive and dangerous,

That said, I have noted several of us on the forum have changed ours in a different model. It is easy enough with proper documentation including your photos of course.

Your inverter/charger is not likely on the load shedding circuits.

Your low battery voltage while traveling is a concern telling me your alternator was not charging them. IF you had your generator running that can lock out the alternator path to the house batteries and if your generator was running as stated the inverter should have kept those batteries full.

I'm sure I don't have the full picture but you may be barking up the wrong tree.
__________________
Certified Senior Electronic Technician, Telecommunications Engineer, Telecommunications repair Service Center Owner, Original owner HR 2008

.
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 12:21 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
After speaking to Dan Divito at Precision Circuit Inc. on 9-12-20, Dan suggested replacing the monitor panel. Got the part and replaced and everything is working as should be.
Thanks again for your all your responses!
binderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 07:55 PM
Electric brake controller vs. Electric over hydraulic brake controller Appy Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 1 08-23-2017 12:21 PM
Allison 3000 fluid change - amounts differ from change to change mhercus Allison Transmission Forum 7 06-04-2015 07:04 PM
Bounder: Location of Brake Controller Plug to install aux controller Heavy-13 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 04-30-2015 01:58 PM
Can this controller be sub'd for that controller? wildbill001 RV Systems & Appliances 2 09-06-2012 09:36 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.