RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2011, 08:16 AM   #1
Member
 
loydt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 87
King Dome and DVR

Does anybody here have a king dome sat system and use a DVR with it?

Loyd
2006 Camelot
__________________

loydt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-24-2011, 08:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
beaverjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Posts: 785
loydt, i've been using that combo for about 3 yrs. (standard def) jim
__________________

__________________
Jim & Sue
2017 Cambria/Aspect30j
2012 Turbo Beetle
beaverjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 08:43 AM   #3
Member
 
loydt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 87
Thanks. Do you have Directv or Dish?
loydt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 09:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
beaverjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Posts: 785
loydt, direct tv. jim
__________________
Jim & Sue
2017 Cambria/Aspect30j
2012 Turbo Beetle
beaverjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 09:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bob (WA0MQE)'s Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 1,526
Blog Entries: 1
I've also been using our King Dome Automatic w/ DirecTV DVR. As long as your dish has two outputs it should work.
__________________
Bob 2006 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ
US Navy Carrier Battlegroup 1959/1965
Winters in Florida, Summers in Blue Ridge Mountains
Bob (WA0MQE) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
CoCoDave's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 1,400
King Dome & DIRECTV DVR w/TiVo Works Fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by loydt View Post
Does anybody here have a king dome sat system and use a DVR with it?

Loyd
2006 Camelot
We used our King Dome with an older DIRECTV-TiVo standard definition DVR. Our King Dome had only a single LNB (one coax). The system had all of the normal functionality except that you could not record two different programs at the same time or record one program while watching another on a different channel.

When we travel we just take one of the DVR's from the house and put it in the coach. We lose local channels at about 200 miles from their transmitter sites.

We just traded coaches and now have an exposed dish antenna. It automatically finds the satellite like the King Dome but is not an in-motion system.

My neighbor had a devil of time getting his King Dome to work with a DIRECTV DVR until he looked at the installation manual which had a procedure to adjust the elevation setting of the dish antenna inside the dome based on the latitude of the coach's location. Once he did that, it all worked fine.

FWIW
__________________
Dave & Cathy, 2002 Country Coach Affinity, 42', #6103, CAT C12, 2018 GMC Acadia, Linux Mint
CoCoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Domes and DVR's 101.

Domes come in basically 2x3 flavors..

The 2 refers to: Single or Dual (Refers to the number of coax outputs, NOT the number of LNB lenses) With a DVR, which is normally Dual input, you need a dual output Dome.. King Controls makes both I belive)

Flaver 3: Refers to the ability of SOME models (and again King makes all 3) to see only one, or 2, or 3 different satelites under receiver control.

DirecTV (not DirecHDTV) everything is on one satellite (101W) for most customes, Domes love this type of system.. DirecHDTV however uses 3 birds, and the other two can not be received by any dome currently out there.

DISH uses either two (SD) or 3 (HD) birds. Some domes can switch between these 3 or 2 birds but.. They can still only see one at a time.. This is the biggest limit of domes.

With a DVR, if it should happen that of one of you wishes to record say Halmark channel (on 110) and the other wants CSI (on 119) one of you is out of luck.

(I have used both DISH and DirecTV DVR's with Domes)

However a multi-sat dome works well with a SINGLE Dishnetwork receiver.

That said: Dishnetwork DVRs are the best, DirecTV's.. The worst (Again in my opinion, but then I'm spoiled, I use Replay TV, When Echostar came out with DVR's. they got sued for copyright infringment by ReplayTV, Lost too as I recall.. Direc went with TiVo's unit.. They settled out of court.. There is hope though, DirecTV bought ReplayTV)

Whatever you do,, if you go with any rooftop mount.. Put a low cost A/B switch in the line near the receiver (DVR) "A" goes to the roof antenna up A-bove, B goes to either a ground B-lock or a B-ulkhead connector down B-elow.. So when you are parked under the evil signal eating tree... You break out your tripod and dish, Hook it up, slide the switches over to "B". and then

Direc: Reset the receiver, aim the dish and enjoy
Dish: Aim the dish, perform a CHECK SWITCH (Sounds harder than it is, easier to do than to type in fact) and enjoy.

When you disconnect, First slide to A, then disconnect and stow, move out into the clear and either reset or check switch.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:57 PM   #8
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,857
Had a King Dome in the old 3400RL. It was a dual output. Hooked both out to the VIP-322 Dish DVR. One into Sat 1 input, and one into Sat 2 input. As long as I was on the same "bird" I could record and watch, or I could playback and watch. I would record a lot of movies and tv shows before we left. Now in a Coach, I do not have to set up the portable antenna and I can watch the pre-recorded programs. I liked the King Dome, but as stated it is limited in its ability to receive only one satellite at a time. Going with one of the newer systems you can have all at once, but not with any dome on the market at present time.

Happy trials.

Where's Bill when you need him.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
Lexi - Goldendoodle
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 02:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
That is why I covered both Dish and DirecTV .. With DirecTV.. Odds are you only get programming from one bird

DirecHDTV, however, it won't do.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:20 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 906
Jim & Bob,
What is the receiver model number of your SD DirecTV DVRs? Some older SD DVRs needed a phone land-line to work. Some newer ones need Internet connectivity. My question is: Did your particular model DVR not need any external connectivity?
__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:29 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 899
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
With a dual tuner DVR, having two domes would work. I have a Dish ViP211 with an external hard drive that makes it into a DVR that is connected to my Kingdome. It works great.
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 10:53 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robi.1014 View Post
Jim & Bob,
What is the receiver model number of your SD DirecTV DVRs? Some older SD DVRs needed a phone land-line to work. Some newer ones need Internet connectivity. My question is: Did your particular model DVR not need any external connectivity?
I do not recall but I got it in 2006 and no, it did not need a phone line.

In fact no DirecTV unit needs phone line less you want PPV..

Dish charges you more if you don't have a phone line for it to "phone home"
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
srzak's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vacaville,ca
Posts: 217
I have a kingdome 9702 with dishnetwork using a 508 dvr. Everything works fine. I record programs when the RV is at my house and watch them later.
__________________
Steve & Denise
2003 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36.6 ft
w22, 8.1 Vacaville, Ca.
srzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:00 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
kjburns's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Dish charges you more if you don't have a phone line for it to "phone home"
Dish dropped that charge early last year.
__________________

kjburns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Winegard dome with DVR jstbu Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 04-27-2011 04:32 PM
King Dome 9762-LP and DirecTV DVR receivers deltadawn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 06-21-2009 09:28 PM
King dome and DVR rvtips Monaco Owner's Forum 15 08-28-2008 03:14 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×